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BACKTO SCHOOL

With COVID-19 restrictions, the 2019-2020
school year ended without the normal hoopla
we are all accustomed to. While we are
uncertain as to how the 2020-2021 school year
will proceed, we are certain that back-to-school
safety is a priority for everyone. It is important to
recognize that the roads will be more congested.
As children begin to return to the classroom, expect
roadways to be filled with children on bicycles, parents
hurrying to drop off or pick up their children and
slow-moving school buses on community streets
and roads.

If you are picking up or dropping off, be sure

to follow the school’s procedures. The

school's procedures are set in place to

protect all children. Please keep this

information in mind:

« Don't unload children across the street from
the school. This puts them at risk, trying to cross the street. Carpooling, when possible, helps to
reduce traffic around the school.

* Share the road by keeping crosswalks clear.

+ Stop for crossing guards or law enforcement that may be directing traffic.

+ Never pass a stopped vehicle or school bus and always watch for pedestrians, no matter who has the
right-of-way.

+ Be knowledgeable of the school bus passing laws and follow them to prevent injury to students
loading and unloading.

* Bicyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as vehicles; however, they are less visible.

Children do not completely develop their distance and speed perception until after the age of fourteen.
Because of this, children may make mistakes that can lead to misunderstandings by vehicle drivers.
Staying on guard and being cautious can prevent injury or death.



WHAT DRIVERS SHOULD KNOW SO S BUS
ABOUT THE STATE'S SCHOOL
BUS SAFETY LAWS:

On a two-lane road, all traffic from both directions e
must stop; oSt o bon ot
masn

On a two-lane road with a center turning lane, all
traffic must come to a stop;

When on a four-lane road without a median, traffic e
. . o-lane roadway a center turnin
from both directions must stop; Jane When oot bus s pssenoet

ali traffic. from both directions must stop.
In the case of a divided highway with four or more

lanes, only traffic following the school bus should
stop; and

When on a road with four lanes or more with a M
center turning lane, just traffic following the bus s bl dloccrs
must stop. bt

Download your copy of this NC Schoo! Bus Stop
Law rack card from ncbussafety.org HERE. J

SCHOOL BUS Each day more than 800,000 students in North

know to keep them safe while making that daily ride:
When on the way to the bus stop, always walk on the sidewalk. If there isn't
one, stay out of the street.
Wait until the bus has stopped and the door opens before approaching the
bus or standing up on the bus.
Cross in front of the bus - at least 10 feet- and make eye contact with the
driver before crossing. If you can't see the bus driver, they can't see you.

Carolina travel on the bus to and from school. Here
SA F E T Y are some school bus safety tips your student should

There are nearly 3,000 incidents of cars passing stopped school buses every
school day in North Carolina. Not only is this incredibly dangerous for students,
it's also against the law.

WEBS'TE OF THE MONTH Penalties for passing

a stopped school bus
www.ncbussafety.org include a $500 fine
and an additional four
North Carolina School Bus Safety Web is a site insurance points,
created by N.C. State University in conjunction with which will increase insurance rates by 80 percent.
the Governor's Highway Safety Program. This site is It's imperative that drivers also slow down and

a great resource for parents, schools, community obey the posted speed limit in a school zone - a
educators and students. Interactive games, child's life could depend on it. (NCDOT)
infographics, state laws, training resources and

downloadable posters are just a few of the many
resources available on this site. OCTOBER 19 - 23 IS SCHOOL BUS SAFETY WEEK

THE THEME IS “RED LIGHT MEANS STOP!"

page 2




KEEP KIDS SAFE FROM LAWN MOWER INJURIES

Did you know that your lawn mower is one of the most dangerous tools around your home, and
more than 16,000 children and teens are hurt each year while using a lawn mower? Power
mowers can be especially dangerous to children; however, most lawn mower-related injuries can
be prevented by following simple safety guidelines.

Many parents often ask, “When is my child old enough to mow the lawn?”. In general, the
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that a child should be at least 12 years of age

to operate a walk-behind power mower or hand mower safely, and 16 years of age to operate a
riding lawn mower safely. Also, your child should show the maturity, good judgement, strength
and coordination the job requires.

While mowing:
Do not allow children to ride as passengers when cutting the grass.
Wear sturdy, closed-toe shoes, fitted clothing, safety glasses, and hearing protection.

Supervise children when mowing and while putting gas in the engine. Small children should
not be playing in the yard while a lawn mower is being used.

Watch for objects that could be picked up and thrown by the mower blades.
Avoid mowing in reverse or backwards unless necessary.

Lawn mower injuries are often extremely traumatic, and can include severe eye injury,
amputation or death. For more safety tips, visit healthychildren.org. Have a safe summer!

WH EN C AN m ® Kids must be both strong
é = and mature enough.

KI DS MO\N? f— ® Train teens to operate

THE LAWN: PUSH MOWER RIDING MOWER the mower safety.

Age 12 Age 16 ® Wear eye protection,
or older or older and closed toe shoes.
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CPS TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION CLASSES THE SUN

July 27-30 Spring Lake ~~
August 10 Raeford (Renewal) IS OUT s
August 11 -14 Raeford AVO|D

August 17 - 20 Apex GETTING / -

September 8 - 11 Indian Trail (
September 15-18 Morehead City BU RN ED ‘ \
September 15-18 Elkin
September 22 - 25 West Jefferson

Sunburn is a common

For more information on how to register for a class, visit summertime injury.

buckleupnc.org. Unprotected skin can be
burned by the sun’s UV rays in

as little as 15 minutes, but it
SERVE UP can take up to 12 hours for the

- skin to show the damage. The
FI re s afet y Centers for Disease Control
(CDC) recommends staying out
IN THE KITCHEN!" — of the sun between 10 a.m.

FIRE PREVENTION WEEK and 4 p.m. This is when UV

OCTOBER 4TH - 10TH rays are at their highest level.
Sunscreen is recommended

for anyone working and

This year's Fire Prevention Week Theme is “Serve Up Fire Safety playing outside in the summer,
in the Kitchen.” Unattended cooking is the leading cause of even on cloudy days. Be sure
housefires. Nearly half of all home cooking fires involve the to use a sunscreen that is SPF
kitchen stove. With the current “Safer at Home" restrictions, 15or h'gﬂ‘er and check the .
many are choosing to stay at home and prepare home cooked label for *blocks UVA and UVB

meals. This increases the risk for potential home cooking fires. or “broad spectrum.” In
addition to sunscreen, hats,

Cooking Tips: sunglasses, and long sleeves
« Cooking is the leading cause of home fire injuries. are also recommended for
Thanksgiving is the leading day for fires involving cooking outdoor activities.
equipment.
Keep anything that can catch fire away from your stovetop.
Have a “kid-free zone” of at least 3 feet around the stove
and areas where hot food or drink is prepared or carried.
If you must leave the room, turn off the stove.
Keep an eye on foods that are simmering, baking or
roasting. Set a timer to remind you that you are still SCH EDU I—ED
cooking; | N RISK AREAS
If you have a SMALL fire and choose to extinguish it, follow
these instructions:
Smother stovetop flames by sliding a lid over the pan. AUGUST 2020
Oven fire: turn off the stove and keep the oven door closed. Sports Safety
If you have any doubt about whether to battle a small fire,

escape the home and call 9-1-1. Emergency Preparedness

Please visit nfpa.org/fpw for games, videos, educational
materials and more. CPS Week




