Fire & Rescue Contacts

Administration

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Paula Brennan Portrait

Paula Brennan

Executive Assistant 919-647-0002 paula.brennan@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Brian Taylor

Chief State Fire Marshal, Assistant Commissioner 919-647-0003 brian.taylor@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Mike Williams Portrait

Mike Williams

Senior Deputy Commissioner of Fire & Rescue Services 919-647-0085 mike.williams@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Rob Roegner Portrait

Rob Roegner

Senior Deputy Commissioner of Engineering Services 919-647-0098 rob.roegner@ncdoi.gov

Commission & RPD

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Brian Wade

Deputy Director Commission, Training, RPD 919-609-3802 brian.wade@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Matt Thorpe

Matt Thorpe

Certification Specialist (Region3) 919-302-8262 matthew.thorpe@ncdoi.gov

Matt Thorpe is the Accreditation Manager as well as Certification Specialist for region 3 working as a liaison between the NC Fire and Rescue Commission and the qualified instructors. He is also a liaison between the Fire and Rescue Commission and the Community Colleges.

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Shawn Haynes

Shawn Haynes

Certification Specialist (Region 1) 919-618-1378 shawn.haynes@ncdoi.gov

Shawn Haynes is the Certification Specialist for region 1 working as a liaison between the NC Fire and Rescue Commission and the qualified instructors. He is also a liaison between the Fire and Rescue Commission and the Community Colleges.

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Greg Palmer

Greg Palmer

Certification Specialist (Region 5) 919-600-9516 greg.palmer@ncdoi.gov

Greg Palmer is the Certification Specialist for region 5 working as a liaison between the NC Fire and Rescue Commission and the qualified instructors. He is also a liaison between the Fire and Rescue Commission and the Community Colleges.

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Paul Ward

Paul Ward

Certification Specialist 919-817-5597 paul.ward@ncdoi.gov

Paul Ward is the Certification Specialist working as a liaison between the NC Fire and Rescue Commission and the qualified instructors. He is also a liaison between the Fire and Rescue Commission and the Community Colleges.

Katherine Burton
Curriculum and Test Bank Coordinator
Katherine.burton@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0100

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Monna Gillespie

Administrative Specialist 919-647-0088 monna.gillespie@ncdoi.gov

Monna Gillespie provides administrative support for Certifications, OSFM 24, NFIRS, Image Trend RMS, NFA courses and the NFA state weekend

Ashley Iceman provides administrative support for staff, certifications, OSFM 24 and NFIRS

Ashley.Iceman@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0087 (Office)
919-715-0063 (Fax)

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Community Risk Reduction

Fire Investigations Unit

Foam Analyst (AFFF Division)

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Davie Summey Portrait

Davie Summey

Division Chief of Inspection/Rating, Grants & AFFF 919-218-1387 Davie.Summey@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Chris Davis

Foam Research Analyst 984-800-3534 Chris.Davis@ncdoi.gov

Piedmont Region

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Russ King

Foam Research Analyst 984-800-3541 Russell.King@ncdoi.gov

Western Region

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Steve Allred

Foam Research Analyst 984-800-3551 Steven.Allred@ncdoi.gov

Eastern Region

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Grants

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Davie Summey Portrait

Davie Summey

Division Chief of Inspection/Rating, Grants & AFFF

Shirley Lofton
Fire & Rescue Grants / Relief Fund Administrator
shirley.lofton@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0091 (Office)
919-715-0063 (Fax)

Heather Roegner
Fire & Rescue Grants / Relief Fund Assistant Administrator
Heather.Roegner@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0082

Jasmine Greene
Grants & Relief Fund Assistant
Jasmine.greene@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0078

Sasha Harris
Special Grants Assistant
Sasha.harris@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0035

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Ratings & Inspections

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Davie Summey Portrait

Davie Summey

Division Chief of Inspection/Rating, Grants & AFFF 919-218-1387 davie.summey@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Vernon Ward Portrait

Vernon Ward

Senior Field Rating Inspector 919-605-6474 vernon.ward@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Training

Tab/Accordion Item

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph

Brian Wade

Deputy Director Commission, Training, RPD 919-609-3802 brian.wade@ncdoi.gov

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Bruce Hodges Portrait

Bruce Hodges

Training Supervisor 919-218-7819 bruce.hodges@ncdoi.gov

Bruce Hodges is the Field Supervisor of the Training Division. 

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Tyler Moore Portrait

Tyler Moore

Training Specialist 919-616-6204 tyler.moore@ncdoi.gov

Tyler Moore is the Training Specialist responsible for Fire Investigation Technician Certification program and the lead instructor for Qualification School.

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Anthony Killough Portrait

Anthony Killough

Training Specialist 919-604-1195 anthony.killough@ncdoi.gov

Anthony Killough is the Training Specialist responsible for Live Fire Qualification, Rapid Invention Crew Qualification, Water Rescue Qualification, Commercial Fire Ops program, High School Firefighter Challenge and NFA Tactics Academy.

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Lance Foulk Portrait

Lance Foulk

Training Specialist 919-268-7924 lance.foulk@ncdoi.gov

Lance Foulk is the Training Specialist responsible for Hazardous Materials Technician Certification and Chief 101 Qualification, . 

Tab/Accordion Content Paragraph
Mark Rutherford Portrait

Mark Rutherford

Training Specialist 919-594-7053 mark.rutherford@ncdoi.gov

Mark Rutherford is the Training Specialist responsible for Breathing Equipment School.

Devin Cockrell
Training Administrative Specialist

devin.cockrell@ncdoi.gov
919-647-0090