COQB - Board Members

The NC Code Officials Qualification Board has the primary duty of certifying Code Enforcement Officials (CEOs) in North Carolina. No city, county, or state agency inspector may enforce the State Building Code without being certified by the Qualification Board. The 20 member Board is composed of engineers, contractors, inspectors, architects, educators, and city, county, and state officials.

Related Content

Board Members 

Officer Board Member Appointing Authority Represents Term Start Term Ends
Chairman Bill Thunberg Governor Citizen of NC 7/1/2008 6/30/2024
Vice-Chairman Fleming El-Amin Governor Elected Official County >40,000 pop 8/23/2018 6/30/2026
Secretary Rob Roegner Comm. of Insurance Comm. of Insurance
Adam Lovelady Dean, UNC School of Government UNC School of Government 2/8/2023 6/30/2027
Jeff Tracey Governor Fire Inspector 7/3/2023 6/30/2027
Allen Kelly House Mechanical Contractor 1/20/2012 6/30/2025
Andy Matthews House Licensed General Contractor 1/23/2012 6/30/2027
Kenny Weatherington President, Community College System Community College System 1/23/2023 6/30/2027
Michael Crotts Senate Building Official 7/10/2019 6/30/2027
Mark Smith House Licensed General Contractor 9/25/2015 6/30/2027
Joshua Robbins North Carolina A&T School of Engineering North Carolina A&T University 11/4/2022 6/30/2026
James B. Steele House Electrical Contractor 7/1/2016 6/30/2024
H. Mack Summey, PE Senate Engineer 8/15/2014 6/30/2026
Stephen Terry, PhD Dean, NCSU College of Engineering North Carolina State University 4/10/2013 6/30/2025
Jeff Griffin Senate Building Official 11/7/2016 6/30/2024
Montrena Hadley Governor Elected Official City >5,000 pop 9/14/2022 6/30/2024
Danny Couch Governor Elected Official County <40,000 pop 5/31/2018 6/30/2025
Richard White Governor City Manager 11/17/2018 6/30/2026
Russell Fox Governor Elected Official City <5,000 pop 9/28/2021 6/30/2025
Mark Patterson Senate Architect 6/30/2021 6/30/2025