HILB - Apply for License
All applicants for licensure as a home inspector must create/register an account for a user ID assignment and confirm their email address.
Following the assignment of a valid user ID, applicants must use the separate USERNAME LOGIN to access:
- Application (Fee $35) - [NOTE: application fee waived for active duty military, veterans and spouses per Session Law 2017-28, 93B-15.1 July 1, 2017]
- Exam Registration (Fee $80)
- License (Fee $160)
(3rd party online payment by credit, debit or e-check)
Predetermination of Criminal History and Appeals Process
The Board's Application Evaluation Committee may make predeterminations for applicants with a criminal history per N.C. Gen. Stat. 93B-8.1.
(b6) Notwithstanding any other provisions in the law, an individual with a criminal history may petition a board at any time, including before an individual starts or completes any mandatory education or training requirements, for a predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license. This petition shall include a criminal history record report obtained by the individual from a reporting service designated by the board, the cost of which shall be borne by the applicant.
Staff decisions are reviewed by the Committee. A Board hearing may be requested if aggrieved by any final decision.
N.C. Gen. Stat. 143-151.53 and Board Rule 11 NCAC 08 .1010 set forth the denial and appeal process.
The board requires applicants to disclose and consent to a criminal history record check pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. 93B-8.1 Applicants may secure a complete criminal records check from several sources including:
- North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation (SBI)
- U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
The factors considered when making a determination of licensure including the following:
- The level and seriousness of the crime.
- The date of the crime.
- The age of the person at the time of the crime.
- The circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime, if known
- The nexus between the criminal conduct and the prospective duties of the applicant as a licensee.
- The prison, jail, probation, parole, rehabilitation, and employment records of the applicant since the date the crime was committed.
- The completion of, or active participation in, rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatment.
- A Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 15A-173.2.
- The subsequent commission of a crime by the applicant.
- Any affidavits or other written documents, including character references.
Military Service member, veteran, spouse applicant information
North Carolina is a military friendly state with installations representing all services as shown in the insert map. Some 30 states regulate the occupation of home inspections for compensation through licensure. Some 20 others do not. While the NCHILB regulations allow for reciprocity, the Board acknowledges this may not be an option for members of the military and their spouses who frequently relocate.
The Board also recognizes that some military education, training, testing and duty assignments – as evidenced by Military Occupational Specialties designations that may be unique to each service – may be credited as equivalent to education and experience required to perform home inspections for compensation in North Carolina.