Mission Statement

Our mission statement is simple: To Keep All Kids Safe From Preventable Injuries.

About Us

Tab/Accordion Items

Safe Kids NC (SKNC) falls under the umbrella of Safe Kids Worldwide, a global organization with over 400 coalitions in the US. North Carolina, under the leadership of the NC Department of Insurance-Office of State Fire Marshal (State office), houses the most coalitions under one State with 44 coalitions, covering 59 counties. Each of the SKNC county coalitions follow the lead of the State office, working in specific areas of their community to reduce injury risks using educational efforts, incentives, advocacy, enforcement and awareness.  Insurance Commissioner and State Fire Marshal, Mike Causey, is the Chairman of SKNC.

Safe Kids NC (SKNC) county coalitions are made up of many different people from many different organizations. They come from hospitals, law enforcement, community business's, fire departments, etc. and are also parents/caregivers. SKNC county coalitions are community based and anyone can participate in a coalition as long as you have the desire to help protect kids from unintentional dangers or risk. Contact your local SKNC county coalition for more information on becoming a member of SKNC.

Safe Kids NC (SKNC) Regions and Contacts

SKNC county coalitions are split into 4 regions. The solid colors are single county SKNC county coalitions and the striped are multi county coalitions. Contact your SKNC county coalition or regional Injury Prevention Specialist below, for more information.

Safe Kids coalitions Map

Safe Kids Coalition Map, click for PDF version.


Safe Kids NC Infographic

Download Safe Kids Infographic

The Safe Kids NC (SKNC) Steering Committee is composed of 14 advisory members. They provide guidance and support to SKNC.

Name - Title email
Peg O’Connell - Chair pegoconnell1955@gmail.com
Allan Buchanan - Safe Kids NC Director allan.buchanan@ncdoi.gov
Kelly Ransdell - Treasurer kransdell@nfpa.org
Jennifer Smith, MSW - Secretary jesmith4892@gmail.com
Anna Austin, PHD anna.austin@unc.edu
Kella Hatcher kella.hatcher@dhhs.nc.gov
Kathy Heilig kheilig1@nc.rr.com
Peter Anderson Kolbe peter.kolbe@genworth.com
Sue Anne Pilgreen MSN, RN, CPN sfipps@vidanthealth.com
Scott Proescholdbell scott.proescholdbell@dhhs.nc.gov
Janice Williams janice.williams@atriumhealth.org
Kerry Young kerry.young@dhhs.nc.gov
Glorina Stallworth glorina.stallworth@dhhs.nc.gov