

North Carolina Code Officials Qualification Board

Staffed by the NC Department of Insurance

Mike Causey, Commissioner Rob Roegner, Deputy Commissioner/Board Secretary Sam Whittington, Staff Director 1202 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1202

(919) 647-0000 (919) 715-0067 Fax 325 N. Salisbury Street Raleigh, NC 27603

Board Members

Chairman:

Bill Thunberg (At-Large Member)

Vice Chairman:

Ken Stafford, AIA (Registered Architect)

Members:

Dr. Stephanie Luster-Teasley (NCAT Engineering Faculty)

Rob Roegner (Chief Deputy Commissioner)

Fleming El-Amin (County Elected Official)

Richard D. Ducker (Institute of Government)

Jeffrey Griffin (County CEO)

Danny Couch (County Elected Official)

Bettie Parker (City Elected Official)

Allen Kelly (Lic. Mech/Plumbing Cont.)

Helen McIntosh (City Elected Official)

Andy Matthews (Lic. General Contractor)

Richard White (Town Manager)

Thomas Bender (Fire Prevention Inspector)

Karen Tikkanen (Community Colleges)

Michael Crotts (City CEO)

Mark Smith (Lic. General Contractor)

James Steele (Lic. Electrical Contractor)

Mack Summey, PE (Registered Engineer)

Stephen Terry, PhD, PE (NCSU Engineering Faculty)

NOTICE/AGENDA

Education and Research Committee Meeting

Virtual video/teleconference Webex

December 16, 2020 9:00 – 11:00 AM

- 1. Welcome and Roll Call (members)
- 2. Conflict of Interest Reminder
- 3. Rule changes proposed
 - a. Temporary 11 NCAC 08 .0736 Special CE requirement
 - b. Amended 11 NCAC 08 .0735 Temporary Certificate
- 4. Residential Changeout Inspector Board Course development status
 - a. BETA and PILOT#1
 - b. Community College transition July 1, 2021?
 - c. Confirmation of CE awarded
 - d. CE requirements for renewal
 - i. 6 hours RCI
 - ii. 2 hours each Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing
- 5. Adjourn