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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Structural Pest Control Committee intends to amend the rules 

cited as 02 NCAC 34 .0101, .0302, .0309, .0313, .0327, .0604, 

.0703, .0803, and .0902. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncagr.gov/divisions/legal-affairs/legal-affairs-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than July 16th, 2024 to Anna 

Hayworth, NCDA&CS Rule-Making coordinator, 1002 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 or at rulesreview@ncagr.gov. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In 2017, EPA revised the 

Certification of Pesticide Applicators rule (40 CFR Part 171).  

The revisions provide assurance that certified applicators and 

non-certified applicators under their supervision are competent 

to use pesticides in a manner that will not cause unreasonable 

adverse effects on human health or the environment. 

The existing NC Structural Pest Control Rules were revised so 

that they meet or exceed the new minimum requirements detailed 

in 40 CFR Part 171.   The rule revisions have been reviewed and 

approved by the NC Structural Pest Control Committee and the 

NC State Certification plan has been reviewed and final approval 

has been received from EPA. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-4509; email 

rulesreview@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 34 - STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION AND DEFINITIONS 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0101 GENERAL DUTIES 

(a)  Applicable to licensees only: 

(1) All licensed structural pest control operators 

shall faithfully and honestly carry out the 

provisions and terms of all contracts into which 

they enter for the control of structural pests. 

(2) In addition to following all minimum 

requirements outlined in the rules and 

regulations herein, licensed structural pest 

control operators shall be responsible for 

obtaining satisfactory control of all insects, 

rodents, fungi, or other pests indicated in the 

control agreement(s). 

(3) Licensed structural pest control operators shall 

be responsible for obtaining satisfactory control 

of active infestations of pests for which control 

agreements were entered into prior to July 1, 

1955, if contracts covering said agreements are 

currently effective. 

(b)  Applicable to both licensees and certified applicators: 

(1) The methods and materials used in structural 

pest control procedures shall be in accordance 

with the current label registrations of federal 

and State of North Carolina agencies 

responsible for making such registrations. 

(2) The possession, usage, application, storage, and 

disposal of all pesticides and all pesticide 

containers shall be in conformity with all 

federal and North Carolina State laws and 

regulations governing the possession, usage, 

application, storage, and disposal of pesticides 

and pesticide containers. 

(3) Licensed structural pest control operators or 

their authorized agents and certified applicators 
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shall maintain at their business location(s) 

copies of current registered labels for all 

pesticides used. Such labels shall be made 

available for inspection upon request of the 

Division or the Committee. 

(4) Requirements for direct supervision of 

registered technicians by licensed or certified 

applicators are as follows: 

(A) ADOPTION BY REFERENCE: The 

North Carolina Structural Pest Control 

Committee hereby adopts by reference 

for all Pesticide Applicators, Part 

171.201 "Supervision of Noncertified 

Applicators" of Title 40: Protection of 

Environment of the Code of Federal 

Regulations, titled "Certification of 

Pesticide Applicators Subpart B–

Certification Requirements for 

Applicators of Restricted Use 

Pesticides" including subsequent 

amendments. Copies of this material 

may be obtained at no cost from the 

U.S. Government Printing Office 

website, http://www.gpo.gov/. 

(B) Before any registered technician may 

use any pesticide under the direct 

supervision of the licensed or certified 

applicator, the supervising licensed or 

certified applicator must ensure that 

the registered technician has met all of 

the following qualifications: the 

registered technician has completed 

training requirements under 02 NCAC 

34 .0313; the registered technician has 

been instructed within the last 12 

months in the safe operation of any 

equipment he or she will use for 

mixing, loading, transferring, or 

applying pesticides as required 02 

NCAC 34 .0313(g); and the registered 

technician is at least 18 years old. 

(C) Use-specific conditions that must be 

met in order for a registered technician 

to use any pesticide are outlined in this 

section. The licensed or certified 

applicator must ensure that all the 

following requirements in this section 

are met before allowing a registered 

technician to use any pesticide under 

his or her direct supervision. 

(D) The licensed or certified applicator 

must ensure that the registered 

technician always has access to the 

applicable product labeling during its 

use. 

(E) The licensed or certified applicator 

must provide the registered technician 

with all personal protective equipment 

required by the labeling of any 

pesticide used and through training, 

documentation, or supervision, ensure 

that the PPE is being worn and used 

correctly for its intended purpose. 

(F) The licensed or certified applicator 

must provide to each registered 

technician, through training, the tools 

needed to analyze a site prior to an 

application being made and 

understand when it is necessary to 

postpone an application until the 

supervising licensed or certified 

applicator be contacted for input. This 

training must include reading & 

understanding labeling directions, 

precautions, and requirements 

applicable to various sites and uses, 

and how the characteristics of a use 

site (e.g., structural pest identification, 

damage assessment, construction type, 

control/management options, as well 

as other factors which could impact 

any pesticide application decision 

such as surface and ground water, 

runoff potential, soil type, weather 

forecast, endangered species, local 

population) and the conditions of 

application (e.g. equipment, method of 

application, formulation) might 

increase or decrease the risk of adverse 

effects. 

(G) The licensed or certified applicator 

must provide this information in a 

manner that the registered technician 

can understand. 

(H) The licensed or certified applicator 

must, through training, 

documentation, or inspections, ensure 

that before each day of use, equipment 

used for mixing, loading, transferring, 

or applying pesticides is in proper 

operating condition as intended by the 

manufacturer and can be used without 

risk of reasonably foreseeable adverse 

effects to the registered technician, 

other persons, or the environment. 

(I) The licensed or certified applicator 

must ensure that a means to 

immediately communicate with the 

licensed or certified applicator has 

been provided to each registered 

technician using any pesticide under 

his or her direct supervision. 

(J) The licensed or certified applicator 

must be physically present at the use 

site, when required by the product 

labeling 

(5) Before any registered technician uses any 

pesticide under the direct supervision of the 
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licensed or certified applicator, the supervising 

licensed or certified applicator must ensure that 

the registered technician has met all the 

requirements and been trained in accordance 

with 02 NCAC 34 .0313. 

(6) All licensed or certified applicators must adhere 

to the following provisions of recordkeeping as 

outlined in the following section and 

subsection. 

(A) Prior to the registered technician using 

any pesticide, the licensed or certified 

applicator must create or verify the 

existence of records documenting that 

each registered technician has met the 

qualifications required in 

Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule. For 

each registered technician, the records 

must contain the information as 

provided in Part (b)(6)(B) of this Rule. 

(B) The record must contain all the 

following information: the registered 

technician's printed name and 

signature; the date that the training 

requirement in Subparagraph (b)(5) of 

this Rule was completed; the name of 

the person who provided the training; 

and the title or a description of the 

training provided. 

(C) The licensed or certified applicator 

supervising any registered technician 

must have access to records 

documenting the information required 

in Part (b)(6)(A) of this Rule at the 

licensed applicator's principal place of 

business for two years from the date 

the registered technician uses the 

pesticide. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

SECTION .0300 - LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0302 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND CARDS: EXAMINATION 

(a)  Application for licenses under the provisions of G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (c): 

(1) Application for examination shall be on a 

regular form prescribed by the Division. The 

Committee shall approve applications if a 

complete application was submitted to the 

Division and all criteria under G.S. 106-65.26 

has been met. 

(2) Upon approval of the application for 

examination, the Committee secretary shall 

notify the applicant of said approval and 

provide the necessary form(s) for the applicant 

to pre-register for the examination as required 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(3) Applications to take the examination shall be 

either typed or printed in ink and sworn to 

before a notary public or some other official 

authorized by law to administer oaths. 

(4) A high-resolution, full-face, head, and shoulder 

photograph of the applicant, taken within the 

preceding 12 months of the date of application, 

and not less than two and one-half inches 

square, shall be attached to the application. 

(5) All applications to take the examination shall be 

retained by the office of the Committee 

secretary. All documents filed in support of an 

application shall be kept by the office of the 

Committee secretary; provided, however, that 

the Committee shall permit such documents to 

be withdrawn upon substitution of a true copy. 

All examinations shall remain the property of 

the Committee. 

(6) An applicant who fails to pass the license 

examination within 12 months of the approval 

of his or her application shall be required to 

provide current information concerning his or 

her qualifications to take the examination to 

ensure that the applicant is still qualified to take 

the examination. 

(7) An applicant who gives or receives 

unauthorized assistance in answering test 

questions from anyone who is not employed by 

the Division during an examination shall be 

dismissed from the examination and his or her 

markings or results shall be voided and said 

applicant's examination fee shall be forfeited. 

Such applicant shall not be permitted to take a 

reexamination for a period of six months from 

the date of the examination. 

(8) No person shall be admitted to the examination 

room except members of the Committee, the 

attorney for the Committee, the examining 

personnel, employees of the Structural Pest 

Control Division, and the applicants for 

licensure. 

(9) Any applicant making a score of 70 percent or 

more on any license examination(s) shall be 

issued a license in that phase(s) of structural 

pest control after submitting a completed 

application with all required fees and insurance 

documents therefor. 

(10) The applicant shall furnish the information 

required by G.S. 106-65.26 and this Rule to 

establish that said applicant possesses 

qualifications as specified in G.S. 106-65.26 of 

the Act for the particular license(s) which he or 

she seeks. The Committee or its authorized 

representatives may, based upon their review of 

the contents of an application, make such 

investigations as the Committee deems 

necessary to review an applicant's 

qualifications. 
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(11) All applicants passing the examination(s) for 

licenses shall apply for said licenses within six 

months from the date on which the 

examinations were taken. If such applicants fail 

to make application for said licenses, within the 

specified period, such applicants shall be 

required to take and pass reexaminations 

covering phases of structural pest control work 

for which licenses were applied before said 

licenses are issued. 

(12) If an applicant for a license fails an 

examination, he or she may review the 

examination at the next scheduled review 

session. 

(b)  Application for certified applicator's identification card under 

the provisions of G.S. 106-65.26(a) and (b): 

(1) Applications filed pursuant to G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (b) shall be on a form 

prescribed by the Division. 

(2) An applicant for a certified applicator's 

identification card in any phase of structural 

pest control shall furnish information as 

specified in G.S. 106-65.26 of the Act to 

establish that said applicant possesses 

qualifications for the particular certified 

applicator's identification card which he or she 

seeks. The Committee or its authorized 

representatives may, based upon their review of 

the contents of an application, make such 

investigations as it deems necessary with 

respect to the applicant's qualifications. 

(3) All applications for certified applicator's 

identification cards under the provisions of G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (b) shall be retained by the 

office of the Committee secretary. All 

documents filed in support of an application 

shall be kept by the office of the Committee 

secretary; provided, however, that the 

Committee shall at its discretion permit such 

documents to be withdrawn upon substitution 

of a true copy. All examinations shall remain 

the property of the Committee. 

(4) Any applicant making a score of 70 percent or 

more on the core certification examination and 

on any certified applicator's examination(s) 

shall be issued a certified applicator's 

identification card in that phase of structural 

pest control after submitting a completed 

Division's Certified Applicator Card 

application with required fees therefor. 

ADOPTION BY REFERENCE: The North 

Carolina Structural Pest Control Committee, 

hereby adopts by reference for all Certified 

Applicators, Part 171.103 (a) through (e) 

"Standards for certification of commercial 

applicators" of Title 40: Protection of 

Environment of the Code of Federal 

Regulations, titled "Certification of Pesticide 

Applicators Subpart B–Certification 

Requirements for Applicators of Restricted Use 

Pesticides" including subsequent amendments. 

Copies of this material may be obtained at no 

cost from the U.S. Government Printing Office 

website, http://www.gpo.gov/. 

(A) Industrial, Institutional & Structural is 

the only federal category regulated 

under the NC Structural Pest Control 

Law and that category is divided into 

three subcategory phases. The three 

subcategory phases and their 

subsequent competency standards are 

detailed in this section. 

(B) Household Pest Control: Applicators 

must demonstrate practical knowledge 

of household pests, pest problems and 

pests that are important vectors of 

disease, including recognizing the 

pests and signs of their presence, their 

habitats, their life cycles, biology, and 

behavior as it may be relevant to 

problem identification and control. 

The required knowledge also includes 

how to minimize damage to, and 

contamination of areas treated, acute 

and chronic exposure of people and 

pets, and non-target exposures. 

(C) Wood-Destroying Organisms: 

Applicators must demonstrate a 

practical knowledge of wood-

destroying organisms which may 

devour or destroy wood, wood 

products and other cellulose material 

in, on, under in contact with and 

around structures, including 

recognizing these pests and signs of 

their presence, their life cycles, 

biology, and behavior as it may be 

relevant to problem identification, 

treatment and control. The required 

knowledge also includes how to 

minimize damage to, and 

contamination of areas treated, acute 

and chronic exposure of people and 

pets, and non-target exposures. 

(D) Fumigation (non-soil): Applicators 

must demonstrate practical knowledge 

of the pest problems and pest control 

practices associated with performing 

fumigation applications of restricted 

use pesticides to sites other than soil 

such as enclosed spaces or structures, 

including recognizing these pests and 

signs of their presence, their life 

cycles, biology, and behavior as it may 

be relevant to problem identification, 

treatment, and control. The required 

knowledge also includes how to 

minimize damage to, and 
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contamination of areas treated, acute 

and chronic exposure of people and 

pets, and non-target exposures. 

(5) All applicants passing the examination(s) for 

certified applicator's identification cards shall 

apply for said cards within six months from the 

date on which the examinations were taken. If 

such applicants fail to make application for said 

certified applicator's identification cards within 

the specified period, such applicants shall be 

required to take and satisfactorily pass 

reexaminations covering phases of structural 

pest control work for which certified 

applicator's identification cards were applied 

before said cards are issued. Any applicant 

making a score of 70 percent or more on the 

core certification examination and on any 

certified applicator's examination(s) shall be 

issued a certified applicator's identification card 

in that phase of structural pest control after 

submitting a completed division's certified 

applicator card application with required fees 

therefor. 

(6) If an applicant fails to obtain a certified 

applicator's identification card within 12 

months of passing the core examination the 

applicant shall take and pass a reexamination 

before being eligible for the card. All applicants 

passing the examination(s) for certified 

applicator's identification cards shall apply for 

said cards within six months from the date on 

which the examinations were taken. If such 

applicants fail to make application for said 

certified applicator's identification cards within 

the specified period, such applicants shall be 

required to take and satisfactorily pass 

reexaminations covering phases of structural 

pest control work for which certified 

applicator's identification cards were applied 

before said cards are issued. 

(7) Upon receipt of the application for 

examination, the Committee secretary shall 

provide the necessary exam pre-registration 

forms for the applicant to pre-register for the 

examination as required in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. If an applicant fails to obtain a certified 

applicator's identification card within 12 

months of passing the core examination the 

applicant shall take and pass a reexamination 

before being eligible for the card. 

(8) If an applicant for a certified applicator's card 

fails an examination, he or she may review the 

examination at the next scheduled review 

session. Upon receipt of the application for 

examination, the Committee secretary shall 

provide the necessary exam pre-registration 

forms for the applicant to pre-register for the 

examination as required in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(9) Subparagraphs (a)(2), (5), (7), and (8) of this 

Rule shall also apply to all applicants for 

certified applicator's identification cards. If an 

applicant for a certified applicator's card fails an 

examination, he or she may review the 

examination at the next scheduled review 

session. 

(10) Completion of the Registered Technician 

School shall be a prerequisite for the 

certification examination. Subparagraphs 

(a)(2), (5), (7), and (8) of this Rule shall also 

apply to all applicants for certified applicator's 

identification cards. 

(11) Completion of the registered technician school 

shall be a prerequisite for the certification 

examination. 

(c)  Pre-registration for license and certified applicator 

examination applicants: 

(1) All applicants for the license or certified 

applicator's examination(s) shall pre-register 

with the Committee secretary for said 

examination(s) no less than 10 days prior to the 

date of the examination. 

(2) Applicants who fail to pre-register shall not be 

permitted to take the examination. 

(3) Pre-registration shall include a completed 

application for examination. 

(d)  Frequency of examination by license applicant limited: 

(1) An applicant who fails to pass the license 

examination on his or her first attempt may 

retake the examination at any subsequent 

scheduled examination. 

(2) An applicant who fails to pass the second 

license examination shall wait a minimum of 

one examination between each subsequent 

examination: except that, in the event of a death 

of a licensee the applicant intending to succeed 

the deceased licensee may take the examination 

a third time prior to the first one examination 

waiting period. 

(3) No applicant shall be permitted to take the 

examination more than six times per year nor 

more than two times in consecutive months, 

except as provided for in Subparagraph (d)(2) 

of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0309 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  Certified applicators and licensees shall be certified for a five-

year period. At the end of said five-year period, a certified 

applicator or licensee, at his or her discretion, may be recertified 

for another five-year period by choosing one of the following 

options: ADOPTION BY REFERENCE: The North Carolina 

Structural Pest Control Committee, hereby adopts by reference for 

all Certified Applicators, Part 171.107 "Standards for 

recertification of commercial applicators" of Title 40: Protection 

of Environment of the Code of Federal Regulations, titled 

"Certification of Pesticide Applicators Subpart B–Certification 
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Requirements for Applicators of Restricted Use Pesticides" 

including subsequent amendments. Copies of this material may be 

obtained at no cost from the U.S. Government Printing Office 

website, http://www.gpo.gov/. 

(1) reexamination taken between January 1, prior 

to the expiration of the five-year recertification 

period, and June 30; 

(2) for recertification after July 1, 2002: earning 

Continuing Certification Units during the five 

years immediately preceding the expiration 

date of his certification. The number of CCUs 

required shall be as follows: 

(A) recertification in any one phase: 10 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the phase in which 

recertification is desired; 

(B) recertification in any two phases: 15 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase and 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(C) recertification in all three phases: 20 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase, 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase, and five solely applicable to the 

third phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(D) licensees and noncommercial certified 

applicators shall earn at least one of 

the required continuing certification 

units established in Subparagraph 

(a)(3) of this Rule in at least four years 

of the five- year recertification period; 

(E) commercial certified applicators shall 

earn at least one of the required 

continuing certification units 

established in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule in at least three years of the 

five-year recertification period; 

(F) continuing certification units shall not 

be carried forward beyond the five-

year recertification period. 

(b)  Licensees holding an inactive license shall be subject to the 

requirements of this Rule. Certified applicators and licensees shall 

be certified for a five-year period. At the end of said five-year 

period, a certified applicator or licensee, at his or her discretion, 

may be recertified for another five-year period by choosing one 

of the following options: 

(1) Reexamination taken between January 1, prior 

to the expiration of the five-year recertification 

period, and June 30; or 

(2) For recertification after July 1, 2002: earning 

continuing certification units during the five 

years immediately preceding the expiration 

date of his certification, and the number of 

CCUs required shall be as follows: 

(A) recertification in any one phase: 10 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the phase in which 

recertification is desired; 

(B) recertification in any two phases: 15 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase and 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(C) recertification in all three phases: 20 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase, 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase, and five solely applicable to the 

third phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(D) licensees and noncommercial certified 

applicators shall earn at least one of 

the required continuing certification 

units established in Subparagraph 

(b)(2) of this Rule in at least four years 

of the five- year recertification period; 

(E) commercial certified applicators shall 

earn at least one of the required 

continuing certification units 

established in Subparagraph (b)(2) of 

this Rule in at least three years of the 

five-year recertification period; and 

(F) continuing certification units shall not 

be carried forward beyond the five-

year recertification period. 

(c)  Licensees holding an inactive license shall be subject to the 

requirements of this rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0313 REGISTERED TECHNICIAN'S 

IDENTIFICATION CARDS/TRAINING MATERIALS 

(a)  A registered technician's identification card shall contain, but 

not be limited to, the following information: 

(1) name of registrant; 

(2) name of licensee or employer; 

(3) name of licensee's company; 

(4) address of licensee's company; 

(5) license number and phase(s) of licensee; 

(6) age, weight, height, color of hair and eyes of 

registrant; 

(7) job classification of card holder; 

(8) issuance date, expiration date, and license year 

covered by card. 

(b)  The registered technician's identification card and the license 

of the employer of the card holder shall bear the same license 

number and license phase(s). Each registered technician's 

identification card shall bear only one license number, one 

company name, and not more than three license phases. 

(c)  A licensee or noncommercial certified applicator applying for 

the issuance or renewal of a registered technician's identification 

card for his or her employee shall certify to the Division that the 
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employee meets all the minimum requirements as set forth in 02 

NCAC 34 .0101(b)(4)(A) and has completed employee training 

approved by the Committee in structural pest control work. 

(d)  All individuals who make application for the issuance, not 

renewal, of registered technician's identification cards after 

January 1, 1999, shall complete the following training, or its 

equivalent, before becoming eligible for the identification card: 

(1) Introductory Training: 

(A) Introductory training shall include 

completion of the workbook, 

Introductory Training for Registered 

Technicians; and 

(B) A minimum of 24 hours of on-the-job 

training in applicable phases of 

structural pest control by the licensee, 

certified applicator, or registered 

technician having at least two years of 

experience. 

(2) On-the-job training involving the equipment, 

methods, methods and materials the employee 

will use in the day-to-day performance of his 

duties. 

(3) The North Carolina Structural Pest Control 

Registered Technician School. A fee of twenty-

five dollars ($25.00) shall be charged for each 

employee attending the Registered Technician 

School. 

(e)  Training materials and records shall be made available for 

inspection during regular business hours upon request by the 

Division and shall be retained two years beyond the last date of 

the individual's employment. 

(f)  Introductory training shall be completed before the employee 

is permitted to mix or apply pesticides without the on-site 

supervision of a registered technician, certified applicator, or 

licensee. 

(g)  Registered technicians shall complete an annual training in 

the safe operation of any equipment he or she will use for mixing, 

loading, transferring, or applying pesticides. 

(1) The person who conducts this training must 

meet one of the following criteria: 

(A) Be currently licensed or certified in the 

phase that the technician is to be 

registered; or 

(B) Be currently designated as a trainer of 

registered technicians by the 

committee or the director. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0327 LICENSES AND CARDS NOT 

ISSUED TO PERSONS UNDER 18 

No license certificate or certified applicator's identification card 

or registered technician's identification card shall be issued to any 

person who is less than 18 years old. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

SECTION .0600 - WOOD-DESTROYING ORGANISMS 

AGREEMENTS 

02 NCAC 34 .0604 WOOD-DESTROYING 

ORGANISMS RECORDS 

(a)  A duplicate of each written agreement and waiver (if 

applicable) for the control or prevention of any wood-destroying 

organism shall be kept by the licensee for a minimum of two years 

beyond the expiration date of the written agreement. The duplicate 

of each written agreement shall contain, in addition to the 

information specified under 02 NCAC 34 .0605, the following: 

(1) EPA approved brand name of pesticide used; 

(2) Names of all employees who applied pesticide; 

(3) Information required by EPA; All record 

keeping requirements required by EPA under 

40 CFR Part 171.303(b)(7)(vi); 

(4) For restricted use pesticides, the concentration 

and approximate total volume of each pesticide 

applied. For restricted use pesticides, this 

information, along with the information 

required by Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this 

Rule shall also be included on the customer's 

copy of the written agreement; and 

(5) In addition, for all treatments performed 

pursuant to 02 NCAC 34 .0505 .0503, .0505, or 

.0506, the following records shall be made and 

maintained: 

(A) the date of each termiticide 

application; 

(B) the portion or portions of the structure 

treated; 

(C) the approximate volume of termiticide 

applied during each treatment; and 

(D) the concentration at which the 

termiticide is applied. 

(b)  A duplicate of each wood-destroying insect or 

wood-destroying organism report shall be kept by the licensee for 

a minimum of two years beyond the date of issuance. 

(c)  Noncommercial certified applicators shall maintain the 

following records for two years beyond the last date of treatment: 

(1) EPA approved brand name of all pesticides 

used; 

(2) Concentration and approximate total volume of 

pesticide applied; 

(3) Names of all employees that applied pesticide; 

(4) Target pest; 

(5) Site of application; 

(6) Date of application; and 

(7) Information required by EPA. All record 

keeping requirements required by EPA under 

40 CFR Part 171.303(b)(7)(vi). 

(d)  If the pesticide used to control any wood-destroying organism 

requires or recommends monitoring or inspecting for the pest to 

be controlled, the licensee, certified applicator, or their employees 

shall make and maintain records of all such inspection or 

monitoring activities. Such records shall be made available for 

inspection as provided for in 02 NCAC 34 .0328. 

(e)  For all treatments performed pursuant to 02 NCAC 34 .0505 

or .0506, the licensee shall place, or cause to be placed, a record 

of treatment in the permit box or, if no box exists, with the 

building permit on the job site. The treatment record shall be on a 
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form prescribed by the Division and shall include at least the 

following information: 

(1) Date of application(s); 

(2) Specific area(s) treated during each application; 

(3) Name of termiticide applied; 

(4) Approximate volume of termiticide applied; 

and 

(5) Date of final treatment. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

SECTION .0700 - HOUSEHOLD PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0703 WRITTEN RECORDS OF 

HOUSEHOLD PEST CONTROL 

(a)  Written records on the treatment for the control of all 

household pests shall be maintained by the licensee and made 

available for inspection at any time during regular business hours 

upon request from the Division. Such records shall include the 

following information: 

(1) Name(s) and address(es) of the property 

owner(s) or his or her authorized 

representative(s); 

(2) Name and address of company represented by 

the certified applicator or licensee or their 

authorized representatives and the license 

number of licensee responsible for the 

treatment; 

(3) Address(es) of property(ies) treated, type(s) of 

treatment(s), and date(s) treatment(s) 

performed; 

(4) Common name(s) of pest(s) to be controlled or 

covered by the initial agreement or any 

subsequent treatments; 

(5) EPA approved brand name of pesticide used; 

(6) Information required by EPA; 

(6) All record keeping requirements required by 

EPA under 40 CFR Part 171 .0303(b)(7)(vi); 

(7) Name of licensee, certified applicator, or 

registered technician making the application; 

and 

(8) For "restricted use pesticides," as defined in 

G.S. 106-65.24(21), the information required 

by Subparagraphs (a)(5), (a)(6), and (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall also be included on the 

customer's copy of the written agreement or 

service record. 

(b)  Noncommercial certified applicators shall maintain and make 

available for inspection the following records of pesticides 

applied: 

(1) EPA approved brand name of all pesticides 

applied; 

(2) Target pest(s); 

(3) Site of application; 

(4) Date of application; 

(5) Name of certified applicator or registered 

technician making the application; and 

(6) Information required by EPA. All record 

keeping requirements required by EPA under 

40 CFR Part 171.303(b)(7)(vi). 

(c)  Records shall be retained for two years beyond the last date 

of treatment. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

SECTION .0800 - FUMIGATION 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0803 WRITTEN RECORDS OF 

FUMIGATION 

(a)  Written records shall be maintained on all fumigation 

operations and be made available for inspection, upon request, by 

the enforcement agency or Committee anytime during regular 

business hours. Such records shall include the following 

information for each fumigation performed: 

(1) Name(s) and address(es) of the property 

owner(s) or his authorized representative(s); 

(2) Name and address of company represented by 

the licensee or certified applicator or their 

authorized representative and the license 

number of the licensee responsible for the 

treatment; 

(3) Address of property(ies) to be fumigated; 

(4) Common name(s) of pest(s) to be fumigated; 

(5) EPA approved common name of fumigant 

used; 

(6) EPA registration number of fumigant applied; 

(7) If a restricted use pesticide is used, that 

information required by EPA; all record 

keeping information required by EPA under 40 

CFR Part 171.303(b)(7)(vi); 

(8) Total amount of fumigant applied; Date and 

time of application; 

(9) Name of licensee or certified applicator 

performing the fumigation; Total amount of 

fumigant applied; 

(10) For restricted use pesticides, the information 

required by Subparagraphs (a)(5), (6), (8), and 

(9) of this Rule shall also be included on the 

customer's copy of the written agreement or 

service record; Name of licensee or certified 

applicator performing the fumigation; 

(11) If the pest to be fumigated is a wood-destroying 

organism, all of 02 NCAC 34 .0605 shall be 

followed. For restricted use pesticides, the 

information required by Subparagraphs (a)(5), 

(6), (8), and (9) of this Rule shall also be 

included on the customers copy of the written 

agreement or service record; and 

(12) If the pest to be fumigated is a wood-destroying 

organism, all of 02 NCAC 34 .0605 shall be 

followed. 

(b)  Noncommercial certified applicators shall maintain the 

following records of pesticides applied: 

(1) EPA approved brand name of all fumigants 

applied; 

(2) EPA registration number of fumigant applied; 
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(3) Total amount of fumigant applied; 

(4) Name of certified applicator performing the 

fumigation; 

(5) Target pest(s); 

(6) Site of application; 

(7) Date and time of application; and 

(8) Any information required by EPA. All record 

keeping information required by EPA under 40 

CFR Part 171.303(b)(7)(vi). 

(c)  Records must be retained for two years beyond the last date 

of treatment or the expiration of the written agreement, if 

applicable. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.29. 

 

SECTION .0900 - DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

LICENSEE 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0902 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

(a)  A licensee shall obtain and maintain financial responsibility 

in the form of a general liability insurance policy which covers 

operations in progress and completed operations. The insurance 

policy must provide coverage for all employees that work for the 

licensee. If an insurance policy is issued to a structural pest control 

company that employs more than one licensee and the policy 

otherwise meets the standard set forth in this Rule, all licensees 

employed by the structural pest control company will be deemed 

to have insurance. 

(b)  The insurance policy required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

must provide the following minimum coverage: 

(1) Single limit 

Property Damage $100,000 Each Occurrence 

Bodily Injury $300,000 Each Occurrence 

(2) Combined single limit $300,000 Each 

Occurrence 

(c)  Each applicant for a license in any phase of structural pest 

control shall show evidence of his financial ability to properly 

indemnify persons suffering from the use or application of 

pesticides in the form of a Certificate of Insurance completed by 

the insurance company with the Division named as a certificate 

holder. 

(d)  The Certificate of Insurance shall clearly set forth the type of 

coverage, limits of liability, and any exclusions of the policy and 

shall have attached an endorsement which indicates that the policy 

provides coverage for any pollution or contamination occurring as 

a result of the use or application of any pesticide or shall state that 

such an endorsement has been issued with the policy. 

(e)  The license applicant shall be responsible for the submission 

of the Certificate of Insurance to the Division as specified in 

Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. No license shall be issued, 

reissued, or renewed until said Certificate of Insurance is received 

by the Division. 

(f)  The insurance policy(s) shall be with companies licensed, or 

otherwise approved to do business in North Carolina, by the NC 

Department of Insurance. The insurance policy shall be in full 

force and effect during the entire period covered by the license 

certificate. The license shall expire upon: 

(1) reduction of the available coverage under the 

policy below the minimum limits set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(2) cancellation of the policy; or 

(3) expiration of the policy. 

Such expired license shall be reinstated only upon satisfactory 

proof that the licensee has obtained the required financial 

responsibility coverage. 

(g)  The licensee shall give the Division at least 10 days notice 

prior to the occurrence of the following: 

(1) cancellation of the policy; 

(2) material change in the policy; or 

(3) reduction of the available coverage under the 

policy below the minimum limits set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(h)  No structural pest control license shall be issued to any person 

where there exists an outstanding and unpaid final judgment 

against said person resulting from any civil suit arising out of 

damages suffered by a plaintiff as the result of a misuse of a 

pesticide by said person. Any current and valid structural pest 

control license shall become null and void 180 days following the 

imposition of a final judgment awarding damages to any plaintiff 

resulting from a civil suit arising out of losses suffered as the 

result of a pesticide misuse by the holder of said license unless the 

final judgment is settled in full within said 180 days. 

(i)  Paragraphs (a) through (g) of this Rule shall not apply to any 

person holding an inactive license as defined by 2 NCAC 34 

.0102(30). 02 NCAC 34 .0102(31). 

 

Authority G.S. 106-65.37. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .0713. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Child-Care-Rules-Law-

and-Public-Information 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 16, 2024 

Time:  11:30 a.m. 

Location:  By WebEx 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule establishes allowable 

staff/child ratios and capacity for child care centers. Proposed 

amendments to this rule align ratios and capacity for centers 

located in a residence with those already allowed in 

nonresidential child care centers for children ages 3 years and 

older. Specifically, proposed staff/child ratios for centers located 

in a residence are  increased from 1/12 to 1/15 for children ages 

three and older. This aligns with existing staff/child ratios for 

child care centers who do not operate in a residential setting. This 
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change applies only to centers located in a residence that have a 

licensed capacity of 13 to 15 children. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Julie Peck, NC Division of 

Child Development and Early Education, 2201 Mail Service 

Center R, Raleigh, NC 27699-2201; email 

julie.peck@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .0700 - STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0713 STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR 

CENTERS 

(a)  The staff/child ratios and group sizes for single-age groups of 

children in centers shall be as follows: 

 

Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children Maximum 

Group 

Size 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 10 

12 to 24 Months 1/6 12 

2 to 3 Years 1/10 20 

3 to 4 Years 1/15 25 

4 to 5 Years 1/20 25 

5 Years and Older 1/25 25 

 

(1) when combining age groups, the staff/child 

ratio for the youngest child in the group shall be 

maintained for the entire group; 

(2) children of all ages may be cared for together in 

groups for the first and last operating hour of 

the day, provided the staff/child ratio for the 

youngest child in the group is maintained; 

(3) a child two years of age and older may be 

placed with children under one year of age 

when a physician certifies that the 

developmental age of the child makes this 

placement appropriate; 

(4) when determined to be developmentally 

appropriate by the operator and parent, a child 

age two or older may be placed one age level 

above his or her chronological age without 

affecting the staff/child ratio for that group. 

This provision shall be limited to one child per 

group; 

(5) except as provided in Subparagraphs (2) and (3) 

of this Paragraph, children under one year of 

age shall be kept separate from children two 

years of age and over; 

(6) except as provided in Subparagraph (2) of this 

Paragraph, children between the ages of 12 

months and 24 months shall not be grouped 

with older children unless all children in the 

group are less than three years of age; 

(7) when only one caregiver is required to meet the 

staff/child ratio and no children under two years 

of age are in care, that caregiver may 

concurrently perform food preparation or other 

duties that are not direct child care 

responsibilities as long as supervision of the 

children as specified in 10A NCAC 09 .1801 is 

maintained; 

(8) except as provided in Subparagraph (7) of this 

Paragraph, staff members and child care 

administrators who are counted in meeting the 

staff/child ratios as stated in this Rule shall not 

concurrently perform food preparation or other 

duties that are not direct child care 

responsibilities; and 

(9) when only one caregiver is required to meet the 

staff/child ratio, the operator shall select one of 

the following options for emergency relief: 

(A) the center shall post the name, address, 

and telephone number of an adult who 

has agreed in writing to be available to 

provide emergency relief; or 

(B) there shall be a second adult on the 

premises who is available to provide 

emergency relief. 

(10) the staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom as 

described in this Paragraph shall be posted in 

that classroom in an area that parents are able to 

view at all times. 

(b)  The staff/child ratios for a center located in a residence with 

a licensed capacity of 3 to 12 children when any preschool-age 

child is enrolled, or with a licensed capacity of 3 13 to 15 children 

when only school-age children are enrolled, are as follows: 
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Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children Maximum 

Group Size 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 pre school children 

plus three additional 

school-age children 

10 

12 to 24 Months 1/6 preschool children 

plus two additional 

school-age children 

12 

2 to 13 Years 1/10 15 

3 to 13 Years 1/12 15 15 

All school-age 1/15  

 

(c)  The staff/child ratios for a center located in a residence with 

a licensed capacity of 3 to 12 children are as follows: 

 

Age of Children Ratio Staff/Children 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 preschool children plus three additional 

school-age children 

12 to 24 Months 1/6 preschool children plus two additional 

school-age children 

2 to 13 Years 1/10 

3 to 13 Years 1/12 

 

(c)(d)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom for a center 

located in a residence as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able 

to view at all times. 

(d)(e)  When only one caregiver is required to meet the staff/child 

ratio for a center located in a residence, as described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule and children under two years of age are in care, 

that person shall not concurrently perform food preparation or 

other duties that are not direct child care responsibilities. 

(e)(f)  When only one caregiver is required to meet the staff/child 

ratio for a center located in a residence, as described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule the operator shall select one of the following 

options for emergency relief: 

(1) the center shall post the name, address, and 

telephone number of an adult who has agreed in 

writing to be available to provide emergency 

relief and who can respond within a reasonable 

period of time; or 

(2) there shall be a second adult on the premises 

who is available to provide emergency relief. 

(f)(g)  Upon the Division's receipt of a written request, a center 

may choose to group children in multi-age groups rather than 

single-aged groups. The staff/child ratios and group sizes for 

multi-age groups of children in centers shall be as follows: 

 

Age of Children Ratio 

Staff/Childr

en 

Maximum 

Group Size 

0 to 36 months  1/4 8 

12 months to 36 months  1/5 10 

24 months to 47 months 1/6 10 

4 years of age to 6 years of 

age 

1/9 18 

6 years of age through 12 

years of age 

1/19 25 

(1) Before meeting the ratios outlined in this 

Paragraph or before changing from multi-age 

group ratios to single-age group ratios, the 

Division must be notified in writing; 

(2) Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule do not 

apply to centers that choose to meet the ratios 

outlined in this Paragraph, with the exception of 

Subparagraphs (a)(7), (8) and (9) of this Rule; 

(3) Children 36 months through 47 months may 

remain in the classroom with infants provided 

there is an agreed upon transition plan between 

the child care facility, the child's parents or 

legal guardian, and local partners if the plan 

includes future care outside of the center. 

Transition plans must be initiated at least six 

months prior to a child's third birthday, 

maintained in each child's file, and be available 

for review by the Division; and 

(4) The staff/child ratio applicable for a multi-age 

group as described in this Paragraph shall be 

posted in that classroom in an area that parents 

are able to view at all times. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(7); 143B-168.3. 

 

 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Labor intends to amend the rules cited as 13 NCAC 

13 .0101, .0103, .0202, .0203, .0207, .0208, .0210, .0211, .0213, 

.0214, .0301-.0305, .0401, .0405, .0409, .0411, .0413 and .0420-

.0423. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.labor.nc.gov/rules-and-regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 24, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  4 West Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

13 NCAC 13 .0101 DEFINITIONS: Amendments will harmonize 

with statutory amendments pursuant to Senate Bill 542, ratified 

May 23, 2024. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2023/Bills/Senate/PDF/S542v4.

pdf Additional amendment will harmonize addition of user to 

"owner or user" throughout the rules. 

13 NCAC 13 .0103 INCORPORATED - STANDARDS: 

Correcting the address of the State Fire Marshal. 

13 NCAC 13 .0202 INSPECTOR QUALIFICATION: This 

amendment reinforces the Bureau's position that a State inspector 

must have a National Board Commission. Currently, this is 

specified in the NC Department of Labor’s hiring documentation, 

but this will establish this requirement in the rules.  
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13 NCAC 13 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA COMMISSION: The NC 

Dept of Labor no longer issues an actual commission card, so 

there is nothing to “return” to the agency. This change also 

strengthens the requirement to notify the agency of a termination 

of a commissioned inspector. 

13 NCAC 13 .0207 INSPECTION REPORTS: New subparagraph 

(4) establishes a requirement for what is currently only an implied 

requirement that inspection reports must contain comments 

pertaining to the inspection. Removes the specifications for 

notification of the Chief so that any means of contact is 

acceptable. The importance of the notification is in the 

immediacy. 

13 NCAC 13 .0208 INSURANCE COMPANIES TO NOTIFY 

CHIEF INSPECTOR: (a) All notifications are now made 

electronically and occur instantly; there is no longer a need to 

establish a maximum of 30 days. (b) Conforming amendment to 

(a). (c) Notifications are done electronically through the NCDOL 

Boiler inspection database, but this change allows for another 

method should it be needed. 

13 NCAC 13 .0210 SHOP INSPECTIONS AND NATIONAL 

BOARD "R" CERTIFICATE QUALIFICATION REVIEWS: There 

is a current requirement that the Chief Inspector (or designee) 

conducts the qualification reviews for issuance or renewal of the 

National Board "R" certificate of authorization. There also exists 

the alternative that the National Board take over responsibilities 

if the Chief or designee are unable to. This amendment puts that 

alternative into the rules.  

13 NCAC 13 .0211 CERTIFICATE INSPECTIONS: (a) This 

amendment establishes the requirement that is currently only an 

implied requirement that the inspector be on-site and performs 

the inspection in-person. (d) and (e) clarifying amendments put in 

new (e), which were previously included in (d) to make the rule 

less confusing. (f)  There is no “season” so this language was 

removed to indicate this happens throughout the year. Inspections 

should be IAW the NB Code. (p)  Puts into writing the currently 

implied requirement of prior approval from the Chief. 

13 NCAC 13 .0213 CERTIFICATE AND INSPECTION FEES: 

(a) Harmonizing amendment to add User; second portion of 

amendment allows the NC Department of Labor the option of 

directly charging the insurance company for inspections that they 

perform, instead of the owner. 

(b) Harmonizing amendment to add user. (c) and (d) amendments 

to correct errors.  

13 NCAC 13 .0214 EXTENDED PRESSURE EQUIPMENT 

OPERATING CERTIFICATES: Corrected terms throughout this 

Rule, as this Rule applies to both boilers and pressure vessels; 

and adds harmonizing amendment to include user. 

13 NCAC 13 .0301 INSPECTION DOCUMENTATION: (a) This 

amendment establishes the requirement that is currently only an 

implied requirement that inspection reports require comments 

pertaining to the inspection. (b) and (c) amends to include gender 

neutral pronoun when referring to the Chief. (d)(g) This allows 

the NC Department of Labor the option of directly charging the 

insurance company for inspections that they perform, instead of 

the owner. 

13 NCAC 13 .0302 CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE: Harmonizing 

amendment to add User. 

13 NCAC 13 .0303 INSPECTIONS REVEALING 

DEFICIENCIES: Harmonizing amendment to add User. 

13 NCAC 13 .0304 APPEALS: (a) and (b) amends to include 

gender neutral pronoun when referring to the Chief. (c) Removes 

the specifications for verbal notification of the Chief so that any 

means of contact is acceptable. The importance of the notification 

is in the immediacy. 

13 NCAC 13 .0305 MENACE TO PUBLIC SAFETY NOTICE: (a) 

Amends to include gender neutral pronoun when referring to the 

Chief. (a)(2) removes the specifications for verbal notification of 

the Chief so that any means of contact is acceptable. The 

importance of the notification is in the immediacy. 

13 NCAC 13 .0401 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS: Updates terminology for noted reports. 

13 NCAC 13 .0405 PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES: (a) – (l) All 

revisions in this Rule harmonize with current ASME & NB Codes, 

and the NC Department of Labor’s Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Bureau’s Policy Notices. (p)  Amendment ensures the source of 

pressure is under control of the owner or user of the equipment.   

13 NCAC 13 .0409 AUTOMATIC LOW-WATER FUEL CUTOFF 

CONTROLS AND WATER- FEEDING DEVICES: Amendments 

harmonize this rule with current ASME & NB Codes. 

13 NCAC 13 .0411 VALVES, DRAINS, AND BOTTOM 

BLOWOFFS: (a) – (c) Amendments harmonize this rule with 

current ASME & NB Codes. (d)(2) correction. (k) addition 

harmonizes with current codes and industry practices. 

13 NCAC 13 .0413 CLEARANCES: All amendments harmonize 

this rule with current codes and industry practices. It also 

simplifies this Rule, making it easier to understand and enforce. 

13 NCAC 13 .0420 FIRING MECHANISM CONTROLS: New 

terminology and added guidance for other types of installations, 

which is in harmony with current codes. 

13 NCAC 13 .0421 NORTH CAROLINA SPECIAL: Harmonizing 

amendment to add User. 

13 NCAC 13 .0422 EXHIBITION BOILERS: Harmonizing 

amendment to add User. 

13 NCAC 13 .0423 MODEL HOBBY BOILERS: Added guidance 

for owners, from good industry practice and the NCDOL Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Bureau’s standard operating procedure. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jill F. Cramer, 1101 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101; email 

dol.rules@labor.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
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please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 – BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout the rules in this 

Chapter and shall be construed as controlling in case of any 

conflict with the definitions contained in ANSI/NB-23 National 

Board Inspection Code Parts 2, 3, and 4, The American Society 

of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Code, or The North Carolina State Building Code: 

(1) "Accepted Design and Construction Code" 

means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of 

the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 

(ASME Code), or a comparable code with 

standards that the Chief Inspector determines to 

be equivalent to the ASME Code. 

(2) "Appurtenance" means any control, fitting, 

appliance, or device attached to or working in 

conjunction with the boiler proper or pressure 

vessel. 

(3) "ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Code of the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers. 

(4) "Audit" means activities, other than certificate 

inspections, conducted by the Chief Inspector 

or his or her designee. Audits include the 

following: 

(a) reviews for ASME and National 

Board certificate issuance and 

renewal; 

(b) audits conducted of an authorized 

inspector at the location of a 

manufacturer or repair organization as 

may be required by the ASME Code, 

National Board Inspection Code, or 

National Board Rules for 

Commissioned Inspectors; and 

(c) audits pursuant to evaluation for the 

issuance of North Carolina Specials. 

(5) "Automatically fired boiler" means a boiler that 

cycles in response to a control system and that 

does not require a constant attendant for the 

purpose of introducing fuel into the combustion 

chamber or to control electrical input. 

Electricity shall be considered a fuel for 

electrically fired boilers. 

(6) "Authorized Inspection Agency" means an 

organization employing commissioned 

inspectors, including the following: 

(a) the Bureau, as defined in Item (11) of 

this Rule. 

(b) an inspection agency of an insurance 

company licensed to write boiler and 

pressure vessel insurance; or 

(c) an owner-user inspection organization 

that is accredited by the National 

Board. 

(7) "Authorized inspector" means an employee of 

an Authorized Inspection Agency who is 

commissioned by the National Board and this 

State, holds an endorsement on his or her 

National Board Commission appropriate for the 

work to be performed, and inspects as the third 

party inspector in ASME Code manufacturing 

facilities. 

(8) "Boiler," as defined in G.S. 95-69.9(b), 

includes the following types of boilers: 

(a) "Exhibition boiler" means a historical 

or antique boiler that generates steam 

or hot water for the purposes of 

entertaining or educating the public or 

is used for demonstrations, tourist 

transportation, or exhibitions. This 

term includes boilers used in steam 

tractors, threshers, steam powered 

sawmills, and similar uses; 

(b) "High pressure boiler" means a boiler 

in which steam or other vapor is 

generated at a pressure of more than 

15 psig or water is heated to a 

temperature greater than 250°F and a 

pressure greater than 160 psig for use 

external to itself. High pressure boilers 

include the following: 

(i) Electric boilers; 

(ii) Miniature boilers; 

(iii) High temperature water 

boilers; and 

(iv) High temperature liquid 

boilers (other than water); 

(c) "Low pressure boiler" means a boiler 

in which steam or other vapor is 

generated at a pressure of not more 

than 15 psig or water is heated to a 

temperature not greater than 250°F 

and a pressure not greater than 160 

psig, including the following: 

(i) "Hot water heating boiler" 

means a low pressure boiler 

that supplies heated water 

that is returned to the boiler 

from a piping system and is 

used normally for building 

heat applications (hydronic 

boiler); 
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(ii) "Hot water supply boiler" 

means a low pressure boiler 

that furnishes hot water to be 

used externally to itself; and 

(iii) "Steam heating boiler" 

means a low pressure boiler 

that generates steam to be 

used normally for building 

heat applications; 

(d) "Model hobby boiler" means a boiler 

that generates steam, whether 

stationary or mobile, and is used for 

the purpose of entertainment or 

exhibiting steam technology, where 

the boiler does not exceed: 

(i) 20 square feet of heating 

surface; 

(ii) a shell diameter of 16 inches; 

(iii) a volume of 5 cubic feet; and 

(iv) a pressure of 150 psig; 

(e) "Water heater" means a closed vessel 

in which water is heated by the 

combustion of fuel, by electricity, or 

by any other source, and withdrawn 

for potable use external to the system 

at pressures not exceeding 160 psig 

and temperatures not exceeding 

210°F. 

(9) "Boiler blowoff" means the system associated 

with the rapid draining of boiler water to 

remove concentrated solids that have 

accumulated as a result of steam generation. 

This term also applies to the blowoff for other 

boiler appurtenances, such as the low-water 

fuel cutoff. 

(10) "Boiler proper" or "pressure vessel" means the 

internal mechanism, shell, and heads of a boiler 

or pressure vessel terminating at: 

(a) the first circumferential joint for 

welded end connections; 

(b) the face of the first flange in bolted 

flange connections; or 

(c) the first threaded joint in threaded 

connections. 

(11) "Bureau" means the Boiler Safety Bureau of the 

North Carolina Department of Labor. 

(12) "Certificate inspection" means an inspection, 

the report of which is used by the Chief 

Inspector as justification for issuing, 

withholding, or revoking the inspection 

certificate. The term "certificate inspection" 

also applies to the external inspection 

conducted in accordance with this Chapter 

whether or not a certificate is intended to be 

issued as a result of the inspection. 

(13) "Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a 

boiler or pressure vessel: 

(a) that has been found not to comply with 

G.S. Chapter 95, Article 7A, or this 

Chapter; 

(b) that constitutes a menace to public 

safety; and 

(c) that cannot be repaired or altered so as 

to comply with G.S. Chapter 95, 

Article 7A, and this Chapter. 

(14) "Coil type watertube boiler" means a boiler 

having no steam space, such as a steam drum, 

whereby the heat transfer portion of the water-

containing space consists only of a coil of pipe 

or tubing. 

(15) "Commissioned inspector" means an employee 

of an Authorized Inspection Agency who is 

commissioned by the National Board and this 

State, holds an endorsement on his or her 

National Board Commission appropriate for the 

work to be performed, and who is charged with 

conducting in-service inspections of pressure 

equipment and inspecting repairs or alterations 

to that equipment. 

(16) "Defect" means any deterioration to the 

pressure equipment affecting the integrity of the 

pressure boundary or its supports. Defects may 

be cracks, corrosion, erosion, bags, bulges, 

blisters, leaks, broken parts integral to the 

pressure boundary such as stays, or other flaws 

identified by NDE or visual inspection. 

(17) "Deficiency" means any violation of the 

Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act, rules 

of this Chapter, or identified defects. 

(18) "Design criteria" means design and 

construction code requirements relating to the 

mode of design and construction of a boiler or 

pressure vessel. 

(19) "Equipment" means any boiler or pressure 

vessel subject to inspection by the Bureau. 

(20) "External inspection" means an inspection of 

the external surfaces and appurtenances of a 

boiler or pressure vessel. An external inspection 

may entail "shutting down" a boiler or pressure 

vessel while it is in operation, including 

inspection of internal surfaces, if the inspector 

determines this action is warranted. 

(21) "Hydropneumatic storage tank" means a 

pressure vessel used for storage of water at 

ambient a temperature not to exceed 120°F 110 

°F and where a cushion of air is contained 

within the vessel. 

(22) "Imminent danger" means any condition or 

practice in any location that a boiler or pressure 

vessel is being operated such that a danger 

exists that could be expected to cause death or 

serious physical harm if the condition is not 

abated. 

(23) "Insurance inspector" means the special 

inspector employed by an insurance company, 
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and holding a valid North Carolina 

Commission and National Board Commission. 

(24) "Internal inspection" means as complete an 

examination as can be made of the internal and 

external surfaces and appurtenances of a boiler 

or pressure vessel while it is shut down. 

(25) "Maximum allowable working pressure" or 

"MAWP" means the maximum gauge pressure 

as determined by employing the stress values, 

design rules, and dimensions designated by the 

accepted design and construction code or as 

determined by the Chief Inspector in 

accordance with this Chapter. 

(26) "Menace to public safety" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that cannot be operated without 

a risk of injury to persons and property. 

(27) "Miniature boiler" means a boiler that does not 

exceed any of the following: 

(a) 16 inch inside shell diameter; 

(b) 20 square feet of heating surface (does 

not apply to electrically fired boilers); 

(c) 5 cubic feet volume; and 

(d) 100 psig maximum allowable working 

pressure. 

(28) "National Board Commission" means the 

commission issued by the National Board to 

those individuals who have passed the National 

Board commissioning examination and have 

fulfilled the requirements of the National Board 

Rules for Commissioned Inspectors. 

(29) "National Board Inspection Code" or "NBIC" 

means the ANSI/NB-23 standard published by 

the National Board, as incorporated by 

reference under Rule .0103 of this Chapter. 

(30) "Nondestructive examination" or "NDE" means 

examination methods used to verify the 

integrity of materials and welds in a component 

without damaging its structure or altering its 

mechanical properties. NDE may involve 

surface, subsurface, and volumetric 

examination. Visual inspection, x-rays, and 

ultrasound are examples of NDE. 

(31) "Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessels" 

means: 

(a) high pressure boilers contracted for or 

installed before December 7, 1935; 

(b) heating boilers contracted for or 

installed before January 1, 1951; 

(c) pressure vessels contracted for or 

installed before January 1, 1976; 

(d) hydropneumatic storage tanks 

contracted for or installed before 

January 1, 1986; and 

(e) boilers or pressure vessels to which the 

ASME Code is not intended to apply, 

other than those boilers and pressure 

vessels to which the term North 

Carolina Special applies. 

(32) "Normal working hours" means between the 

hours of 6:00 AM and 6:00 PM, Monday 

through Friday, except for State recognized 

holidays established in 25 NCAC 01E .0901. 

(33) "North Carolina Commission" means the 

commission issued by the Commissioner to 

those individuals who have passed the 

examination administered by the Chief 

Inspector relating to the Uniform Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Act and the rules of this 

Chapter, and who also hold a National Board 

Commission, authorizing them to conduct 

inspections in this State. 

(34) "North Carolina Special" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that is not constructed in 

compliance with the Accepted Design and 

Construction Code as defined in Item (1) of this 

Rule and for which the owner or operator user 

shall apply for a special inspection certificate 

with the Chief Inspector. 

(35) "NPS" means nominal pipe size. 

(36) "Nuclear component" means the items in a 

nuclear power plant such as pressure vessels, 

piping systems, pumps, valves, and component 

supports. 

(37) "Nuclear system" means a system comprised of 

nuclear components that serve the purpose of 

producing and controlling an output of thermal 

energy from nuclear fuel and includes those 

associated systems essential to the function and 

overall safety of the power system. 

(38) "Operating pressure" means the pressure at 

which a boiler or pressure vessel operates. It 

shall not exceed the MAWP except as shown in 

Section I of the ASME Code for forced-flow 

steam generators. 

(39) "Owner or user" means any person or legal 

entity responsible for the operation of any 

boiler or pressure vessel installed in this State. 

This term also applies to a contractor, installer, 

or agent of the owner or user. 

(40) "Owner-user inspector" means an individual 

who holds a valid North Carolina Commission 

and National Board Commission and is 

employed by a company operating pressure 

vessels for its own use and not for resale and 

maintaining an inspection program that meets 

the requirements of the National Board for 

periodic inspection of pressure vessels owned 

or used by that company. 

(41) "Pressure piping" means piping, including 

welded piping, external to high pressure boilers 

from the boiler proper to the required valve(s). 

(42) "Pressure relief devices" mean the devices on 

boilers and pressure vessels set to open and 

relieve the pressure in the event of an over-

pressurization event, and include the following: 

(a) "Non-reclosing pressure relief device" 

means a pressure relief device 
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designed to remain open after 

operation; and 

(b) "Pressure relief valve" means a 

pressure relief device that is designed 

to reclose and prevent the further flow 

of fluid after normal conditions have 

been restored. These devices include: 

(i) "Relief valve" means an 

automatic pressure relief 

valve that is actuated by 

static pressure upstream of 

the valve that opens further 

with the increase in pressure 

over the opening pressure; 

(ii) "Safety relief valve" means 

an automatic pressure relief 

valve that is actuated by 

static pressure upstream of 

the valve and characterized 

by full opening pop action or 

by opening in proportion to 

the increase in pressure over 

the opening pressure; and 

(iii) "Safety valve" means an 

automatic pressure relief 

valve that is actuated by 

static pressure upstream of 

the valve and characterized 

by full opening pop action. 

(43) "PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge. 

(44) "Reinspection or Follow-Up Inspection" means 

an examination necessary to verify that any 

repair or corrective action required as a result of 

a certificate inspection is completed. 

(45) "Service vehicle" means a vehicle mounted 

with an air storage tank that services vehicles 

and equipment in the field away from the 

owner's shop. 

(46) "Shop inspection" means an inspection 

conducted by an Authorized Inspector or a 

Commissioned Inspector pursuant to an 

inspection service agreement whereby the 

fabrication process or the repair or alteration of 

a boiler or pressure vessel is observed to ensure 

compliance with the ASME Code and the 

NBIC. 

(47) "Special inspection" means any inspection 

conducted by a Deputy Inspector other than a 

regularly scheduled inspection, including the 

performance of an inspection by a Deputy 

Inspector that requires that the inspector make 

a special trip to meet the needs of the individual 

or organization requesting the inspection, 

conducting certificate inspections during hours 

other than normal working hours, and 

inspection of field repairs and alterations. A 

special inspection may be considered any 

inspection or activity not otherwise described in 

these Rules. 

(48) "Special inspector" means a National Board 

commissioned inspector employed by an 

insurance company authorized to write boiler 

and pressure vessel insurance in the State of 

North Carolina. 

(49) "Violation" means the failure to comply with 

the requirements of the Uniform Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Act or this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0103 INCORPORATED - STANDARDS 

(a)  The following standards are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions of the standards: 

(1) The ANSI/NB-23 National Board Inspection 

Code (NBIC) Parts 2, 3, and 4. Copies of the 

ANSI/NB-23 National Board Inspection Code 

Parts 2, 3, and 4 are available for inspection at 

the offices of the Bureau and may also be 

obtained from the National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, via U.S. Mail at 

1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43229, 

via telephone at (614) 888-8320, or via the 

internet at www.nationalboard.org. The costs, 

which does not include shipping and handling, 

are as follows: 

(A) Complete Set (printed or PDF), Parts 

1-4: $325.00; 

(B) Individual (printed), Part 2: $150.00; 

(C) Individual (printed), Part 3: $150.00; 

(D) Individual (printed), Part 4: $115.00; 

or 

(E) Bundled Set (printed and PDF), Parts 

1-4: $435.00. 

(2) The American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Code. Copies of the complete set of the ASME 

Code are available for inspection at the offices 

of the Bureau and may also be obtained from 

the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 

via U.S. Mail at 150 Clove Road, 6th Floor, 

Little Falls, New Jersey 07424-2139, via 

telephone at (800) 843-2763, via facsimile at 

(973) 882-1717 or (800) 843-2763, via email at 

customercare@asme.org, or via the internet at 

www.asme.org. The cost is seventeen thousand 

nine hundred and forty-five dollars ($17,945) 

twenty thousand one hundred ninety dollars 

($20,190). for the complete 2021 edition of the 

code. 

(3) The North Carolina State Building Code. 

Copies of the North Carolina State Building 

Code are available for inspection at the offices 

of the Bureau and may also be obtained from 

the North Carolina Department of Insurance, 

Office of the State Fire Marshal, Engineering & 

Codes, 325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, 

North Carolina, 27603 1429 Rock Quarry 

Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27610. The cost 
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of a North Carolina State Building Code, 2018 

edition, is one hundred twenty nine dollars 

($129.00) for walk-in clients; prices differ for 

digital versions, when ordering online, and for 

members of the International Code Council. 

The codes may be ordered via the internet at 

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes. 

(b)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict 

between these Rules and the standards cited in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) and (2) of this Rule exists. In the event that a conflict 

between these Rules and the North Carolina State Building Code 

exists, the more stringent standard prevails and shall be adhered 

to. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0202 INSPECTOR QUALIFICATION 

(a)  Deputy Inspectors conducting certificate inspections shall be 

in possession of a valid North Carolina Commission. Deputy 

Inspectors, Special Inspectors and Owner-User Inspectors 

conducting in-service inspections shall be in possession of a valid 

National Board In-Service Commission and a valid North 

Carolina Commission. 

(b)  A North Carolina Commission shall be issued to an inspector 

who: 

(1) has attained a passing grade of 70 percent or 

higher on an examination administered by the 

Chief Inspector relating to the Uniform Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Act and the rules of this 

Chapter; and 

(2) meets all other criteria as set forth in the 

Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act and 

this Chapter. 

(c)  If a North Carolina Commissioned inspector does not conduct 

at least one certificate inspection in North Carolina per calendar 

year, the inspector must retake and pass this examination before 

becoming commissioned again in this State. A certificate 

inspection shall be an inspection as described in Rule .0211 of this 

Chapter. 

(d)  National Board examinations are administered by the 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. 

Information on the examinations may be found on the National 

Board web site at www.nationalboard.org or by telephone at (614) 

888-8320. 

(e)  The National Board Inservice Inspector examination covers 

the installation, operation, and inspection of boilers and pressure 

vessels and their appurtenances. A grade of 70 percent or higher 

must be attained to achieve a passing grade on the examination. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.15. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA 

COMMISSION 

(a)  When requested by the employer and upon presentation of a 

completed Application for Commission as an Inspector of Boilers 

and Pressure Vessels, a North Carolina Commission, bearing the 

signature of the Commissioner or Chief Inspector, shall be issued 

by the Chief Inspector to persons holding a valid National Board 

Commission who have taken and passed the examination 

specified in 13 NCAC 13 .0202(b). 

(b)  Applications for a North Carolina Commission shall be 

processed upon proof of a National Board Commission and 

payment of a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) fee to the Department of 

Labor. 

(c)  North Carolina Commissions shall be valid on an annual basis 

through December 31, at which time the inspector's employer 

shall submit a renewal request letter and a thirty-five dollar 

($35.00) fee to the Department of Labor. 

(d)  The North Carolina Commission shall be returned by the 

employing company shall immediately notify the Chief Inspector 

of the termination of any employee in possession of a North 

Carolina Commission. with notification of termination date to the 

Bureau within 30 days of termination of employment. 

(e)  A North Carolina Commission may be suspended or revoked 

by the Commissioner in accordance with G.S. 95-69.11(20). 

Failure to conduct inspections in accordance with this Chapter 

shall constitute incompetence. Falsification of any statement in an 

application or inspection report, including a failure to inspect, 

shall constitute dishonesty. Suspension or revocation of a North 

Carolina Commission shall be based on evidence of incompetence 

or dishonesty. 

(f)  The Commissioner shall give notice of the commencement of 

proceedings for suspension or revocation of a commission 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23. A North Carolina Commission may be 

suspended prior to the hearing if the Chief Inspector determines 

that, as a result of an inspector incompetence or dishonesty, the 

public health, safety, or welfare, is put at risk, the proceedings 

shall be promptly commenced and determined in accordance with 

G.S. 150B-3. The Commissioner's decision regarding the 

competency of an inspector shall be determined after comparing 

the inspector's knowledge, skill, and care taken during inspections 

with that possessed and employed by boiler and pressure vessel 

inspection personnel in good standing. Industry custom and 

practice shall be considered but are not determinative. The 

Commissioner shall give the inspector opportunity to show that 

he or she is conducting his or her duties in a competent manner 

and that suspension or revocation is unwarranted. If the inspector 

believes that the decision of the Commissioner is not warranted, 

the inspector may take exception to the determination, in which 

event the inspector may appeal the final determination of the 

action pursuant to G.S. 150B. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.15. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0207 INSPECTION REPORTS 

(a)  Inspectors shall file inspection reports with the Chief 

Inspector: 

(1) within 10 working days after the date each 

inspection is performed; 

(2) immediately for all conditions of imminent 

danger, or any condition that would result in the 

insurance company's refusal to issue or 

continue an insurance policy on the boiler or 

pressure vessel; and 
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(3) shall include the insurance policy identifier 

covering any equipment inspected by a special 

inspector. inspector; and 

(4) shall include comments or indications as to the 

condition of items inspected and the results of 

any testing performed. 

(b)  Inspectors shall notify the Chief Inspector , in person or by 

electronic means, immediately upon becoming aware of an 

accident which renders a boiler or pressure vessel inoperative or 

causes damage to property, personal injury, or death. 

(c)  Should the inspector, during the course of making an 

inspection, find a condition of imminent danger, he they shall 

immediately notify the Chief Inspector, in person or by electronic 

means, so that steps might be taken to remove the device from 

service. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0208 INSURANCE COMPANIES TO 

NOTIFY CHIEF INSPECTOR 

(a)  All insurance companies shall notify the Chief Inspector 

within 30 10 working days if any of the following actions are 

taken concerning boiler or pressure vessels: 

(1) the issuance of a policy; 

(2) the cancellation of a policy; or 

(3) removal of a boiler or pressure vessel from 

service. 

(b)  All insurance companies shall notify the Chief Inspector 

within 10 working days regarding the non-renewal or suspension 

of a policy because of unsafe conditions. 

(c)  Notification for items listed under Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

shall be made by using the National Board form NB-4, or a form 

method determined by the Chief Inspector to be equivalent to the 

National Board form. Notifications under Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule shall be made by telephone at (919) 707-7918, email at 

boiler.safety@labor.nc.gov or overnight mail to 1101 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 or package delivery 

service to the Boiler Safety Bureau, 4 West Edenton Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27601. All notifications shall include reference to the 

following: 

(1) Object, date of service and effective date; 

(2) Owner's number; 

(3) Jurisdiction number; 

(4) National Board number; 

(5) Name of manufacturer; 

(6) Name of owner including county; 

(7) Location of object including county; 

(8) User of object; 

(9) Date of last inspection for certificate; 

(10) Whether or not a certificate of inspection was 

issued; and 

(11) Reason for discontinuance or cancellation. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0210 SHOP INSPECTIONS AND 

NATIONAL BOARD "R" CERTIFICATE 

QUALIFICATION REVIEWS 

(a)  Shop Inspections. 

(1) Manufacturers or repair firms seeking to 

employ the Boiler Safety Bureau to act as their 

Authorized Inspection Agency pursuant to the 

ASME Code or National Board Inspection 

Code, shall enter into a written agreement with 

the North Carolina Department of Labor, Boiler 

Safety Bureau for this purpose. 

(2) An audit of the Deputy Inspector serving as the 

Authorized Inspector pursuant to Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule, and the contracting company 

in which he or she is working shall be 

conducted on an annual basis. The contracting 

company shall pay the audit fees required in 

Rule .0213 of this Section. 

(b)  National Board "R" Certificate Qualification Reviews 

(1) The Chief Inspector, or the Chief Inspector's 

designee, shall conduct the qualification 

reviews for issuance or renewal of the National 

Board "R" certificate of authorization pursuant 

to the National Board Inspection Code as 

adopted, except as provided in Subparagraph 

(b)(2) of this Rule. In the event the Chief 

Inspector or their designee is unable to conduct 

qualification reviews, the National Board will 

take over such responsibilities. 

(2) The Chief Inspector or his designee shall not 

conduct the qualification reviews of those 

companies for which the Boiler Safety Bureau 

provides inspection services, or those 

companies which specifically request the 

review be conducted by the National Board. 

(3) A review to be conducted by the Boiler Safety 

Bureau shall be scheduled upon receipt of 

request by the National Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0211 CERTIFICATE INSPECTIONS 

(a)  A commissioned inspector shall inspect perform a direct in-

person inspection all boilers and pressure vessels at the time of 

installation and at regular intervals thereafter, as provided in this 

Rule. 

(b)  Subject to the exceptions in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this 

Rule, and after seven days' notice is given to the owner or user, an 

inspector shall conduct an internal inspection of a high pressure 

boiler at the time of installation and annually thereafter. An 

external inspection shall be conducted a minimum of once every 

12 months while the boiler is in operation. The inspector shall 

ensure that the safety controls are operating as required. Issuance 

of the inspection certificate shall be based on the results of the 

internal inspection; however, if the inspector determines during 

the external inspection that an imminent danger exists, the 

inspector shall notify the Chief Inspector pursuant to 13 NCAC 

13 .0301(d). 

(c)  In place of the first internal inspection of a new high pressure 

boiler, an inspector may conduct an external inspection if the 

inspector determines that data sufficient to determine compliance 

with the rules of this Chapter can be gathered from an external 
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inspection. This shall not apply to relocated used boilers or those 

for which extended inspection certificates are being requested. 

(d)  Miniature boilers, boilers and coil-type watertube boilers, 

boilers and boilers heating a fluid other than water which do not 

produce steam or vapor operating as high pressure boilers shall 

undergo an external inspection annually. annually while in 

operation. Miniature boilers, boilers and coil-type watertube 

boilers, boilers and boilers heating a fluid other than water 

operating as heating boilers shall undergo an external inspection 

biennially. biennially while in operation. Hobby boilers, 

locomotive boilers, and exhibition boilers shall be inspected 

annually, at the beginning of the season when they are anticipated 

to be operated. 

(e)  Boilers heating a fluid other than water that do not produce 

steam or vapor operating as high pressure boilers, shall undergo 

an external inspection annually while in operation. Boilers heating 

a fluid other than water operating as heating boilers, shall undergo 

an external inspection biennially while in operation. 

(f)  Hobby boilers, locomotive boilers, and exhibition boilers shall 

be inspected annually, at the beginning of the season when they 

are anticipated to be operated, in accordance with the 

requirements of the National Board Inspection Code, as 

applicable. 

(e)(g)  Low pressure boilers and pressure vessels, except 

hydropneumatic storage tanks, shall undergo an external 

inspection biennially while in operation. 

(f)(h)  Owner-user inspectors shall conduct inspections for 

pressure vessels as prescribed in this Rule. 

(g)(i)  Inspectors may order coverings removed, internal 

inspections, external inspections, removal of internal parts, testing 

or calibration of controls, indicating and safety devices and 

pressure tests whenever conditions warrant further evaluation of 

the pressure equipment. The inspector may also require the boiler 

to be started to verify the operating controls. 

(h)(j)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall undergo an external 

inspection every four years while in operation. 

(i)(k)  When the inspector or Chief Inspector determines that a 

certificate cannot be issued as a result of an inspection, the boiler 

or pressure vessel shall be reinspected after the necessary repairs 

are made. 

(j)(l)  Inspections shall be conducted in accordance with the 

National Board Inspection Code. The inspector may require 

controls, indicating, and safety devices to be disassembled, tested, 

checked, or calibrated as necessary to ensure their proper 

operation. 

(k)(m)  The Chief Inspector may extend an existing inspection 

certificate for a high pressure boiler for a period not exceeding 90 

days beyond the certificate expiration date. The owner or user 

shall submit a written request to extend an existing inspection 

certificate, providing justification for an extension. The request 

shall include a report from a commissioned inspector of an 

external inspection which shall have been conducted no earlier 

than 60 days before the certificate expiration date, and the 

inspection report shall include a recommendation from the 

inspector for an extension to the inspection certificate. 

(l)(n)  The inspection frequency established by this Rule may be 

modified by the Chief Inspector for individual boilers and 

pressure vessels if the Chief Inspector determines the frequency 

established herein is not appropriate, and that the safety attained 

by the normal inspection frequency will be otherwise obtained. 

Requirements for extended certificates for pressure equipment are 

detailed in Rule .0214 of this Chapter. Pressure vessels in "Locked 

High Radiation" areas may be certified for up to five years and 

may be inspected in accordance with Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 

(o)  Pressure vessels in "Locked High Radiation" areas may be 

certified for up to five years and may be inspected in accordance 

with Paragraph (p) of this Rule. 

(m)(p)  With prior approval from the Chief Inspector, pressure 

retaining items which contain highly hazardous chemicals or 

biological elements that require level B personal protective 

equipment, or are in highly hazardous areas or pressure retaining 

items containing radioactive materials causing the pressure 

equipment to be classified as "Locked High Radiation," may be 

inspected remotely by live video provided: 

(1) there is a listing of all the items under this 

criterion at the site. The list shall be kept current 

by the owner/user and any additions or 

deletions shall be kept current. Prior to 

inspection the inspector shall review the last 

inspection certificate, the ASME data report, 

any National Board ("NB") repair/alteration 

forms and any records of testing performed 

during the certificate period; 

(2) each item shall be inspected by means of live 

video feed that is monitored by the inspector. 

The inspector shall remain in radio contact with 

the individual operating the video equipment; 

(3) the inspector shall be in proximity to the item 

and shall witness the video equipment operator 

enter the location of the item; 

(4) a scan as complete as possible (within the 

limitations of the equipment) of all the pressure 

boundaries shall be witnessed by the inspector; 

(5) the ASME nameplate shall be viewed as well as 

the ASME/NB nameplate on any pressure 

relieving device on the item; 

(6) follow up inspections to verify the correction of 

deficiencies can be performed with a video 

inspection using the items outlined herein by 

the inspector; 

(7) the inspector shall submit an inspection report 

for each pressure retaining item at intervals 

specified in this Rule and the report shall be 

annotated indicating that the item was inspected 

pursuant to this Paragraph; and 

(8) any incident that renders the item inoperative 

shall be reported to the Bureau by the 

owner/user or the inspector within 24 hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14; 95-69.17. 
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13 NCAC 13 .0213 CERTIFICATE AND INSPECTION FEES 

(a)  An owner or user, or insurance company, shall pay a fifty dollar ($50.00) certificate and processing fee to the North Carolina 

Department of Labor for each boiler or pressure vessel inspected certificate inspection performed by an Insurance Inspector and found 

to be in compliance with the rules in this Chapter. 

(b)  An owner or user shall pay an inspection and certificate fee to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each boiler or pressure 

vessel inspected by a Deputy Inspector as follows: 

 

Boilers - An inspection of a boiler where the heating surface is: External   Internal 

Less than 500 sq. ft.      $50.00   $85.00 

500 or more sq. ft. but less than 5000 sq. ft.    $120.00   $235.00 

5000 or more sq. ft.      $330.00   $600.00 

Cast iron boilers       $50.00   $80.00 

Locomotive boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $150.00 

Exhibition boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $50.00 

Hobby boilers       N/A   $50.00 

Pressure Vessels - An inspection of a pressure vessel, other than a 

heat exchanger, where the product of measurement in feet of the 

diameter or width, multiplied by its length is:   External   Internal 

Less than 50       $50.00   $60.00 

50 or more but less than 70     $85.00   $135.00 

70 or more       $135.00   $190.00 

Heat Exchangers - An inspection of a heat exchanger, where the 

heating surface is:      External 

500 or more sq. ft. but less than 1000 sq. ft.    $60.00 

Less than 500 sq. ft.      $50.00 

1000 or more sq. ft. but less than 2000 sq. ft.    $90.00 

2000 or more sq. ft. but less than 3000 sq. ft.    $130.00 

3000 or more sq. ft.      $180.00 

 

(c)  In addition to the fees established in Paragraph (b) herein, a 

fee of ninety dollars ($90.00) per hour, including travel time, plus 

each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the standards 

and criteria established thereto by the Office of State Budget and 

Management's State Budget Director, at the applicable state rate 

shall be paid to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each 

special inspection as defined by 13 NCAC 13 .0101(46) .0101(47) 

and for all inspections performed outside of normal working hours 

as defined by 13 NCAC 13 .0101(31) .0101(32). 

(d)  A fee of three-hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) per one-half 

day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or five-hundred sixty-

dollars ($560.00) for one day (four to eight hours) plus, in either 

case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the 

standards and criteria established thereto by the Office of State 

Budget and Management's State Budget Director, at the 

applicable state rate shall be paid to the North Carolina 

Department of Labor for each shop inspection as defined by 13 

NCAC 13 .0101(45) .0101(46). 

(e)  A fee of four hundred fifty dollars ($450.00) per one-half day 

(four hours) or any part of one-half day or six hundred ninety 

dollars ($690.00) for one day (four to eight hours), plus, in either 

case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the 

standards and criteria established thereto by the Office of State 

Budget and Management's State Budget Director, at the 

applicable state rate shall be paid to the North Carolina 

Department of Labor for audits as defined by 13 NCAC 13 

.0101(4). 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0214 EXTENDED PRESSURE 

EQUIPMENT OPERATING CERTIFICATES 

(a)  G.S. 95-69.16 and 13 NCAC 13 .0211(1) .0211(m) of this 

Chapter allows the Commissioner, as delegated to the Chief 

Inspector, to modify the inspection frequency for individual 

pressure equipment if it is determined that the new frequency will 

provide for the safety attained by the normal inspection frequency 

as defined in this Chapter. Maintenance programs, the condition 

of the pressure equipment, and a baseline inspection help to 

determine if the equipment is eligible for extended certification. 

The Chief Inspector may allow certificate renewal frequencies of 

up to three years. Companies wishing to have their pressure 

equipment given an extended certification must apply by letter to 

the Chief Inspector requesting extended certification. 

(b)  For a first time extended inspection frequency, the following 

shall apply to both new and existing equipment: 

(1) Base Line Inspections: At the outset of an 

extended inspection frequency, a base line 

inspection must be conducted of all inside and 

outside accessible pressure boundaries. The 

inspected area shall be examined visually by a 

North Carolina Department of Labor, Boiler 

Safety Bureau Inspector Supervisor along with 

a Deputy Inspector for evidence of cracking, 

discoloration, wear, pitting, bulging, blistering, 

corrosion and erosion, arc strikes, gouges, 

dents, and other signs of surface irregularities. 

Areas that are suspect shall be non-

destructively examined, as defined in this 

Chapter, by a method acceptable to the 
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Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector. For 

areas that are still suspect after such 

examination, a more thorough supplemental 

examination and engineering evaluation of the 

discontinuities shall be conducted and 

discussed with the Chief Inspector or designee; 

(2) Inspection Mapping and Records: An 

inspection grid map shall be constructed for 

each pressure component detailing the areas 

found suspect. The grid shall not exceed four 

inch square. Suspect area shall be described in 

detail and photographs of such areas shall be 

taken. These records shall be kept and made 

available to the Deputy Inspector prior to the 

next required inspection; 

(3) Base Line Inspection of Boiler Tubes: The 

boiler tubes shall be examined by 

nondestructive examination. Tubes shall be 

examined for wear, corrosion, erosion, 

thinning, bulging, blistering, dents, 

discoloration, cracking and any other surface 

irregularities. Areas that are suspect shall be 

noted and discussed with the Inspector 

Supervisor and Deputy Inspector; and 

(4) Boiler Tube Inspection Mapping and Record: 

Where suspect tubes are identified, the boiler 

tubes shall be numbered in a logical sequence 

and the location of any suspect area shall be 

precisely defined and described in detail. 

Photographs of such areas shall be taken. These 

records shall be kept and made available to the 

Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector 

prior to the next required inspection. 

(c)  Scheduling of Inspections for Extended Certificate: 

Approximately two months prior to a scheduled outage in which 

the boiler pressure equipment can be inspected, and prior to the 

current certificate expiration, the owner or user shall do the 

following in order to initiate the inspection process: 

(1) Send a letter addressed to the Chief Inspector 

requesting the extended certificate; 

(2) Contact the North Carolina Department of 

Labor, Boiler Safety Bureau at 919-707-7918 

and request to speak with an Inspector 

Supervisor for the purpose of scheduling the 

inspections required for extending the boiler 

inspection certificate expiration for to up to 36 

months; and 

(3) Agree with the Inspector Supervisor and 

Deputy Inspector on a date to meet for the 

external inspection of the boiler pressure 

equipment and to review reports. The boiler 

pressure equipment must be operating when the 

external inspection is done. Heat recovery 

boilers with less than one percent capacity 

factor per year may be excluded from the need 

to operate during the external inspection but a 

letter requesting the exclusion must be sent to 

the Chief Inspector stating the capacity factor 

for the year before such an exclusion request 

can be granted. 

(d)  External Inspection: All report forms may be obtained from 

either NBIC or ASME. The following reports must be available 

to the Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector at the external 

inspection: 

(1) NBIC R1 forms Form R Reports for the past 

five years for initial inspections and since the 

previous inspection for renewals; 

(2) A list of alterations scheduled, and those 

alterations done since the last internal 

inspection with the NBIC R2 R-2 forms; 

(3) Safety valve testing and repair reports for the 

past five years for initial inspections and since 

the previous inspection for renewals; 

(4) Fitness for Service reports for headers for the 

past five years for initial inspections and since 

the previous inspection for renewals. All 

Fitness for Service reports shall be documented 

on the National Board Form NB-403 or other 

created form that includes all information 

required on the Form NB-403; 

(5) Side elevation drawing of the boiler pressure 

equipment (8 ½ inches by 11 inches); 

(6) Steam & Mud drums - Original drum thickness, 

drawings, and manufacturer's data reports if 

available; 

(7) Copy of the last operating certificate and copies 

of the last three years of inspection reports; 

(8) Reports of annual external inspections by 

owner's the owner or user's insurance company 

or a Boiler Safety Bureau Deputy Inspector. 

(e)  Equipment inspection requirements during outage or shut-

down: 

(1) An operational test for all safety valves shall be 

conducted after the equipment has been 

restarted. After the operational test, the 

organization performing the test shall affix an 

updated inspection tag to the valve. The Deputy 

Inspector shall verify the updated inspection tag 

and review any associated test report. In lieu of 

operational tests, it is acceptable to replace 

safety valves with new valves or valves 

reworked by a National Board "VR" or "NVR" 

authorized company; 

(2) Inspect the pressure equipment internally; and 

(3) Inspect the drums and shells using the 

following methods: 

(A) Examine penetrations into the drum or 

shell wall for cracking: if the nozzles 

are visible from inside the drum or 

shell, then a visual examination is 

satisfactory; otherwise ultrasonically 

examine the nozzles, from the outside 

surface, of at least 20 percent of the 

pressure equipment nozzles; 

(B) Visually examine inside the heads; 

and 
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(C) When access permits, crawl through 

the drum or shell for a visual 

examination. 

(f)  Setting the Certificate Interval: If the requirements of this Rule 

are met, the Deputy Inspector shall submit an inspection report to 

the Chief Inspector with the recommendation for the extended 

certificate. 

(g)  Follow-up and Interim Inspections: External inspections of 

high pressure boilers are required six months after the certificate 

renewal, and then annually thereafter. The external inspections 

may be performed by the Boiler Safety Bureau Deputy Inspectors 

or by the owner's owner or user's insurance inspector. The results 

of the inspection shall be documented on an inspection report and 

submitted to the Chief Inspector, North Carolina Department of 

Labor, Boiler Safety Bureau. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14; 95-69.16. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ENFORCEMENT OF STANDARDS 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0301 INSPECTION 

DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  The inspector shall document the condition of the pressure 

equipment, items inspected, and the results of the inspection on a 

written inspection report or in an electronic format recognized by 

the Chief Inspector. 

(b)  If the inspector finds that the boiler or pressure vessel is in 

compliance with the rules in this Chapter, he they shall indicate 

on the report that the boiler or pressure vessel is satisfactory. 

(c)  If the inspector finds the boiler or pressure vessel is not in 

compliance with the rules in this Chapter, he they shall specify on 

the inspection report the deficiencies and the required repairs or 

corrective action. 

(d)  The inspector shall determine if the deficiency is such that 

operation of the boiler or pressure vessel creates a condition of 

imminent danger. If a condition of imminent danger exists, the 

inspector shall state on the inspection report that operation of the 

boiler or pressure vessel is to cease until completion of the 

necessary repairs or corrective action. The inspector shall notify 

the Chief Inspector upon discovery of any condition of imminent 

danger. 

(e)  If the condition of the boiler or pressure vessel is such that 

repairs or corrective action cannot bring the boiler or pressure 

vessel into compliance, the inspector shall recommend to the 

Chief Inspector that the boiler or pressure vessel be condemned 

from further use. 

(f)  For inspections revealing deficiencies, the inspector shall 

provide the owner/user contact with specific information 

regarding the violation. The Bureau shall generate a Notice of 

Violation letter and send to the owner/user. The Notice of 

Violation shall outline the violation(s), the required corrective 

action, and the date by which the corrective action shall be 

completed. 

(g)  The Bureau shall issue an invoice to the owner or user user, 

or their insurance company, for the inspections made and for 

issuance of the inspection certificate. The owner or user or 

insurance company, shall remit payment as indicated on the 

invoice within 30 days to the North Carolina Department of 

Labor. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.16. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0302 CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE 

(a)  The Chief Inspector shall issue an inspection certificate to the 

owner/user, upon receipt of payment, when the boiler or pressure 

vessel is found to be in compliance with this Chapter. 

(b)  The owner or user shall post the inspection certificate under 

protective cover in a prominent place visible to the operator while 

reading the pressure, or if a pressure gauge is not required to be 

installed, while observing operation of the boiler or pressure 

vessel, unless environmental conditions or proprietary reasons 

make it impracticable. The certificate shall be maintained in a 

readily retrievable location if the conditions make it impracticable 

to post. 

(c)  If the Chief Inspector determines that a boiler or pressure 

vessel is exposing the public to an unsafe condition likely to result 

in serious personal injury or property damage, the Chief Inspector 

may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke, suspend or amend an 

inspection certificate; provided, however, that whenever any 

action is taken under this Paragraph, the affected party shall be 

given notice of the availability of an administrative hearing and 

of judicial review in accordance with Chapter 150B of the N.C. 

General Statutes. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.17. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0303 INSPECTIONS REVEALING 

DEFICIENCIES 

(a)  After a violation or deficiency has been reported by a 

Commissioned Inspector, the owner or user shall complete any 

required repairs or corrective action and request a reinspection or 

follow-up inspection as defined in this Chapter within 60 calendar 

days of the inspection, except in cases where the boiler or pressure 

vessel is removed from service, in which case the owner or user 

shall send in written confirmation, signed by the owner or user, 

that use of the boiler or pressure vessel has been discontinued and 

that the boiler or pressure vessel has been removed from the 

source of energy. 

(b)  Upon notification by the inspector of a boiler or pressure 

vessel for which continued operation creates a condition of 

imminent danger as defined in this Chapter, the Chief Inspector 

shall notify the owner or user by written notification within 15 

calendar days stating that the use of the boiler or pressure vessel 

shall be discontinued. 

(c)  The owner or user may continue operation of the boiler or 

pressure vessel, including those boilers or pressure vessels that are 

condemned, during the 60 calendar day period noted in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, except that this provision shall not apply to boilers 

and pressure vessels after notification by the Chief Inspector to 

the owner or user that a condition of imminent danger exists as 

noted in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  After completion of any required repairs or corrective action, 

the boiler or pressure vessel shall be reinspected to the extent 

necessary to verify satisfactory completion of the required repairs 

or corrective action. 

(e)  An owner or user shall pay a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) to 

the North Carolina Department of Labor for each reinspection or 

follow-up inspection conducted by Deputy Inspectors. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

39:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2024 

28 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0304 APPEALS 

(a)  If the owner or user believes that the recommendations of the 

inspector are not warranted, he they may request a review by the 

Chief Inspector within 15 days of the inspection. The Chief 

Inspector shall notify the owner or user of his the decision in 

writing within 15 days of receipt of a request for a decision. 

(b)  If the owner or user believes that the decision of the Chief 

Inspector is not warranted he they may file for a contested case 

hearing pursuant to Article 3 of Chapter 150B of the N.C. General 

Statutes. 

(c)  After verbal notification from the Chief Inspector that a 

condition of imminent danger exists, the owner or user shall not 

operate the boiler or pressure vessel, however, the owner or user 

may file for a contested case hearing pursuant to Article 3 of 

Chapter 150B of the N.C. General Statutes. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.17. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0305 MENACE TO PUBLIC SAFETY 

NOTICE 

(a)  The Chief Inspector or his designee may post a menace to 

public safety notice on the boiler or pressure vessel: 

(1) if the owner or user fails to request a 

reinspection within 60 days of an inspection 

during which deficiencies were noted; 

(2) upon verbal notification by the Chief Inspector 

regarding an inspection whereby the inspector 

identified a condition of imminent danger; or 

(3) within 15 days after the Chief Inspector renders 

a decision regarding an appealed decision. 

(b)  The notice described in this Rule shall be posted on the boiler 

or pressure vessel and in the establishment where the boiler or 

pressure vessel is being used so that it may be easily read by 

members of the public and employees. 

(c)  The menace to public safety notice shall not be removed, 

rendered illegible or inaccessible, or otherwise obliterated except 

with the approval of the Chief Inspector. 

(d)  The Chief Inspector shall notify the Commissioner of Labor 

regarding action pursuant to G.S. 95-69.19. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.17. 

 

SECTION .0400 – GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0401 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 

STANDARDS 

(a)  The design, construction, installation, inspection, stamping, 

certification, and operation of all boilers and pressure vessels shall 

conform to the rules in this Chapter and the Accepted Design and 

Construction Code as defined in this Chapter. 

(b)  Repairs and alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall 

conform to the requirements of the National Board Inspection 

Code, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(c)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict is 

found to exist between the Rules and the accepted design and 

construction code or the National Board Inspection Code. 

(d)  Welded repairs and alterations shall be made only by an 

individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate of 

authorization for use of the National Board "R" symbol stamp, 

except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. Repairs and 

alterations shall be reported on National Board Form R Reports 

"R1" and "R2" reports respectively, as required by the NBIC. 

These reports are available through the National Board of Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. The reports, along with 

supplements used, shall be submitted to the Chief Inspector within 

60 days of the completion of the work conducted. Repair and 

alteration reports shall be annotated with the NC identification 

number for the pressure equipment repaired. 

(e)  In such cases where removal of a defect in a pressure-retaining 

item is not practical at the time of discovery, the repair shall be 

conducted in compliance with the NBIC, Part 3 Repairs and 

Alterations, Repair of Pressure-Retaining Items Without 

Complete Removal of Defects. The Chief Inspector shall be 

contacted for approval of the use of this repair method. 

(f)  Repairs of safety valves or safety relief valves shall be made 

by an individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate 

of authorization for use of the National Board "VR" symbol 

stamp. 

(g)  Welded repairs and alterations to exhibition (historical) 

boilers of riveted or welded construction may be conducted by a 

welder who has been qualified in accordance with the ASME 

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section IX, Welding and 

Brazing Qualifications. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0405 PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES 

(a)  Boilers and pressure vessels shall be protected from 

overpressurization by a pressure relief device. All pressure relief 

devices installed on any boiler or pressure vessel shall be 

constructed and stamped in accordance with the Accepted Design 

and Construction Code as defined in Rule .0101 of this Chapter. 

(b)  All pressure relief devices shall be stamped and capacity 

certified by the manufacturer indicating compliance with the 

National Board. The stamping shall include the set pressure and 

the relieving capacity. 

(c)  High pressure boilers with over 500 square feet of heating 

surface and electrically fired boilers having an input in excess of 

1100 kW shall be provided with a minimum of two safety valves. 

For high pressure boilers with a combined bare tube and extended 

water-heating surface area exceeding 500 square feet, one safety 

valve is required if the design steam generating capacity of the 

boiler is less than 4,000 pounds of steam per hour. 

(d)  Safety valves and safety relief valves for heating boilers shall 

have a seat diameter of not less than ½ inch, and not more than 4 

½ inches. 

(e)  Pressure relief devices shall have a set pressure and relieving 

capacity in accordance with the requirements of the Accepted 

Design and Construction Code for the type of equipment on which 

the pressure relief device is installed. At least one pressure relief 

device shall have the set pressure set at not greater than the 

maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler or pressure 

vessel. The relieving capacity shall not be less than the minimum 

required relieving capacity indicated on the manufacturer's name 

plate or stamping, or as otherwise required by the Accepted 
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Design and Construction Code. Safety relief valves installed on 

tank-type potable water heaters or hot water storage vessels shall 

be of the combination temperature and pressure relieving type, 

type. Instantaneous and coil-type water heaters and hot water 

supply boilers shall be equipped with a safety relief valve of the 

combination temperature and pressure relieving type, or as 

otherwise permitted by the Accepted Design and Construction 

Code. Code for modular water heaters. 

(f)  All safety valves installed on high pressure boilers shall be 

installed on top of the boiler, or in the case of watertube boilers 

on top of the upper drum, with the spindle in the vertical position. 

All safety valves and safety relief valves installed on heating 

boilers shall be on top of the boiler or on an opening at the highest 

practicable part, as determined by industry standards, of the side 

of the boiler, but in no case shall the safety valve be installed 

below the normal operating level for a steam boiler. Safety valves 

and safety relief valves installed on hot water heating boilers, hot 

water supply boilers, and steam heating boilers shall be installed 

with the spindles mounted in the vertical position. Safety relief 

valves for water heaters may be installed with the spindles 

mounted in either the vertical or horizontal position. In no case 

may pressure relief devices be mounted on appurtenances, unless 

permitted by the Accepted Design and Construction Code. Code 

for modular heaters. 

(g)  The distance between the pressure relief device outlet nozzle 

on the boiler and the pressure relief device inlet shall be kept to a 

minimum consistent with the size of the pressure relief device and 

the pipe sizes required. In no case shall any valves or stops be 

installed in the inlet piping to the pressure relief device or in the 

discharge piping from the pressure relief device. The boiler outlet 

and the piping between the boiler outlet and the pressure relief 

device shall have a cross sectional area of not less than the cross 

sectional area of the pressure relief device inlet. 

(h)  Discharge piping from the pressure relief device outlet shall 

be the same size, or larger, than the outlet pipe connection on the 

pressure relief device and shall be extended full size to a safe 

location. A safe location shall be interpreted to mean a location 

within six inches of the finished floor of the mechanical room, to 

a location outside the building terminating a safe distance above 

the building roof or to a location outside the building within six 

inches above the finished grade. For vessels such as organic fluid 

heaters where the medium presents a hazard, the discharge shall 

be to a containment vessel large enough to hold all anticipated 

pressure relief discharges. When pressure relief device discharge 

piping is routed vertically, piped drainage shall be provided by the 

use of drip pan elbows installed on the outlet of each pressure 

relief device served. Discharge piping shall be designed to 

facilitate drainage or be fitted with drains to prevent liquid from 

lodging or collecting in the discharge side of the pressure relief 

device, and such piping shall lead to a safe location of discharge. 

(i)  Multiple pressure relief devices may be piped to the point of 

discharge using a common discharge header pipe. The header pipe 

size shall have a diameter sufficient to provide an equivalent 

cross-sectional area equal to or larger than the sum of the cross-

sectional areas of the pressure relief device outlets to which it is 

connected. 

(j)  Pressure relief devices on pressure vessels may be installed 

with the spindle in the vertical or horizontal position. The pressure 

relief device inlet, discharge piping, and the requirement for 

piping the discharge to a safe location shall be the same as noted 

for boilers. The requirement for discharge piping is optional for 

pressure vessels used to store compressed air, inert gasses gases, 

water, or other fluids no more hazardous than water. 

(k)  Pressure relief devices for direct fired pressure vessels and for 

those used as air compressor storage tanks shall be installed 

directly on the pressure vessel with no intervening valves. 

Pressure relief devices for all other pressure vessels may be 

installed directly on the pressure vessel or in the piping system 

unless the source of pressure is external to the vessel, and is under 

such direct positive control by the owner or user that the pressure 

cannot exceed the maximum overpressure permitted by the 

Accepted Design and Construction Code, and the pressure relief 

device cannot be isolated from the vessel, except as permitted by 

Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(l)  A full area stop valve that does not reduce the discharge 

capacity of the pressure relief device, may be installed between a 

pressure vessel and the pressure relief device if one of the 

following is satisfied: 

(1) the stop valve is normally locked or sealed in 

the open position, and may only be closed when 

there is an attendant stationed at all times at the 

stop valve when it is in the closed position for 

testing inspection, testing, or repair purposes; or 

(2) isolating the pressure relief device from the 

pressure vessel by closing the stop valve also 

isolates the pressure vessel from the source of 

pressure. 

(m)  Pressure relief devices shall be sealed to prevent the valve 

from being taken apart without breaking the seal. Pressure relief 

devices for boilers and pressure vessels containing air, water, or 

steam shall be provided with a test lever, pull test ring or other 

mechanism that may be used to test the operation of the valve. 

Pressure relief devices which are required to be provided with a 

testing mechanism shall be readily accessible for testing from the 

work platform or other means, such as a pull chain, shall be 

provided so that the pressure relief device can be tested from the 

work platform. 

(n)  When a hot water supply boiler or storage vessel is heated 

indirectly by steam or hot water in a coil or pipe, the pressure 

relief device capacity shall be determined by the heating surface 

available for heat transfer, and the pressure relief device shall not 

be less than 1 inch diameter. 

(o)  A person shall not: 

(1) attempt to remove, tamper, alter or conduct any 

work on any pressure relief device while the 

boiler or pressure vessel is in operation, except 

as permitted by the Accepted Design and 

Construction Code or the National Board 

Inspection Code; 

(2) load a pressure relief device in any manner to 

maintain a working pressure in excess of the 

maximum allowable working pressure as stated 

on the inspection certificate; 

(3) operate any boiler or pressure vessel without 

the safety appliances as described in this 

Chapter, the Accepted Design and Construction 

Code, and the National Board Inspection Code; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

39:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2024 

30 

(4) use a pressure relief device required by this 

Chapter as an operating pressure control; or 

(5) remove the seal and attempt to adjust or 

otherwise work on a pressure relief device 

unless the person or company removing the seal 

is an authorized holder of a National Board 

"VR" stamp. 

(p)  If an owner or user can demonstrate that a pressure vessel is 

operating in a system of such design that the maximum allowable 

working pressure cannot be exceeded, the Chief Inspector shall 

waive the requirement for installation of a pressure relief device 

if the pressure vessel meets the safety requirements greater than 

or equal to the level of protection afforded by this Chapter and the 

Accepted Design and Construction Code, and does not pose a 

danger to persons or property. This waiver shall only be granted 

when the source of pressure is under direct positive control of the 

owner or user of the pressure vessel. 

(q)  Pressure relief device piping shall be supported so that the 

piping is supported with no additional force being applied to the 

pressure relief device. 

(r)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall be provided with a relief 

valve of not less than ¾ inch NPS and rated in standard cubic feet 

per minute (SCFM). The relief valve shall be installed on top of 

the tank. This rule applies to any equipment or relief valves 

installed after January 1, 2009. 

(s)  Dead weight safety valves are prohibited from use on any 

boiler or pressure vessel regulated by this Chapter. 

(t)  When the minimum safety valve relieving capacity is not 

found on the data plate, the table in this Paragraph may be used to 

determine the required safety valve capacity for steam boilers. 

The factor noted in the table shall be multiplied by the heating 

surface of the boiler to determine required safety valve relieving 

capacity. When the table in this Paragraph is used for calculations, 

the additional requirements found in NBIC Part 4, Section 2 for 

calculating heating surface shall be utilized. 

 

Table-0405 Guide for Estimating Steaming Capacity Based on Heating Surface 

 Firetube Boilers Watertube Boilers 

Boiler heating surface: 

 Hand-fired 5 6 

 Stoker-fired 7 8 

 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel 8 10 

Waterwall heating surface: 

 Hand-fired 8 8 

 Stoker-fired 10 12 

 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel 14 16 

Copper-finned watertube 

 Hand-fired N/A 4 

 Stoker-fired N/A 5 

 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel-fired N/A 6 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0409 AUTOMATIC LOW-WATER 

FUEL CUTOFF CONTROLS AND WATER-FEEDING 

DEVICES 

(a)  Each automatically fired steam or vapor boiler, except 

miniature boilers, shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) Have at least two automatic low-water fuel 

cutoff devices; 

(2) One of the low-water fuel cutoff devices may 

also be used to regulate the normal water level; 

(3) Each cutoff device shall be installed to prevent 

startup and to shut down the boiler fuel or 

energy supply automatically when the surface 

of the water falls to a level not lower than the 

lowest visible part of the gauge glass; 

(4) One control shall be set to function ahead of the 

other. The lower fuel cutoff device shall be 

equipped with a manual reset which shall 

prevent the boiler from being fired after the low 

water limit has been reached until the operator 

resets the switch manually; and 

(5) The low-water fuel cutoffs shall be attached to 

the boiler or to the water column with no stops 

or valves. For float type low-water fuel cutoffs 

installed external to the boiler, each device shall 

be installed in individual chambers which shall 

be attached to the boiler by separate pipe 

connections below the waterline. If the low-

water fuel cutoff is connected to the boiler by 

pipe and fittings, no shut off valves of any type 

shall be placed in such pipe. A cross or 

equivalent fitting shall be placed at every right 

angle turn to facilitate cleaning. Piping from the 

boiler shall be not less than 1 inch NPS. Low-

water fuel cutoff designs embodying a float and 

float bowl shall have a vertical straightaway 

valved drain pipe of not less than ¾ inch NPS 

at the lowest point in the water-equalizing pipe 

connections by which the bowl and the 

equalizing pipe can be flushed and the device 

tested. 

(b)  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with heat 

input greater than 400,000 Btu/hr (117 kW) shall meet the 

following criteria: 

(1) Be protected by a low-water fuel cutoff 

intended for hot water service; 
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(2) The fuel cutoff device shall be installed to 

prevent startup and to shut down the boiler fuel 

or energy supply automatically when the 

surface of the water falls to a level not lower 

than the lowest safe permissible water level 

established by the boiler manufacturer; 

(3) The fuel cutoff device shall be equipped with a 

manual reset that shall prevent the boiler from 

being fired after the lowest water level has been 

reached until the operator resets the switch 

manually; 

(4) The low-water fuel cutoff installed in a hot 

water heating boiler system may be installed 

anywhere in the system above the lowest safe 

permissible water level established by the boiler 

manufacturer so long as there is no isolation 

valve installed between the device and the 

boiler. Connections to the system shall be not 

less than 1 inch NPS; manufacturer; and 

(5) Testing the operation of the low-water fuel 

cutoff on a hot water heating boiler system shall 

be provided without resorting to draining the 

entire system. Such testing shall not render the 

device inoperable , except as follows: 

(A) The device is temporarily inoperative 

during the testing; 

(B) The device automatically returns to 

operating condition; 

(C) The connection may be so arranged 

that the device cannot be isolated from 

the boiler except by a cock placed at 

the device and provided with a tee or 

lever handle arranged to be parallel to 

the piping in which it is located when 

the cock is open. 

(c)  As permitted by the Accepted Design and Construction Code, 

Coil coil type boilers or watertube boilers requiring forced 

circulation to prevent overheating of the coils or tubes may have 

a flow-sensing flow and/or temperature sensing device installed 

at or near the boiler proper, in lieu of a low-water fuel cutoff, to 

automatically cut off the fuel supply when the circulation of flow 

is interrupted. The flow and/or temperature sensing device shall 

be independent of all other controls and may be automatically 

reset when adequate flow is restored. If there is a definitive water 

line, a low-water fuel cutoff complying with Paragraph (a) or (b) 

of this Rule, as applicable, shall be provided in addition to the 

flow-sensing device. 

(d)  Electric boilers where uncovering of the electrical element 

can lead to a risk of damage to the boiler shall be equipped with a 

low-water fuel cutoff device. In the case of electrode type boilers, 

where the reduction in water level provides a self-limiting control 

on heat input, a low-water cutoff control is not required. 

(e)  Automatically fired boilers shall be provided with a system to 

automatically maintain a constant water level so that the water 

level cannot fall below the lowest safe water line. This constant 

water level system requirement shall not apply to hot water 

heating boilers used in closed-loop radiant floor heating systems 

when installed in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 

(f)  Low water fuel cutoff devices embodying a float and float 

bowl shall be installed so that the boiler feedwater or makeup 

water cannot be introduced through the float chamber. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0411 VALVES, DRAINS, AND 

BOTTOM BLOWOFFS 

(a)  High pressure boilers operating in excess of 100 psig must be 

provided with two stop valves for boiler blowoff and drain outlets. 

Any boiler having a common steam connection with another 

boiler, and having a manhole opening, shall be provided with two 

steam outlet stop valves with an ample free-blow drain or vent 

between the two stop valves. The discharge of this drain shall be 

visible to the operator while operating the valve. 

(b)  All boilers, except for coil-type water tube boilers, shall be 

provided with a drain outlet and stop valve of not less than 3/4 

inch NPS at the lowest water containing space, except that if the 

boiler is provided with a blowoff outlet at the lowest water 

containing space, an additional drain outlet is not required. 

(c)  High pressure boilers shall be provided with a bottom blowoff 

outlet and valve of not less than 1 inch NPS nor more than 2 1/2 

inches NPS, except as modified below: 

(1) Miniature high pressure boilers shall have a 

blowoff outlet of not less than 3/4 1/2 inch NPS; 

(2) Electric high pressure boilers not greater than 

200kW shall have a blowoff outlet of not less 

than 3/4 inch NPS; 

(3) High pressure boilers having a heating surface 

of 20 square feet or less shall have a blowoff of 

not less than a ½ inch; 

(3)(4) High pressure boilers having a heating surface 

greater than 20 square feet and not greater than 

100 square feet shall have a blowoff outlet of 

not less than 3/4 inch NPS; and 

(4)(5) All other high pressure boilers shall have a 

blowoff outlet of not less than 1 inch NPS. 

(d)  Steam heating boilers shall be provided with a bottom blowoff 

outlet and valve of not less than 1 inch NPS nor more than 2 1/2 

inches NPS, except as modified below: 

(1) Steam heating boilers having a minimum safety 

valve relieving capacity not exceeding 500 

pounds of steam per hour shall have a blowoff 

outlet of not less than 3/4 inch NPS; 

(2) Steam heating boilers having a minimum safety 

valve relieving capacity greater than 1205 1250 

pounds of steam per hour but not greater than 

2500 pounds of steam per hour shall have a 

blowoff outlet of not less than 1 1/4 inches 

NPS; 

(3) Steam heating boilers having a minimum safety 

valve relieving capacity greater than 2500 

pounds of steam per hour but not greater than 

6000 pounds of steam per hour shall have a 

blowoff outlet of not less than 1 1/2 inches 

NPS; 

(4) Steam heating boilers having a minimum safety 

valve relieving capacity greater than 6000 
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pounds of steam per hour shall have a blowoff 

outlet of not less than 2 inches NPS; and 

(5) All other steam heating boilers shall have a 

blowoff outlet of not less than 1 inch NPS. 

(e)  All blowoff from boilers shall discharge into a blowdown tank 

suitable for separating steam and water or shall be piped to 

prevent injury. Discharge directly to a sewer is prohibited. 

(f)  Valves for high pressure boilers shall be designed and 

constructed in accordance with the requirements of ASME 

Section I, and shall be stamped or embossed with the 

pressure/temperature rating of the valve. 

(g)  Valves for heating boilers shall be suitable for the operating 

pressure and temperature of the boiler. 

(h)  Pressure reducing valves shall be installed in the makeup 

water line where inlet supply water pressure is more than 75 

percent of the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler 

or pressure vessel. 

(i)  A shutoff valve shall be provided in the makeup water line 

next to each boiler and shall meet the following specifications: 

(1) Each steam heating boiler and hot water heating 

boiler shall be provided with a shutoff valve and 

a check valve. The shutoff valve shall be 

installed either upstream or downstream of the 

check valve; 

(2) Each high pressure boiler, except for high 

temperature water boilers, shall be provided 

with a shutoff valve and a check valve. The 

shutoff valve shall be installed between the 

check valve and the boiler; and 

(3) When two or more high pressure boilers are fed 

from a common source, there shall also be a 

globe or regulating valve in the branch to each 

boiler located between the check valve and the 

source of the supply. 

(j)  Pressure vessels subject to corrosion shall be equipped with a 

drain valve installed at the lowest point of the pressure vessel or 

by installation of an internal drain pipe installed not more than 1/4 

inch above the lowest internal surface. 

(k)  Automatic drain and blowoff valves for boilers may be 

installed when permitted by the Accepted Design and 

Construction Code, and shall be in accordance with the boiler 

manufacturer's recommendations and instructions. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0413 CLEARANCES 

(a)  All boilers and pressure vessels shall be located so that 

adequate space is provided for proper operation, including 

visibility of all gauges, for the inspection of all surfaces, tubes, 

waterwalls, economizers, piping, valves and other equipment, and 

for maintenance and repair, including replacement of tubes. 

Boiler clearances shall remain free of all items, including 

temporarily stored items, other than boiler piping and trim. Boiler 

piping and trim shall not impede access to the boiler. 

(b)  Adequate clearance for boilers and pressure vessels installed 

prior to January 1, 2009 shall not be less than the following: 

following, or as recommended by the manufacturer: 

(1) Three feet For the top and sides, of a minimum 

unobstructed clearance shall of 18 inches shall 

be provided provided. Clearance for the bottom 

shall conform to Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

between the boiler or pressure vessel on all 

service sides, and clearances as recommended 

by the manufacturer on all other sides. Service 

side shall be interpreted as any side, including 

the top, of a boiler or pressure vessel on which 

clearance is necessary to access operating 

controls, safety devices, drain and blowoff 

valves, or inspection openings. 

(2) Cabinet mounted boilers, such as those used 

primarily for process or cooking, and having a 

maximum input of 400,000 Btu/hr need only be 

provided with the unobstructed clearances 

recommended by the manufacturer. 

(c)  Adequate clearance for boilers and pressure vessels installed 

after January 1, 2009 shall not be less than the following: 

following, or as recommended by the manufacturer: 

(1) High-pressure steam boilers Boilers, except 

water heaters that exceed 5,000,000 Btu/hr 

input (1465 kW), 5,000 pounds of steam per 

hour capacity or a 1,000-square-foot heating 

surface shall have a minimum unobstructed 

clearance of seven feet 36 inches from the top 

and sides of the boiler boiler. to the ceiling. 

Clearance for the bottom shall conform to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) The following types of boilers and pressure 

vessels shall have a minimum unobstructed 

clearance of three feet from the top of the boiler 

to the ceiling: Water heaters shall have a 

minimum unobstructed clearance of 18 inches 

from the top and sides of the boiler. Clearance 

for the bottom shall conform to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(A) Steam-heating boilers and hot-water-

heating boilers that exceed 5,000,000 

Btu/hr input (1465 kW), 5,000 pounds 

of steam per hour capacity or a 1,000-

square-foot heating surface; 

(B) High-pressure steam boilers that do 

not exceed 5,000,000 Btu/hr input 

(1465 kW), 5,000 pounds of steam per 

hour capacity or a 1,000-square- foot 

heating surface; and 

(C) All boilers with manholes on top of the 

boiler. 

(3) Package Modular boilers and water heaters that 

require individual units to be set side by side, 

front to back, or by stacking, steam-heating 

boilers and hot-water-heating boilers without 

manholes on top of the shell that do not exceed 

5,000,000 Btu/hr input (1465 kW), 5,000 

pounds of steam per hour capacity or a 1,000-

square-foot heating surface shall have a 

minimum unobstructed clearance clearances of 

two feet from the ceiling. as recommended by 

the manufacturer. 
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(d)  When To facilitate entrance of a person during an inspection, 

boilers or pressure vessels are installed or replaced with a manway 

manway, unobstructed clearance shall be provided to allow access 

for inspection, maintenance and repair. Passageways around all 

sides of boilers and pressure vessels shall have an unobstructed 

width clearance of not less than 18 84 inches, inches from the 

manway, unless otherwise recommended by manufacturer's 

installation instructions. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0420 FIRING MECHANISM 

CONTROLS 

(a)  Automatically fired boilers and pressure vessels shall be 

provided with firing mechanism controls. 

(b)  Oil, gas-fired, and electrically heated boilers shall be equipped 

with primary flame safeguard safety controls, safety limit 

switches, and burners or electric elements that conform to the 

North Carolina Building Code in effect at the time of installation. 

(c)  Automatically fired boilers installed after January 1, 2007, 

shall be provided with a remote emergency fuel shut-off shutdown 

switch marked for identification. The remote shut-off shutdown 

switch shall be located outside each door of the room in which the 

boiler is located. Alternatively, the shut-off shutdown switch may 

be located just inside the entrance door(s) where the equipment is 

located. If there is more than one door to the boiler room, there 

shall be a switch located at each door designed for primary 

emergency egress from the boiler room. Boilers that bear the 

ASME "HLW" designator are not required to be provided with a 

remote emergency fuel shut-off shutdown switch. For boilers not 

installed in a boiler or equipment room, such as outdoors, on a 

roof top, or in an open indoor space, the remote emergency 

shutdown switch shall be accessible and located at a safe distance 

from the boiler. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0421 NORTH CAROLINA SPECIAL 

(a)  The North Carolina Department of Labor may issue an 

inspection certificate for a boiler or pressure vessel constructed 

under standards equivalent to those established in the ASME 

Code if an application for permission to construct and install a 

North Carolina Special is submitted to and approved by the Chief 

Inspector prior to commencing construction. The Chief Inspector 

may approve a request for an inspection certificate if the 

application is complete and if the information contained in the 

application demonstrates that the boiler or pressure vessel is as 

safe as a similar boiler or pressure vessel constructed to the 

requirements of the ASME Code. The application, which may be 

in the form of a letter, shall contain relevant data proving that its 

construction is equivalent to ASME standards. The Chief 

Inspector or his designee may elect to visit, at the expense of the 

owner, user owner or user, or manufacturer, the facility where the 

boiler or pressure vessel is under construction in order to audit the 

manufacturer's construction techniques, personnel qualifications, 

and quality control program. 

(b)  The North Carolina Department of Labor may issue an 

inspection certificate for a boiler or pressure vessel which has 

operated in another state even if the ASME construction and 

stamping requirements otherwise contained in the North Carolina 

Rules are not satisfied if the following requirements are satisfied: 

(1) the state in which the boiler or pressure vessel 

was operated enforces ASME Code 

requirements for similar boilers and pressure 

vessels; 

(2) the boiler or pressure vessel was inspected 

during construction by an inspector 

commissioned by the state in which the item 

was installed or manufactured; and 

(3) the report from the last certificate inspection 

conducted in the state in which the boiler or 

pressure vessel was previously installed is made 

available to the Chief Inspector, and the 

inspection resulted in the applicable 

authorization for operation. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit a design specification, certified by 

a professional engineer, to the Chief Inspector to verify that the 

boiler or pressure vessel meets the ASME Code as far as is 

practicable. The following documentation shall be included as a 

minimum: 

(1) design calculations and drawings; 

(2) material test reports or their equivalent, and for 

material not allowed by ASME, an evaluation 

of the materials in comparison to the most 

similar material approved for ASME 

construction; 

(3) a record of welding qualifications as required 

by Section IX of the ASME Welding and 

Brazing Qualifications Code; and 

(4) satisfactory results of any additional 

examination or test deemed necessary by the 

Chief Inspector. 

(d)  Design calculations for pressure vessels to be operated in 

excess of 3,000 psig shall include a fatigue analysis as described 

in ASME Section VIII, Division 2 or 3, to determine the operating 

lifetime of the pressure vessel, and a proposal for operation that 

details the owner's owner or user's monitoring program to verify 

compliance with the fatigue analysis. 

(e)  The maximum allowable working pressure for the boiler or 

pressure vessel as established in the calculations shall be 

consistent with what is required by the ASME Code for similar 

boilers or pressure vessels. 

(f)  Boilers and pressure vessels operating as North Carolina State 

Specials shall meet all installation, alteration, inspection, repair, 

and operation requirements of this Chapter. 

(g)  The Chief Inspector may approve operation of boilers and 

pressure vessels which were constructed to the requirements of a 

department of the federal government which enforces 

requirements equivalent to the ASME Code, provided an 

application as otherwise required by this Chapter is submitted to 

the Chief Inspector and found acceptable. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0422 EXHIBITION BOILERS 

Exhibition boilers shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Exhibition boilers that are not built to the 

ASME Code shall not be operated above 125 
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psig without written approval by the Chief 

Inspector, who shall base such approval on 

documentation and calculations submitted by 

the owner. owner or user. The documents and 

calculations, with an inspection, must provide 

evidence to support the exhibition boiler 

operating at higher pressure ratings. 

(2) Safety relief valves shall not exceed the 

maximum allowed working pressure of the 

boiler and shall be ASME/NB certified valves. 

(3) Each boiler shall have: 

(a) an operating pressure gauge which 

shall be approximately double the 

pressure to which the safety relief 

valve is set but in no case shall it be 

less than 1 1/2 times the set pressure; 

(b) a safety relief valve which shall be 

capable of protecting the boiler from 

over pressurization; and 

(c) a water gauge glass. 

(4) When fusible plugs are used, they shall conform 

to NBIC Part 2 as applicable. 

(5) A hydrostatic test may be required by the 

inspector if it is necessary to prove the integrity 

of the pressure boundary. The hydrostatic test 

shall not exceed 125 percent of the maximum 

allowed working pressure of the vessel or the 

set pressure of the safety valve, whichever is 

greater. 

(6) Upon completion of the inspection and payment 

of the applicable fees referenced in this 

Chapter, the Chief Inspector shall issue a 

Certificate of Inspection valid for one year. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

13 NCAC 13 .0423 MODEL HOBBY BOILERS 

Model hobby boilers shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Each boiler shall have: 

(a) an operating pressure gauge that shall 

not be less than 1 ½ times nor more 

than four times the operating pressure 

of the boiler; 

(b) two safety relief valves each of which 

shall be capable of protecting the 

boiler from over pressurization. 

Requirements for ASME/NB 

certification are waived. If an 

ASME/NB safety relief valve is 

utilized, only one safety relief valve is 

required; 

(c) an accessible mud-ring valve; 

(d) a water gauge glass; and 

(e) if constructed of copper, a fusible plug 

in the top of the crown sheet. 

(2) The construction requirements established by 

the Department of Labor shall not apply to 

Model Hobby Boilers when the following 

requirements are met: 

(a) Documentation to verify the design 

and construction specifications have 

been reviewed and accepted by the 

Chief Inspector; and 

(b) The boiler and associated components 

have been constructed using material 

rated for the intended service. 

(2)(3) Upon completion of the inspection and payment 

of the applicable fees referenced in this 

Chapter, the Chief Inspector shall issue a 

Certificate of Inspection valid for one year. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to adopt the 

rule cited as 15A NCAC 02Q .0529. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2025 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 20, 2024 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  1st Floor Training Room (#1210), DEQ Green Square 

Office Building, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603, or 

virtually using Cisco WebEx, Digital Hearing Web Address: 

https://tinyurl.com/28jh2j2a 

Meeting Password: NCDAQ 

Audio conference:  To receive a call back, provide your phone 

number when you join the event, or call the number below and 

enter the access code. US TOLL +1-415-655-0003, Access code: 

2430 067 3066 

If you wish to speak at the digital public hearing, you must 

register, provide the required information, and follow instructions 

on ways to join the public hearing. Registration must be 

completed by 4:00 p.m. on August 20, 2024. To register, please 

click the following web address: 

https://forms.office.com/g/ejnqpk7EWQ   

*For instructions on ways to join the public hearing, please refer 

to the following web address: 

https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/boards-and-commissions/how-

attend-webex-meeting-0   

*If you have technical difficulties, the following automated 

voicemail has been set up to receive your verbal comments: 919-

707-8430 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To receive comments on the 

proposed adoption of 15A NCAC 02Q .0529 and accompanying 

regulatory impact analysis. The initiation of this rule was the 

requirement under Section 12.11.(d) of Session Law (S.L) 2023-

134 for the Environmental Management Commission (EMC) to 
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create an exemption from Title V permitting for research and 

development (R&D) activities to clarify flexibility. On May 9, 

2024, the EMC approved proceeding to public comment on the 

proposed adoption. The text of the rules and regulatory impact 

analysis are available on the DAQ website: 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Katherine Quinlan, 217 West 

Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641; 

phone (919) 707-8702; email daq.publiccomments@deq.nc.gov 

(Please type "R&D Rule Adoption" in the subject line) 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS 

PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0500 - TITLE V PROCEDURES 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0529 TITLE V INSIGNIFICANT 

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES 

EXEMPTION 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "research and development 

activities" or "R&D activities" means the following: 

(1) activities conducted to test more efficient 

production processes or methods for preventing 

or reducing adverse environmental impacts, 

provided that the activities do not include or 

contribute to the production of an intermediate 

or final product for sale or exchange for 

commercial profit; and 

(2) activities conducted at a research or laboratory 

facility that is operated under the close 

supervision of technically trained personnel the 

primary purpose of which is to conduct research 

and development into new processes and 

products and that is not engaged in or 

contributing to the manufacture of products for 

sale or exchange for commercial profit. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the definition of "insignificant activities 

because of size or production rate" in 15A NCAC 02Q .0503(8), 

R&D activities that meet the definition in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule and are located at a major facility shall qualify as an 

insignificant activity because of size or production rate if the R&D 

activities meet the requirements of this Paragraph: 

(1) Emissions from the R&D activities would not 

violate any applicable emissions standard; 

(2) Actual emissions of particulate matter, sulfur 

dioxide, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic 

compounds, and carbon monoxide from the 

R&D activities, before air pollution control 

devices, are each no more than five tons per 

year; 

(3) Actual emissions of each hazardous air 

pollutant from the R&D activities, before air 

pollution control devices, are below 1,000 

pounds per year; and 

(4) Potential emissions from the R&D activities are 

less than the major source emission thresholds 

specified in 40 CFR 70.2. 

(c)  Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0507(b), the owner or operator 

of a new major facility shall include in the Title V permit 

application R&D activities that qualify as an insignificant activity 

because of size or production rate pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. For an existing major facility with new R&D activities that 

qualify as an insignificant activity pursuant to Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the owner or operator shall provide notification of the 

R&D activities to the Division no less than seven days prior to 

commencing the R&D activity. The owner or operator of 

insignificant R&D activities pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

shall also keep records demonstrating compliance with this Rule 

and provide those records to the Division upon request. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 143-215.66; 143-

215.107(a)(10); 143-215.108. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32M 

.0110; and 32S .0213. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 
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Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 21, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  The joint public hearing with the NC Board of Nursing 

will be held at their offices, located at 4516 Lake Boone Trail, 

Raleigh, NC 27607. The North Carolina Medical Board will be 

having a public hearing for their rules via teleconference 

beginning at 3PM. Telephone Number: 919-518-9840; 

Conference ID: 953 062 010# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend rules to clarify that 

physicians may delegate to physician assistants and nurse 

practitioners the authority to issue do not resuscitate orders and 

pronounce death. Additionally, to clarify that physicians may also 

delegate to registered nurses and licensed practical nurses the 

determination and pronouncement of death pursuant to site-

specific policies and procedures. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Leigh Anne Satterwhite, 3127 

Smoketree Court, Raleigh, NC 27604; phone (919) 326-1109; 

email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0110 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE 

AGREEMENT 

The following are the quality assurance standards for a 

collaborative practice agreement: 

(1) Availability: The primary or back-up 

supervising physician(s) and the nurse 

practitioner shall be continuously available to 

each other for consultation by direct 

communication or telecommunication. 

(2) Collaborative Practice Agreement: 

(a) shall be agreed upon, signed, and 

dated by both the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner, 

and maintained in each practice site; 

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This 

review shall be acknowledged by a 

dated signature sheet, signed by both 

the primary supervising physician and 

the nurse practitioner, appended to the 

collaborative practice agreement, and 

available for inspection by either 

Board; 

(c) shall include the drugs, devices, 

medical treatments, tests, and 

procedures that may be prescribed, 

ordered, and performed by the nurse 

practitioner consistent with Rule .0109 

of this Subchapter; and Subchapter 

and may include issuing do not 

resuscitate orders as outlined in G.S. 

90-21.17(b) and determining and 

pronouncing death pursuant to G.S. 

90-323 so long as all applicable 

requirements are met and doing so is 

permitted by and consistent with 

practice-site-specific policies and 

procedures; and 

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for 

emergency services. 

(3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the 

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the 

collaborative practice agreement upon request 

by members or agents of either Board. 

(4) Quality Improvement Process: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

and the nurse practitioner shall 

develop a process for the ongoing 

review of the care provided in each 

practice site, including a written plan 

for evaluating the quality of care 

provided for one or more frequently 

encountered clinical problems. 

(b) This plan shall include a description of 

the clinical problem(s), an evaluation 

of the current treatment interventions, 

and if needed, a plan for improving 

outcomes within an identified time 

frame. 
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(c) The quality improvement process 

shall include scheduled meetings 

between the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner 

for a minimum of every six months. 

Documentation for each meeting 

shall: 

(i) identify clinical problems 

discussed, including progress 

toward improving outcomes 

as stated in Sub-Item (4)(b) 

of this Rule, and 

recommendations, if any, for 

changes in treatment plan(s); 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

either Board for the previous 

five calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The 

following requirements establish the minimum 

standards for consultation between the nurse 

practitioner and primary supervising 

physician(s): 

(a) During the first six months of a 

collaborative practice agreement 

between a nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician, there 

shall be monthly meetings to discuss 

practice-relevant clinical issues and 

quality improvement measures. 

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall: 

(i) identify clinical issues 

discussed and actions taken; 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

either Board for the previous 

five calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-

18.2; 90-171.23(b)(14). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0213 PHYSICIAN SUPERVISION OF 

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

(a)  A physician wishing to serve as a primary supervising 

physician shall exercise supervision of the physician assistant in 

accordance with rules adopted by the Board. 

(b)  A physician assistant may perform medical acts, tasks, or 

functions only under the supervision of a physician. Supervision 

shall be continuous but, except as otherwise provided in the rules 

of this Subchapter, shall not be construed as requiring the physical 

presence of the supervising physician at the time and place that 

the services are rendered. 

(c)  Each team of physician(s) and physician assistant(s) shall 

ensure: 

(1) the physician assistant's scope of practice is 

identified; 

(2) delegation of medical tasks is appropriate to the 

skills of the supervising physician(s) as well as 

the physician assistant's level of competence; 

competence and may include issuing do not 

resuscitate orders pursuant to G.S. 90-21.17(b) 

and determining and pronouncing death 

pursuant to G.S. 90-323 so long as all other 

requirements are met and doing so is permitted 

by and consistent with practice site-specific 

policies and procedures; and 

(3) the relationship of, and access to, each 

supervising physician is defined; and 

(4) a process for evaluation of the physician 

assistant's performance is established. 

(d)  Each supervising physician and physician assistant shall sign 

a statement, as defined in Rule .0201(9) of this Subchapter, that 

describes the supervisory arrangements in all settings. The 

physician assistant shall maintain written prescribing instructions 

at each site. This statement shall be kept on file at all practice sites, 

and shall be available upon request by the Board. 

(e)  A primary supervising physician and a physician assistant in 

a new practice arrangement shall meet monthly for the first six 

months to discuss practice relevant clinical issues and quality 

improvement measures. Thereafter, the primary supervising 

physician and the physician assistant shall meet at least once every 

six months. A written record of these meetings shall be signed and 

dated by both the supervising physician and the physician 

assistant, and shall be available upon request by the Board. The 

written record shall include a description of the relevant clinical 

issues discussed and the quality improvement measures taken. 

(f)  Physician assistants enrolled and participating in a 

postgraduate training program shall designate on their intent to 

practice form as required by Rule .0203 of this Subchapter a single 

physician as their primary supervising physician as determined by 

the postgraduate training program. For purposes of this Rule, a 

postgraduate training program shall mean a professional 

development program of at least 12 months sponsored or co-

sponsored by a licensed hospital and healthcare system in which 

the participants rotate through at least three or more distinct 

medical specialties. As the participants rotate through the 

program's various specialties, all other supervising physicians 

shall be designated as Back-Up Supervising Physicians. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32N 

.0107. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 30, 2024 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely via 

teleconference. 

Telephone Number: 919-518-9840; 

Conference ID: 258 156 448# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To add substance and 

clarification to the requirement in G.S. 90-14(1) which requires 

the Board to notify a licensee if an investigation will take longer 

than six (6) months. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Leigh Anne Satterwhite, 3127 

Smoketree Court, Raleigh, NC 27604; phone (919) 326-1109; 

email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32N - FORMAL AND INFORMAL 

PROCEEDINGS 

 

21 NCAC 32N .0107 INVESTIGATIONS AND 

COMPLAINTS 

(a)  At the time of first oral or written communication from the 

Board or staff or agent of the Board to a licensee regarding a 

complaint or investigation, the Board shall provide the notices set 

forth in G.S. 90-14(i), except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  A licensee shall submit a written response to a complaint 

received by the Board within 45 days from the date of a written 

request by Board staff. The Board shall grant up to an additional 

30 days for the response where the licensee demonstrates good 

cause for the extension of time. The response shall contain 

accurate and complete information. Where a licensee fails to 

respond in the time and manner provided herein, the Board may 

treat that as a failure to respond to a Board inquiry in a reasonable 

time and manner as required by G.S. 90-14(a)(14). 

(c)  The licensee's written response to a complaint submitted to 

the Board in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

provided to the complainant upon written request as permitted in 

G.S. 90-16(e1), except that the response shall not be provided 

where the Board determines that the complainant has misused the 

Board's complaint process or that the release of the response 

would be harmful to the physical or mental health of the 

complainant who was a patient of the responding licensee. 

(d)  A licensee shall submit to an interview within 30 days from 

the date of an oral or written request from Board staff. The Board 

may grant up to an additional 15 days for the interview where the 

licensee demonstrates good cause for the extension of time. The 

responses to the questions and requests for information, including 

documents, during the interview shall be complete and accurate. 

Where respondent fails to respond in the time and manner 

provided herein, the Board may treat that as a failure to respond 

to a Board inquiry in a reasonable time and manner as required by 

G.S. 90-14(a)(14). 

(e)  The licensee who is the subject of a Board inquiry may retain 

and consult with legal counsel of his or her choosing in 

responding to the inquiries as set out in G.S. 90-14(i). 

(f)  For purposes of G.S. 90-14(l) an investigation shall be deemed 

complete when the Board's Chief Investigative Officer, or his or 

her designee, approves an investigative report for submission to 

the Board's Disciplinary Committee. Once approved, subsequent 

consideration of the report by the Disciplinary Committee and any 

follow-up investigation requested by the Disciplinary Committee 

shall not be considered part of the six-month period contained in 

G.S. 90-14(l). An e-mail from Board staff explaining the reasons 

for extending an investigation that is sent to the licensee or the 

licensee's attorney at his or her last known email address as 

provided to the Board shall be deemed compliant with the written 

notification requirement contained in G.S. 90-14(l) so long as the 

email is sent within the six-month period. 

(g)  Should a licensee not receive a written explanation of the 

circumstances or reasons for extending an investigation within the 

applicable six-month period, the licensee, or his or her attorney, 

may request a written explanation from the Board as to the reasons 

why the investigation has not yet been completed. The Board shall 

respond to the request within 15 days from the date of receipt of 

the request. In the response the Board shall provide the reasons 

for extending the investigation along with an estimate as to when 

the investigation may be completed. 
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Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-14(a)(14); 90-14(i); 90-14(a)(i) 

and (l); 90-16(e1). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Nursing intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36 

.0229, and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0810. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 21, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  4516 Lake Boone Trail, Raleigh NC 27607 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  On April 23, 2024, Duke 

University Health System and Atrium Health (“Petitioners”) filed 

two petitions requesting the Board proceed with permanent 

rulemaking pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0121(a). Both petitions meet 

all foundational requirements of this Rule detailing the reasoning 

for the request. Petitioners also filed a proposed amendment in 21 

NCAC 36 .0810(2)(c), which relates to NP practice, with the NC 

Medical Board for their consideration. The proposed language 

for adoption and amendment were also attached with each 

petition. NC General Statutes specify that a physician may issue 

a portable do not resuscitate (“DNR”) order and determine a 

person’s death. See NCGS §90-21.17(b) and §90-323. However, 

practice and other statutory provisions imply that these two 

medical tasks may be performed under the supervision of or 

delegated by a physician. The effect of both rules would be to 

clarify that these acts may be delegated to NPs and licensed 

nurses to promote and improve access to end-of-life care. 

On May 23, 2024, Petitioner’s request and proposed rule 

language were presented to the Board. In 21 NCAC 36 

.0810(c)(2), the Board voted to amend the language of this Rule 

to clarify the NP’s authority to issue DNR orders and pronounce 

death pursuant to the terms of a Collaborative Practice 

Agreement (“CPA”).  The additional language in the proposed 

amendment specifies that DNR orders and pronouncement of 

death may be performed by an NP under the supervision of a 

physician by way of a CPA. The Board also voted to proceed with 

rulemaking of a new rule, 21 NCAC 36 .0229 Determination and 

Pronouncement of Death, for specific language that expressly 

permits physicians to delegate this act to RNs and LPNs. The 

language of this new rule is consistent with the Board’s position 

statement on Death and Resuscitation and would provide legal 

authority for this medical act to be delegated to RNs and LPNs as 

a responsibility that the nurse can safely accept. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 

Raleigh, NC 27609-2129; email lawsrules@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0229 DETERMINATION AND 

PRONOUNCEMENT OF DEATH 

Determination and pronouncement of death is an act that can be 

delegated to a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse, 

provided that: 

(1) The registered nurse or licensed practical nurse 

has the requisite qualifications and experience 

to assess, interpret, and formulate this 

determination and pronouncement; and 

(2) This delegation is consistent with the registered 

nurse's or licensed practical nurse's site-specific 

policies and procedures. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.20(7) and (8); 90-171.23(b). 

 

SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0810 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE 

AGREEMENT 

The following are the quality assurance standards for a 

collaborative practice agreement: 

(1) Availability: The primary or back-up 

supervising physician(s) and the nurse 

practitioner shall be continuously available to 
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each other for consultation by direct 

communication or telecommunication. 

(2) Collaborative Practice Agreement: 

(a) shall be agreed upon, signed, and 

dated by both the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner, 

and maintained in each practice site; 

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This 

review shall be acknowledged by a 

dated signature sheet, signed by both 

the primary supervising physician and 

the nurse practitioner, appended to the 

collaborative practice agreement, and 

available for inspection by either 

Board; 

(c) shall include the drugs, devices, 

medical treatments, tests, and 

procedures that may be prescribed, 

ordered, and performed by the nurse 

practitioner consistent with Rule .0809 

of this Section; and Section and may 

include issuing do not resuscitate 

orders as outlined in G.S. 90-21.17(b) 

and determining and pronouncing 

death pursuant to G.S. 90-323 so long 

as all other applicable requirements 

are met and doing so is permitted by 

and consistent with practice-site-

specific policies and procedures; and 

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for 

emergency services. 

(3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the 

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the 

collaborative practice agreement upon request 

by members or agents of either Board. 

(4) Quality Improvement Process: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

and the nurse practitioner shall 

develop a process for the ongoing 

review of the care provided in each 

practice site, including a written plan 

for evaluating the quality of care 

provided for one or more frequently 

encountered clinical problems. 

(b) This plan shall include a description of 

the clinical problem(s), an evaluation 

of the current treatment interventions, 

and if needed, a plan for improving 

outcomes within an identified time 

frame. 

(c) The quality improvement process 

shall include scheduled meetings 

between the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner 

for a minimum of every six months. 

Documentation for each meeting 

shall: 

(i) identify clinical problems 

discussed, including progress 

toward improving outcomes 

as stated in Sub-item (4)(b) 

of this Rule, and 

recommendations, if any, for 

changes in treatment plan(s); 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

either Board for the previous 

five calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The 

following requirements establish the minimum 

standards for consultation between the nurse 

practitioner and primary supervising 

physician(s): 

(a) During the first six months of a 

collaborative practice agreement 

between a nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician, there 

shall be monthly meetings to discuss 

practice-relevant clinical issues and 

quality improvement measures. 

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall: 

(i) identify clinical issues 

discussed and actions taken; 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

either Board for the previous 

five calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 90-18.2; 90-171.23(b)(14). 

 

 

TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Rules Review Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 26 

NCAC 05 .0116. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.oah.nc.gov/rules-division/rules-review-commission 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 

on the proposed rule will be held if the agency receives a written 

request for said hearing within 15 days after the notice of text is 

published. Requests for a hearing can be emailed to 

Travis.wiggs@oah.nc.gov 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  The rule seeks to ensure state 

agencies are complying with G.S. 150B-19.1(c). The proposed 

rule aims to prevent state agencies from removing information 

required for rule-making from their websites prior to being 

reviewed by the Rules Review Commission. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Travis Wiggs, 1711 New Hope 

Church Rd, Raleigh, NC 27609; email travis.wiggs@oah.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 31, 2024 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 05 - RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

26 NCAC 05 .0116 ATTESTATION OF 

COMPLIANCE WITH RULE-MAKING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An agency shall attest that the requirements listed in G.S. 

150B-19.1(c)(1)-(5) were posted on the agency Web site no later 

than the publication date of the notice of text for a proposed rule 

in the North Carolina Register. 

(b)  Failure to comply with this Rule shall be grounds for objection 

to the proposed rule pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(4). 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-30.1. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06C .0602 

 

Effective Date:  June 6, 2024 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 29, 

2024 

 

Reason for Action:  S.L. 2023-128, effective December 1, 2023, 

expands the applicability of the criminal statute related to 

indecent liberties with a student and increases penalties on school 

personnel who fail to report certain misconduct by educators. The 

legislation also gives the State Board of Education ("SBE") 

authority to adopt temporary rules to implement the requirements 

of the legislation, to address disciplinary action against 

professional educator licenses, and to modify the Standards of 

Professional Conduct. 

The Standards of Professional Conduct for North Carolina 

Educators, codified 16 NCAC 06C .0601 and 06C .0602, are also 

among the SBE Rules schedule for readoption no later than June 

30, 2026, through the periodic review process required by the 

APA. See G.S. 150B-21.3A. 

The SBE has used the temporary authority in S.L. 2023-128 to 

amend 16 NCAC 06C .0601 and 06C .0602 in preparation for 

readoption. The SBE has simultaneously adopted new rules, 16 

NCAC 06C .0603 - 06C .0608, to govern the process for denying 

an application for a professional educator license or taking 

disciplinary action against an existing license. These will replace 

its existing rules on this topic, currently codified at 16 NCAC 06C 

.0372 - 06C .0376. The SBE understands that 16 NCAC 06C .0601 

and 06C .0602 will need to be readopted through permanent 

rulemaking procedures and intends to do so concurrently with 

putting the other rules through permanent rulemaking. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0602 STANDARDS OF 

PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

(a)  The standards Standards of Professional Conduct 

("Standards") listed in this Section shall be generally accepted for 

the education profession and shall be the basis for State Board 

review of reviewing the performance of professional educators. 

educators by the State Board of Education ("SBE"). These 

standards shall establish mandatory prohibitions and requirements 

for educators. Violation of these standards Standards shall subject 

an educator to investigation and disciplinary action by the SBE or 

LEA. any public school unit by which the educator is employed. 

(b)  Professional educators shall adhere to the standards of 

professional conduct contained Standards as set forth in this Rule. 

Any intentional act or omission that violates these standards 

Standards is prohibited. 

This Rule establishes uniform Standards of Professional Conduct 

("Standards") for professional educators in North Carolina, which 

apply to all persons who hold a professional educator license 

issued pursuant to this Subchapter and Chapter 115C, Article 17E 

of the General Statutes. These Standards shall be the basis for 

reviewing the performance of professional educators by the State 

Board of Education ("SBE"). Violation of these Standards shall 

be grounds for disciplinary sanctions against a professional 

educator's license as provided in this Section. 

(1) Generally recognized professional standards. 

Recognized Professional Standards. The 

educator shall adhere to and practice the 

professional standards of all federal, state, and 

local governing bodies. bodies with oversight 

of public education with public education 

oversight. 

(2) Personal conduct. Conduct. The educator shall 

serve as a positive role model for students, 

parents, and the community. Because the 

educator is entrusted with the care and 

education of small children and adolescents, the 

educator shall demonstrate a high standard of 

personal character and conduct. The educator is 

entrusted with the care and education of 

children and adolescents. As a result, the 

educator shall demonstrate a high standard of 

personal character and conduct and shall serve 

as a positive role model for students, parents, 

and the community. 

(3)(2) Conduct with Students. The educator shall treat 

all students with respect and maintain 

appropriate professional boundaries with all 

students, regardless of whether that student is 

directly under the care or supervision of the 

educator. Specifically, the educator shall not 

engage in any of the following conduct toward 

or in the presence of a student: 

(a) Use of profane, vulgar, or demeaning 

language. 

(b) Intentional or reckless exposure of 

students to profane, vulgar, or sexually 

explicit material except as part of age-

appropriate classroom instruction or 

other pedagogical practice. 

(c) Solicitation, encouragement, or 

consummation of a romantic, 

physical, or sexual relationship with a 

student in any form, whether written, 

verbal, or physical. As used in this 

context, "solicitation" or 

"encouragement" shall include 

engaging in a pattern of flirtatious 
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behavior; efforts to gain access to, or 

time alone with, a student with no 

clear educational or school-related 

objective; provision of individualized 

or specialized treatment, including 

tangible or monetary gifts, to a student 

that does not comply with generally 

recognized professional standards for 

educators; or any other behavior that 

could be perceived by a rational 

observer as excessively personal or 

intimate in the context of the educator-

student relationship. 

(C)(d) Solicitation, encouragement, or 

consummation of sexual contact with 

a student. 

(D)(e) Sexual harassment, as defined in 34 

C.F.R. 106.30(a). 

(E)(f) Child abuse, as defined in G.S. 14-

318.2 or G.S. 14-318.4. 

(4)(3) Alcohol and Controlled Substances. The 

educator shall not be under the influence of, 

possess, use, or consume an alcoholic beverage 

or a controlled substance, as defined in G.S. 90-

95, on school premises, at a school-sponsored 

activity, or when otherwise discharging the 

educator's professional duties, unless the 

educator has a prescription from a licensed 

medical professional authorizing such use. The 

educator shall not furnish alcoholic beverages 

or controlled substances to a student, except for 

the administration of medication prescribed by 

a [ license ] licensed medical professional in 

accordance with the educator's professional 

duties. 

(3)(4) Honesty. The educator shall not engage in 

conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in the performance of the 

educator's professional duties, including the 

following: 

(A)(a) statement statements or 

representations of professional 

qualifications; 

(B)(b) application or recommendation for 

professional employment, promotion, 

or licensure; 

(C)(c) application or recommendation 

applications or recommendations for 

college or university admission, 

scholarship, grant, academic award, or 

similar benefit; 

(D)(d) representation statements or 

representations of completion of 

college or staff development credit; 

(E)(e) evaluation or grading of students or 

school personnel; 

(F)(f) submission of financial or program 

compliance reports submitted to state, 

federal, or other governmental 

agencies; 

(G)(g) submission of information in the 

course of an official inquiry by the 

employing LEA or the SBE related to 

facts of unprofessional misconduct, 

provided, however, SBE or the 

educator's employing PSU into 

allegations of professional 

misconduct, provided that an educator 

shall be given adequate notice of the 

allegations and may be represented by 

legal counsel; and 

(H)(h) submission of information in the 

course of an investigation into school 

related criminal activity by a law 

enforcement agency, child protective 

services, or any other agency with the 

right authority to investigate, 

regarding school related criminal 

activity; provided, however, 

investigate, provided that an educator 

shall be entitled to decline to give 

evidence may refuse decline to 

provide information to law 

enforcement if such evidence may 

tend to could incriminate the educator 

as that term is defined by the Fifth 

Amendment to in violation of the 

educator's rights under the U.S. 

Constitution. United States 

Constitution or North Carolina 

Constitution. 

(6)(5) Compliance with Criminal Laws. The educator 

shall not violate the criminal laws of this State, 

the United States, or any other state or territory 

under the jurisdiction of the United States. 

(4)(6) Proper remunerative conduct. Remunerative 

Conduct. The educator shall not solicit current 

students or parents of students to purchase 

equipment, supplies, or services from the 

educator in a private remunerative capacity. An 

educator shall not tutor for remuneration 

students currently assigned to the educator's 

classes, unless approved by the local 

superintendent. An educator shall not accept 

any compensation, benefit, or thing of value 

other than the educator's regular compensation 

for the performance of any service that the 

educator is required to render in the course and 

scope of the educator's employment. This Rule 

shall not restrict performance of any overtime 

or supplemental services at the request of the 

LEA; PSU, nor shall it apply to or restrict the 

acceptance of gifts or tokens of minimal value 

offered and accepted openly from students, 

parents, or other persons in recognition or 

appreciation of service. the educator's 

professional service, provided the gift is given 
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and received freely, openly, and without 

expectation of favor or advantage to the donor 

in return. 

(5) Conduct with students. The educator shall treat 

all students with respect. The educator shall not 

commit any abusive act or sexual exploitation 

with, to, or in the presence of a student, whether 

or not that student is or has been under the care 

or supervision of that educator, as defined 

below: 

(A) any use of language that is considered 

profane, vulgar, or demeaning; 

(B) any sexual act; 

(C) any solicitation of a sexual act, 

whether written, verbal, or physical; 

(D) any act of child abuse, as defined by 

law; 

(E) any act of sexual harassment, as 

defined by law; and 

(F) any intentional solicitation, 

encouragement, or consummation of a 

romantic or physical relationship with 

a student, or any sexual contact with a 

student. The term "romantic 

relationship" shall include dating any 

student. 

(6)(7) Confidential information. Information. The 

educator shall keep in confidence confidential 

all personally identifiable information 

regarding students or their family members that 

the educator has been obtained in the course of 

professional service, unless disclosure is 

required or permitted by law or professional 

standards, or is necessary for the personal safety 

of the student or others. 

(7)(8) Rights of others. Others. The educator shall not 

willfully or maliciously violate the 

constitutional or civil rights of a student, 

parent/legal parent or legal guardian, or 

colleague. 

(8)(9) Required reports. Reports. The educator shall 

make all reports required by G.S. 115C. 

Chapter 115C of the General Statutes. 

(9) Alcohol or controlled substance abuse. The 

educator shall not: 

(A) be under the influence of, possess, use, 

or consume on school premises or at a 

school-sponsored activity a controlled 

substance as defined by G.S. 90-95, 

the Controlled Substances Act, 

without a prescription authorizing 

such use; 

(B) be under the influence of, possess, use, 

or consume an alcoholic beverage or a 

controlled substance on school 

premises or at a school-sponsored 

activity involving students; or 

(C) furnish alcohol or a controlled 

substance to any student except as 

indicated in the professional duties of 

administering legally prescribed 

medications. 

(10) Compliance with criminal laws. The educator 

shall not commit any act referred to in G.S. 

115C-332 and any felony under the laws of the 

United States or of any state. 

(11)(10) Public funds and property. Funds and Property. 

The educator shall not misuse public funds or 

property, funds of a school-related 

organization, or colleague's funds. property or 

any funds belonging to an organization 

affiliated with the school or PSU. The educator 

shall account for funds collected from students, 

colleagues, or parents/legal guardians. parents, 

or legal guardians of students. The educator 

shall not submit fraudulent requests for 

reimbursement, expenses, or pay. 

(12)(11) Scope of professional practice. Professional 

Practice. The educator shall not perform any act 

as an employee in a position professional duty 

or function for which licensure is required by 

the rules of the SBE or by G.S. 115C or the 

North Carolina General Statutes this Chapter or 

by Chapter 115C of the General Statutes during 

any period in which the educator's license has 

been is suspended or revoked. 

(13)(12) Conduct related to ethical violations. Abuse of 

Authority. The educator shall not directly or 

indirectly use or threaten to use any official 

authority or influence in any manner that tends 

to discourage, restrain, interfere with, coerce, or 

discriminate discourages, restrains, coerces, 

interferes with, or discriminates against any 

subordinate or any licensee who in good faith 

reports, discloses, divulges, reports or 

otherwise brings to the attention of an LEA, a 

PSU, the SBE, or any other public agency 

authorized to take remedial action, any facts or 

information relative to the actual or suspected 

violation of any law or rule regulating the duties 

of persons serving in the public school system, 

including but not limited to these Rules. those 

established by this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-295.3; 115C-12(9); 115C-270.5; 115C-307; 

Eff. May 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 6, 2024. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 29, 2024. 
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TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to this Section: 

(1) "Abnormal" means nontypical or unusual 

conditions that could cause damage to systems 

and components of the home. 

(2) "Arc-fault circuit interrupter" means a device 

intended to provide protection from the effects 

of arc faults by recognizing characteristics 

unique to arcing and de-energizing the circuit 

when an arc fault is detected. 

(3) "Automatic safety controls" means devices 

designed and installed to protect systems and 

components from excessively high or low 

pressures and temperatures, excessive electrical 

current, loss of water, loss of ignition, fuel 

leaks, fire, freezing, or other unsafe conditions 

as stated in manufacturer's instructions. 

(4) "Central air conditioning" means a system that 

uses ducts to distribute cooled or dehumidified 

air to more than one room or uses pipes to 

distribute chilled water to heat exchangers in 

more than one room, and that is not plugged 

into an electrical convenience outlet. 

(5) "Component" means a readily accessible and 

visible aspect of a system, such as a floor or 

wall, but not individual pieces such as boards or 

nails where many similar pieces make up the 

component. 
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(6) "Cosmetic damage" means blemishes or defects 

that do not interfere with the functionality of the 

component or system. 

(7) "Cross connection" means any physical 

connection or contact between potable water 

and any source of contamination. 

(8) "Dangerous or adverse situations" means 

situations that pose a threat of injury to the 

inspector, or those situations that require the use 

of special protective clothing or safety 

equipment. 

(9) "Describe" means report in writing a system or 

component by its type, or other inspected 

characteristics, to distinguish it from other 

systems or components used for the same 

purpose. 

(10) "Dismantle" means to take apart or remove any 

component, device, or piece of equipment that 

is bolted, screwed, or fastened by other means 

and that would not be disassembled by a 

homeowner in the course of routine household 

maintenance. 

(11) "Enter" means to go into an area to inspect all 

visible components. 

(12) "Functional drainage" means a drain that 

empties at a rate equal to or greater than the 

supply water flow to the fixture. 

(13) "Functional flow" means a usable flow at the 

highest fixture in a dwelling when another 

fixture is operated simultaneously. 

(14) "Gray water" means wastewater generated from 

household activities that do not involve human 

waste, such as bathing, showering, 

handwashing, and laundry, which typically 

contains some residues from soap, detergent, 

and dirt. 

(15) "Gray water system" means a water reuse 

system contained within a single-family 

residence 

or multiunit residential or commercial building 

that filters gray water or captured rainwater and 

reuses it for nonpotable purposes such as toilet 

flushing and irrigation. 

(16) "Ground-fault circuit interrupter" means 

devices intended for the protection of people 

that de-energizes a circuit or portion thereof 

within an established period of time when 

currents are out of balance. 

(17) "Habitable space" means a space in a building 

for living, sleeping, eating, or cooking. 

"Habitable space" does not mean a bathroom, 

toilet room, closet, or any space used or 

designed for storage. 

(18) "Harmful" means conditions that cause damage 

to systems and components of the home. 

(19) "Inspect" means to make a visual examination. 

(20) "Installed" means attached or connected such 

that an item requires tools for removal. 

(21) "Normal operating controls" means homeowner 

operated devices such as a thermostat, wall 

switch, or safety switch. 

(22) "On-site water supply quality" means water 

quality based on the bacterial, chemical, 

mineral, and solids content of the on-site well 

water. 

(23) "On-site water supply quantity" means the rate 

of flow of on-site well water. 

(24) "Operate" means to cause systems or equipment 

to function as intended. 

(25) "Readily accessible" means within reach, 

without the use of a ladder, not blocked by 

appliances, and approachable or enterable for 

visual inspection without the risk of damage to 

any property or alteration of the accessible 

space, equipment, or opening. 

(26) "Readily openable access panel" means a panel 

provided for homeowner inspection and 

maintenance that has removable or operable 

fasteners or latch devices in order to be lifted 

off, swung open, or otherwise removed by one 

person; and its edges and fasteners are not 

painted in place. This definition is limited to 

those panels within reach standing on the floor 

or from a four-foot stepladder, and that are not 

blocked by stored items, furniture, or building 

components. 

(27) "Readily visible" means seen by using natural 

or artificial light without the use of equipment 

or tools other than a flashlight. 

(28) "Representative number" means, for multiple 

identical components such as windows and 

electrical outlets, one such component per 

room; and, for multiple identical exterior 

components, one such component on each side 

of the building. 

(29) "Roof drainage systems" means gutters, 

downspouts, leaders, splash blocks, and similar 

components used to carry water off a roof and 

away from a building. 

(30) "Sewage pump" means a device used at 

elevations where mechanical assistance is 

needed to move effluent to a sewage system. 

(31) "Shut down" means a piece of equipment or a 

system that cannot be operated by the device or 

control provided for homeowner operation. If 

its safety switch or circuit breaker is in the "off" 

position, or its fuse is missing or blown, the 

inspector is not required to reestablish the 

circuit for the purpose of operating the 

equipment or system. 

(32) "Solid fuel heating device" means any wood, 

coal, fossil, or other similar organic fuel 

burning device, including fireplaces whether 

masonry or factory built, fireplace inserts and 

stoves, wood stoves (room heaters), central 

furnaces, and combinations of these devices. 
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(33) "Structural component" means a component 

that supports non-variable forces or weights 

(dead loads) and variable forces or weights (live 

loads). 

(34) "Sump pump" means a device used to remove 

non-effluent drainage. 

(35) "System" means a combination of interacting or 

interdependent components, assembled to carry 

out one or more functions. 

(36) "Technically exhaustive" means an inspection 

involving the use of measurements, 

instruments, testing, calculations, and other 

means to develop scientific or engineering 

findings, conclusions, and recommendations. 

(37) "Under floor crawl space" means the area 

within the confines of the foundation and 

between the ground and the underside of the 

lowest floor structural component. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1103 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  Home inspections performed according to this Section shall 

provide the client with an understanding of the property 

conditions, as inspected at the time of the home inspection. 

(b)  Home inspectors shall: 

(1) provide a written contract, signed by the client, 

before the home inspection is performed that 

shall: 

(A) state that the home inspection is in 

accordance with the Standards of 

Practice of the North Carolina Home 

Inspector Licensure Board as set forth 

in this Section; 

(B) state what services shall be provided 

and the cost; and 

(C) when an inspection is for a limited 

number of systems or components, 

state that the inspection is limited to 

only those systems or components; 

(2) inspect readily visible and readily accessible 

installed systems and components described in 

Rules .1106 through .1115 of this Section; 

(3) submit a written report pursuant to G.S. 143-

151.58(a), to the client that shall: 

(A) describe those systems and 

components required to be described 

in Rules .1106 through .1115 of this 

Section; 

(B) state which systems and components 

present at the home and designated for 

inspection in this Section were not 

inspected, and the reason for not 

inspecting; 

(C) state any systems or components 

inspected that do not function as 

intended, allowing for normal wear 

and tear, or appear not to function as 

intended, based upon documented 

tangible evidence; 

(D) describe each system or component, 

pursuant to Part (b)(3)(C) of this Rule; 

state how the condition is defective; 

explain the implications of defective 

conditions reported; and direct the 

client to a course of action for repair, 

monitoring, or further investigation by 

a specialist; 

(E) on the first or second page clearly state 

the name, license number, and 

signature of the person conducting the 

inspection. 

(4) submit a summary page(s) pursuant to G.S. 

143-151.58(a1). 

(c)  Home inspectors may: 

(1) report observations and conditions, including 

safety or habitability concerns, or render 

opinions of items in addition to those required 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; or 

(2) exclude systems and components from the 

inspection if requested by the client, and so 

stated in the written contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.58; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2014; October 1, 2011; March 1, 2010; 

February 1, 2009; February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003; 

July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1105 GENERAL EXCLUSIONS 

(a)  Home inspectors are not required to report on: 

(1) life expectancy of any component or system; 

(2) the causes of the need for a repair; 

(3) the methods, materials, and costs of corrections; 

(4) the suitability of the property for any 

specialized use; 

(5) compliance or non-compliance with codes, 

ordinances, statutes, regulatory requirements, 

or restrictions; 

(6) the market value of the property or its 

marketability; 

(7) the advisability or inadvisability of purchase of 

the property; 

(8) any component or system that was not 

inspected; 
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(9) the presence or absence of pests such as wood 

damaging organisms, rodents, or insects; 

(10) cosmetic damage, underground items, or items 

not installed; or 

(11) the presence or absence of systems installed to 

control or remove suspected hazardous 

substances listed in Subparagraph (b)(7) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  Home inspectors are not required to: 

(1) offer warranties or guarantees of any kind; 

(2) calculate the strength, adequacy, or efficiency 

of any system or component; 

(3) enter any area or perform any procedure that 

may damage the property or its components or 

be dangerous to or adversely affect the health or 

safety of the home inspector or other persons; 

(4) operate any system or component that is shut 

down or otherwise inoperable; 

(5) operate any system or component that does not 

respond to normal operating controls; 

(6) move personal items, panels, furniture, 

equipment, plant life, soil, snow, ice, or debris 

that obstructs access or visibility; 

(7) determine the presence or absence of any 

suspected adverse environmental condition or 

hazardous substance, including mold, toxins, 

carcinogens, noise, contaminants in the 

building or in soil, water, and air; 

(8) determine the effectiveness of any system 

installed to control or remove suspected 

hazardous substances; 

(9) determine House Energy Ratings (HER), 

insulation R values, system or component 

efficiencies; 

(10) inspect heat recovery and similar whole house 

ventilation systems; 

(11) predict future condition, including failure of 

components; 

(12) project operating costs of components; 

(13) evaluate acoustical characteristics of any 

system or component; 

(14) inspect special equipment or accessories that 

are not listed as components to be inspected in 

this Section;  

(15) disturb insulation, except as required in Rule 

.1114 of this Section; 

(16) inspect elevators or related equipment meant to 

transport occupants or materials between 

elevations; or 

(17) inspect 240V receptacles or outlets. 

(c)  Home inspectors shall not: 

(1) offer or perform any act or service contrary to 

law; or 

(2) offer or perform engineering, architectural, 

plumbing, electrical or any other job function 

requiring an occupational license in the 

jurisdiction where the inspection is taking 

place, unless the home inspector holds a valid 

occupational license. In that case the home 

inspector shall inform the client that the home 

inspector is so licensed, and therefore qualified 

to go beyond this Section and perform 

additional inspections beyond those within the 

scope of the Standards of Practice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1107 EXTERIOR 

(a)  The home inspector shall inspect: 

(1) wall cladding, flashings, and trim; 

(2) entryway doors and a representative number of 

windows; 

(3) garage door operators, including automatic 

safety controls; 

(4) decks, balconies, stoops, steps, areaways, 

porches, and appurtenant railings; 

(5) eaves, soffits, and fascias; 

(6) driveways, patios, walkways, and retaining 

walls; and 

(7) vegetation, grading, and drainage with respect 

only to their effect on the condition of the 

building. 

(b)  The home inspector shall: 

(1) describe wall cladding materials; 

(2) operate all entryway doors; 

(3) operate garage doors manually or by using 

installed controls for any garage door operator; 

(4) report any garage door operator that will not 

automatically reverse when meeting reasonable 

resistance during closing;  

(5) report any garage door that will not 

automatically reverse when photoelectric safety 

devices are actuated; 

(6) report any garage door operator that does not 

utilize a photoelectric safety device; and 

(7) probe exterior wood components where 

deterioration is suspected. 

(c)  The home inspector is not required to inspect: 

(1) storm windows, storm doors, screening, 

shutters, and awnings; 

(2) fences; 

(3) for the presence of safety glazing in doors and 

windows; 

(4) garage door operator remote control 

transmitters; 

(5) geological conditions; 

(6) soil conditions; 

(7) recreational facilities (including spas, saunas, 

steam baths, swimming pools, tennis courts, 

playground equipment, and other exercise, 

entertainment, or athletic facilities), except as 
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otherwise required in 11 NCAC 08 

.1109(d)(5)(F); 

(8) detached buildings or structures; or 

(9) for the presence or condition of buried fuel 

storage tanks. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1109 PLUMBING 

(a)  The home inspector shall inspect: 

(1) interior water supply and distribution system, 

including: piping materials, supports, and 

insulation; fixtures and faucets; functional 

flow; leaks; and cross connections; 

(2) interior drain, waste, and vent system, 

including: traps; drain, waste, and vent piping; 

piping supports and pipe insulation; leaks; and 

functional drainage; 

(3) hot water systems including: water heating 

equipment; normal operating controls; 

automatic safety controls; and chimneys, flues, 

and vents; 

(4) fuel storage and distribution systems including: 

interior fuel storage equipment, supply piping, 

venting, and supports; leaks; and 

(5) sump pumps. 

(b)  The home inspector shall describe: 

(1) water supply and distribution piping materials; 

(2) drain waste, and vent piping materials; 

(3) water heating equipment, including fuel or 

power source, storage capacity or tankless point 

of use demand systems, and location; and 

(4) the location of any main water supply shutoff 

device. 

(c)  The home inspector shall operate all plumbing fixtures, 

including their faucets and all exterior faucets attached to the 

house, except where the flow end of the faucet is connected to an 

appliance. 

(d)  The home inspector is not required to: 

(1) state the requirement for or effectiveness of 

anti-siphon devices; 

(2) determine whether water supply and waste 

disposal systems are public or private;  

(3) determine the presence or absence of backflow 

devices; 

(4) operate automatic safety controls; 

(5) operate any valve except water closet flush 

valves, fixture faucets, and hose faucets; 

(6) inspect: 

(A) water conditioning systems; 

(B) fire and lawn sprinkler systems; 

(C) on-site water supply quantity and 

quality; 

(D) on-site waste disposal systems 

including electrical controls, alarms, 

sewage pumps, and gray water 

systems; 

(E) foundation irrigation systems; 

(F) bathroom spas, whirlpools, or air jet 

tubs except as to functional flow and 

functional drainage; 

(G) swimming pools; 

(H) solar water heating equipment; or 

(I) fixture overflow devices or shower 

pan liners;  

(7) inspect the system for proper sizing, design, or 

use of approved materials; 

(8) report on the absence or presence of thermal 

expansion tanks; 

(9) report on the adequacy of the reported water 

heater capacity; or 

(10) operate sewage pumps. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1110 ELECTRICAL 

(a)  The home inspector shall inspect: 

(1) electrical service entrance conductors; 

(2) electrical service equipment, grounding 

equipment, main overcurrent device, and 

interiors of panelboard enclosures unless unsafe 

conditions are reported; 

(3) amperage and voltage ratings of the electrical 

service; 

(4) branch circuit conductors, their overcurrent 

devices, and the compatibility of their 

ampacities at the interiors of panelboard 

enclosures unless unsafe conditions are 

reported; 

(5) the operation of a representative number of 

installed ceiling fans, lighting fixtures, 

switches, and receptacles located inside the 

house, garage, and on the dwelling's exterior 

walls; 

(6) all readily accessible 120V receptacles within 

six feet of interior plumbing fixtures, not 

separated from a fixture by an operable door, 

and all receptacles in the garage or carport, and 

on the exterior of inspected structures; and 

(7) the operation of ground fault circuit interrupters 

within six feet of the floor/ground. 

(b)  The home inspector shall describe: 

(1) electrical service amperage and voltage; 
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(2) electrical service entry conductor materials at 

the readily openable access panels at the main; 

(3) the electrical service type as being overhead or 

underground; and 

(4) the location of main and distribution panels. 

(c)  The home inspector shall report in writing the presence of any 

readily accessible single strand aluminum branch circuit wiring. 

(d)  The home inspector shall report in writing the presence or 

absence of readily accessible:  

(1) installed smoke alarms, and operate their test 

function, except when smoke alarms are part of 

a central alarm system; 

(2) installed carbon monoxide alarms in any homes 

with fireplaces, fuel fired appliances, or 

attached garages, and operate their test 

function, except when carbon monoxide alarms 

are part of a central alarm system; and 

(3) ground fault protection of receptacles within six 

feet of interior plumbing fixtures not separated 

from a fixture by an operable door, and all 

receptacles in the garage or carport, on the 

exterior of inspected structures. 

(e)  The home inspector is not required to: 

(1) insert any tool, probe, or testing device inside 

the panels; 

(2) test or operate any arc-fault circuit interrupters 

or other overcurrent devices;  

(3) dismantle any electrical device or control other 

than to remove the covers of panelboard 

enclosures; or 

(4) Inspect: 

(A) low voltage systems; 

(B) security systems and heat detectors; 

(C) telephone, security, cable TV, 

intercoms, or other ancillary wiring 

that is not a part of the primary 

electrical distribution system; 

(D) built-in vacuum equipment; 

(E) back up electrical generating 

equipment; 

(F) other alternative electrical generating 

or renewable energy systems such as 

solar, wind, or hydro power; 

(G) battery or electrical automotive 

charging systems;  

(H) electrical systems to swimming pools 

or spas, including bonding and 

grounding; or 

(I) elevators or related equipment used 

for the purpose of transporting 

occupants or materials between 

elevations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.58; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; February 1, 2007; April 1, 

2005; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1116 CODE OF ETHICS 

(a)  Licensees shall discharge their duties faithfully, accurately, 

and impartially to the public and to their clients.  

(b)  Opinions expressed by licensees shall be based only on their 

education, experience, and honest convictions. 

(c)  A licensee shall not disclose any information about the results 

of an inspection without the approval of the client for whom the 

inspection was performed, or the client's representative, unless the 

licensee finds that public health, safety, or welfare imperatively 

requires immediate or emergency action. 

(d)  No licensee shall accept compensation or any other 

consideration from more than one interested party for the same 

service without the written consent of all interested parties. 

(e)  No licensee or licensee's company shall compensate, either 

financially or through other services or benefits, realty agents or 

other parties with a financial interest in closing or settlement of 

real estate transactions for the following: 

(1) Referral of inspections; or 

(2) Inclusion on a list of recommended inspectors 

or preferred providers. 

This Rule also prohibits co-marketing or sharing of expenses 

between the licensee or licensee's company and realty agents or 

other parties with a financial interest in closing or settlement of 

real estate transactions that obligates the realty agents or other 

parties with a financial interest in closing or settlement of real 

estate transactions to include the licensee or the licensee's 

company on preferred lists of providers.  

(f)  No licensee shall express, within the context of an inspection, 

an appraisal or opinion of the market value of the inspected 

property. 

(g)  Before the execution of a contract to perform a home 

inspection, a licensee shall disclose to the client any interest he or 

she has in a business that may create a conflict of interest for the 

home inspector or the client. No licensee shall allow his or her 

interest in any business to affect the quality or results of the 

inspection work that the licensee may be called upon to perform. 

The client must approve in writing the licensee's dissemination of 

personal information including names, addresses, email addresses 

or phone numbers unrelated to the results of the home inspection 

to any third parties, other than the Board. 

(h)  A licensee shall not solicit for repairs of systems or 

components found defective in the course of a home inspection 

performed by the licensee or that licensee's company. 

(i)  Licensees shall not engage in false or misleading advertising 

or otherwise misrepresent any matters to the public. 

(j)  Licensees shall not inspect properties under contingent 

arrangements whereby any compensation or future referrals are 

dependent on reported findings or on the sale of a property. 

(k)  A licensee shall not impugn the professional reputation or 

practice of another home inspector, nor criticize another 

inspector's reports. 

(l)  Licensees must obtain written permission from the client or 

clients to sell, share, or provide data or personal information such 

as names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers about 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

39:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2024 

51 

the home inspection or the client or clients to third parties, other 

than the Board.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed security guard registration shall 

complete the basic unarmed security guard training course within 

30 days from the date of permanent hire. The course shall consist 

of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including: 

(1) The Security Officer in North Carolina -- 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) Legal Issues for Security Officers -- (minimum 

of three hours); 

(3) Emergency Response -- (minimum of three 

hours); 

(4) Communications -- (minimum of two hours); 

(5) Patrol Procedures -- (minimum of three hours); 

(6) Note Taking and Report Writing -- (minimum 

of three hours); and 

(7) Professional Conduct -- (minimum of one 

hour). 

A minimum of four hours of instruction shall be completed within 

20 calendar days of any security guard, including probationary, 

being placed on a duty station. These four hours shall include the 

instruction on The Security Officer in North Carolina and Legal 

Issues for Security Officers. 

(b)  Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed 

security guard trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the 

training requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be made 

available by the Board to each trainer. The Board may approve 

other forms of media and training materials that deliver the 

training requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  The 16 hours of training may be delivered in-person, in-person 

remotely, synchronously on-line, or in a hybrid format under the 

following conditions: 

(1) "In-Person" means an instructor physically 

present in-person in a classroom setting with 

students physically present in-person in a 

classroom setting. This is considered traditional 

in-person training. "In-Person remotely" means 

an instructor delivering a course to students in 

an in-person seated classroom while also 

transmitting to another or multiple other 

classrooms where students are in-person and 

observing via video and sound technology. 

Students must have the ability to have constant 

audio and visual communication with the 

instructor as the instructor is presenting. 

"Synchronously on-line" means instruction 

utilizing an on-line audio/video platform where 

the instructor is teaching the course live to 

students that are attending live and the 

instructor and students have constant visual and 

audio communication with each other 

available. "Hybrid format" means instruction 

utilizing both in-person classroom teaching as 

well as synchronously on-line. The instruction 

is delivered by an instructor that is in-person in 

a classroom with in-person seated students 

while the instruction is also being delivered 

simultaneously in an on-line live format where 

on-line students have had the ability to have 

constant audio and video communication with 

the in-person students and instructor. 

(2) Each student is provided a copy of the unarmed 

security guard training manual to use for the 

duration of the 16 hour training course. 

(3) The technology used allows the trainer to see 

the students and the students to see the trainer 

in real time during the training. 

(4) All students are able to see and read the screen 

or monitor, and they must be able to hear and 

understand the audio presentation. All monitors 

used in a classroom setting must be at least 32 

inches. 

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so 

that the training audio and video is delivered 

smoothly and without interruption. 

(6) The total number of students receiving the in-

person or in-person remotely training at one 

time does not exceed 35 students. There is no 

size limitation for synchronous on-line training. 

(7) Any additional training beyond the Board 

mandated training in the unarmed security 

guard training manual is taught either before or 

after the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13(m); 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; November 1, 2006; June 1, 2004; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0707 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024; July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES 

(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 

be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 

inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 

G.S. 113-270.1C: 
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(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 

Inland Fishing License - $42.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $14.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $14.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $63.00. 

(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $252.00. 

(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $441.00. 

(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$630.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$1,511.00. 

(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$19.00. 

(7) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $126.00. 

(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $126.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $30.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $315.00. 

(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$27.00. 

(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $47.00. 

(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $119.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $95.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $30.00. 

(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $17.00. 

(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $284.00. 

(3) Bear Management Stamp - $14.00. 

(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $119.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $95.00. 

(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $14.00. 

(6) Game Land License - $19.00. 

(7) Falconry License - $14.00. 

(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$17.00. 

(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$297.00. 

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$594.00. 

(11) Resident Elk License - $594.00. 

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,188.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 

$19.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 

License - $189.00. 

(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $38.00. 

(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $357.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $158.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 

inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 

forth in G.S. 113-271: 

(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $30.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 

Fishing License - $315.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 

$54.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $28.00. 

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $19.00. 

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $14.00. 

(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $14.00. 

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $126.00. 

(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters Three-Day 

Fishing License - $10.00. 

(i)  The following shall apply to special device licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $95.00. 

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $630.00. 

(j)  The non-refundable fees fee for a collection license issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $12.00. 

(k)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to captivity 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $60.00. 

(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $12.00. 

(l)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to dealer 

licenses issued by the Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $76.00. 

(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $378.00. 

(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $152.00. 

(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $119.00. 

(5) Controlled Hunting Preserve Rabbit Operator 

License - $30.00. 

(6) Game Bird Propagation License - $12.00. 

(7) Furbearer Propagation License - $33.00. 

(8) Taxidermy License - $60.00. 

(9) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $6.00. 

(10) Wildlife Control Agent License - $60.00. 

(11) Wildlife Control Technician Certification - 

$30.00. 

(12) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $30.00. 

(m)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to permits 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 
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(1) Possession Permit - $12.00. 

(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $12.00. 

(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $12.00. 

(4) Endangered Species Permit - $12.00. 

(5) Field Trial Permit - $12.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $82.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $49.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing Licenses: 

(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $347.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $567.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $851.00. 

(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $1,952.00. 

(E) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $38.00. 

(F) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$139.00. 

(G) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$139.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $567.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 

Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-

174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $19.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $38.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $8.00. 

(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $14.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $126.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $189.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $315.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $630.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $19.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $14.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $14.00. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2020; 

Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024; May 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0304 BLADEN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the following waters in 

Bladen County: 

(1) White Lake. The water between the shoreline 

and no-wake markers 500 feet from the 

shoreline is a restricted area. 

(2) Cape Fear River: 

(A) the waters shore to shore between a 

point 100 yards east and 100 yards 

west of the ferry cable at Elwell Ferry 

and Elwells Ferry Boating Access 

Area, 2702 Elwell Ferry Road, 

Council; 

(B) the waters within 50 yards of the Tar 

Heel Boating Access Area, 1000 

Wildlife Landing Drive, Tar Heel; and 

(C) the waters within 50 yards of the Tory 

Hole Boating Access Area, 335 N. 

Poplar Street, Elizabethtown. 

(3) Black River. The waters within 50 yards of the 

Hunts Bluff Boating Access Area, 351 Hunts 

Bluff Road, Kelly. 

(b)  Restricted Area. Skiing is prohibited in the restricted area 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  Diving. A person engaged in skin or scuba diving shall display 

a diver's flag, and no vessel shall approach within 50 feet of a 

diver's flag, as described in G.S. 75A-13.1. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (3), and Parts (a)(2)(A) through (C) of 

this Rule. 

(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The following 

agencies shall place and maintain the markers implementing this 

Rule: 

(1) North Carolina State Parks for the regulated 

area designated in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule; and 

(2) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the regulated areas designated 

in Parts (a)(2)(A) through (C), and 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; June 17, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024; October 1, 2018. 
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15A NCAC 10F .0310 DARE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Dare County: 

(1) Manteo: 

(A) the waters of Doughs Creek off 

Shallowbag Bay and the canals off 

Shallowbag Bay; and 

(B) within 50 yards of the Bowsertown 

Boating Access Area on Croatan 

Sound at 35.89810 N, 75.67710 W. 

(2) Hatteras: 

(A) the waters of Pamlico Sound 

otherwise known as Hatteras Harbor 

and Muddy Creek bounded on the 

north and south by the high-water 

mark, on the west by a straight line 

between channel markers number 20 

and 17 at the entrance to Hatteras 

Harbor, and on the east by the mouth 

of Muddy Creek at Sandy Bay at a 

point at 35.22801 N, 75.68050 W; and 

(B) Hatteras Ferry Terminal and United 

States Coast Guard basins ending at 

Coast Guard Beacon Number One in 

the Hatteras Channel. 

(3) Manns Harbor: 

(A) Old Ferry Dock Road Canal, 

beginning at a point at 35.90654 N, 

75.76916 W; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Manns Harbor 

Boating Access Area on Croatan 

Sound at 35.91020 N, 75.77150 W; 

and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Mashoes 

Boating Access Area on East Lake at 

35.92820 N, 75.81470 W. 

(4) Nags Head: 

(A) the canals of Old Nags Head Cove 

where the canal entrance meets 

Roanoke Sound beginning at a point at 

35.94192 N, 75.62571 W; and 

(B) the Roanoke Sound inlets at Pond 

Island on either side of W. Marina 

Drive extending north from U.S. 

Highway 64-264. 

(5) Wanchese: 

(A) Wanchese Harbor otherwise known as 

Mill Landing Creek, beginning at its 

entrance from Roanoke Sound at a 

point at 35.84006 N, 75.61726 W; and 

(B) the canal from its beginning where it 

connects with Roanoke Sound south 

of the dead-end road S.R. 1141 

otherwise known as Thicket Lump 

Drive, extending northwest roughly 

parallel to S.R. 1141, S.R. 1142 

otherwise known as The Lane, and 

S.R. 1143 otherwise known as Tink 

Tillet Road, then westward roughly 

parallel to N.C. Highway 345, and 

finally curving to the southwest 

roughly parallel to S.R. 1289 

otherwise known as C B Daniels S.R. 

Road to its end. 

(6) Stumpy Point:  

(A) Stumpy Point Canal shore to shore on 

Pamlico Sound, beginning 50 yards 

west of the Stumpy Point Boating 

Access Area, 321 Bayview Drive; and 

(B) Stumpy Point Basin off Stumpy Point 

Bay, east of U.S. Highway 264 where 

it intersects Stumpy Point Bay at a 

point at 35.69591 N, 75.77264 W. 

(7) Rodanthe. Within 50 yards of the Rodanthe 

Boating Access Area in Roanoke Sound, 23170 

Myrna Peters Road; 

(8) Town of Southern Shores. The canals and 

lagoons within the Town of Southern Shores 

north of U.S. Highway 158; 

(9) Colington Harbour. The waters in the canals of 

Colington Harbour Subdivision on Albemarle 

Sound; 

(10) Kitty Hawk. The waters in the canals of Kitty 

Hawk Landing Subdivision; 

(11) Washington Baum Bridge Boating Access 

Area. The waters within 150 yards north and 

south and 300 yards east of the Washington 

Baum Boating Access Area in Roanoke Sound, 

at 35.89380 N, 75.63710 W; 

(12) Kill Devil Hills: 

(A) Baum Bay Harbor, beginning at a 

point at 36.00572 N, 75.68105 W; and 

(B) the waters within 50 yards of the 

Avalon Beach Boating Access Area in 

Kitty Hawk Bay, 2025 Bay Drive. 

(13) Avon. The waters of Pamlico Sound shore to 

shore beginning at a line from a point on the 

east shore of Big Island at 35.36653 N, 

75.50770 W westward to a point on the 

mainland at 35.36653 N, 75.50556 W, south to 

include the waters of the cove between North 

Albacore Lane and South Albacore Lane and 

the waters of Mill Creek, and ending east of a 

line from a point on the south shore of Big 

Island at 35.36500 N, 75.50820 W southward to 

a point on the mainland at 35.36358 N, 

75.50826 W; 

(14) Jean Guite Creek. The waters of Jean Guite 

Creek from where it meets Kitty Hawk Bay at 

36.04887 N, 75.72754 W, north to a line from a 

point on the east shore in Southern Shores at 

36.10460 N, 75.74192 W to a point on the west 

shore in Martin's Point Subdivision at 36.10452 

N, 75.73948 W; 

(15) Frisco. The waters of the marina canal and boat 

basin at Palmetto Shores Subdivision, shore to 

shore beginning at the canal's entrance at 
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Pamlico Sound at a point at 35.25427 N, 

75.60301 W; and 

(16) Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The waters of 

Motts Creek in Roanoke Sound, shore to shore 

at a line from a point on the north shore where 

the Oregon Inlet U.S. Coast Guard Station is 

located, to a point near the south shore of Motts 

Creek at 35.79270 N, 75.54903 W, then 

northward to include the waters at the Oregon 

Inlet Fishing Center and Marina, Oregon Inlet 

Public Boat Ramp, kayak launch area, and U. S. 

Coast Guard Station and Launch Area. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the marked swimming 

area at Colington Island on the west shore, from a point where the 

canal enters the harbor at 36.01797 N, 75.72681 W, north 600 feet 

to a point at 36.01964 N, 75.72683 W and extending 300 feet west 

into Albemarle Sound. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall place 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Manteo for the areas designated in Part 

(a)(1)(A) of this Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Dare County 

for the areas designated in Paragraph (c), 

Subparagraphs (a)(2); (a)(4); (a)(5); (a)(9); 

(a)(13) through (15); and Parts (a)(3)(A); 

(a)(6)(B); and (a)(12)(A) of this Rule; 

(3) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Southern Shores for the areas designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule; 

(4) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Kitty Hawk for the area designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(10) of this Rule; 

(5) the National Park Service shall place and 

maintain markers for the area designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(16) of this Rule; and 

(6) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission shall place and maintain markers 

for the areas designated in Subparagraphs (a)(7) 

and (a)(11); and Parts (a)(1)(B); (a)(3)(B) and 

(C); (a)(6)(A); and (a)(12)(B) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; December 1, 1994; May 1, 1994; 

March 1, 1993; May 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024; September 1, 2023; October 1, 2022; 

October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0314 NEW HANOVER COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the following waters in 

New Hanover County: 

(1) the area bounded on the north by the U.S. 

Highway 74-76 bridge crossing the Intracoastal 

Waterway, on the south by a line shore to shore 

intersecting Intracoastal Waterway channel 

marker number 127, on the west by the shore of 

Wrightsville Sound, and on the east by a line 

perpendicular to U.S. Highway 74-76 and 

intersecting channel marker number 25 in Motts 

Channel; 

(2) the area of Motts Channel between channel 

marker number 25 at the Intracoastal Waterway 

on the west and channel marker number 16 at 

the entrance from Banks Channel on the east; 

(3) Wilmington. The waters shore to shore in that 

portion of Bradley Creek in the City of 

Wilmington between the U.S. Highway 76 

bridge crossing Bradley Creek and a point at 

34.20794 N, 77.82158 W, near the mouth of 

Bradley Creek; 

(4) Lee's Cut from its western intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at 34.21979 N, 

77.80965 W, to its eastern intersection with 

Banks Channel at 34.21906 N, 77.79645 W; 

(5) Town of Wrightsville Beach. The unnamed 

channel lying between the shore west of 

Bahama Drive in the Town of Wrightsville 

Beach and an unnamed island located 

approximately 500 feet northeast of the U.S. 

Highway 74 bridge over Banks Channel; and 

(6) Castle Hayne. The waters of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River between the U.S. Highway 117 

bridge and the railroad trestle 60 yards east of 

the Castle Hayne Boating Access Area, 6418 

Orange Street, Castle Hayne. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of New 

Hanover County shall place the no-wake markers implementing 

Subparagraphs (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4), and (a)(5) of this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Wildlife 

Resources Commission shall place and maintain markers for the 

area designated in Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule, subject to the 

approval of the United States Coast Guard and the United States 

Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; May 1, 1989; June 1, 1987; May 1, 

1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; February 1, 2023; October 1, 2018; 

April 1, 2017; 
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Amended Eff. Pending legislative review. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 20 – BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR 

FORESTERS 

 

21 NCAC 20 .0106 REGISTRATION FEES 

Fees sent to the Board for any segment of the registration process 

shall be payable to the Secretary, Board of Registration for 

Foresters. The application fee for registration is fifty dollars 

($50.00), which shall be submitted by the applicant at the time of 

application. An approved applicant shall submit an additional fee 

of forty dollars ($40.00) to receive a certificate of registration. 

Annual renewal fee is fifty dollars ($50.00). The Board shall 

waive renewal fees for Registered Foresters for hardship 

circumstances, such as military deployment, extended illness, or 

other similar circumstances, upon written petition by the 

Registered Forester or Registered Forester's agent for this 

exemption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89B-6; 89B-10; 89B-11; 93B-

15(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1990; May 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 16, 2014; 

Amended Eff. Pending Consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

21 NCAC 42E .0103 PRESCRIPTIONS; DISPENSING 

(a)  All prescription forms shall conform to 21 NCAC 46 .2301 

and shall include the name, address, state licensure number, and 

the Drug Enforcement Administration number of the prescriber, 

if applicable. The provisions of 16 C.F.R. 315.2 and 16 C.F.R. 

456.1(g) are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. The provisions of the Code 

of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) cited in this rule may be accessed 

at no charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-16. The 

optometrist shall be responsible for implementing appropriate 

safeguards, including but not limited to the optometrist keeping a 

physical prescription pad in his or her personal possession or 

under lock and key at all times and password-protecting his or her 

electronic prescription form, within his or her practice to prevent 

the unauthorized use of his or her prescription forms, and shall 

immediately notify the Board upon determining that prescription 

blanks might be missing or misused.  

(b)  Any optometrist licensed by the Board who wishes to 

dispense drugs pursuant to G.S. 90-127.4 must first register with 

the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy pursuant to G.S. 90-

85.26B.  

(c)  Any optometrist licensed by the Board shall provide their 

patients a copy of his or her eyeglass prescription, once such 

prescription is determined and finalized, consistent with Federal 

Trade Commission regulations. The provisions of 16 C.F.R. 

456.2(a) are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. An expiration date of not 

less than one year from the date of the prescribing examination 

shall appear on every such prescription. The prescription may 

show a statement of caution or a disclaimer if such a statement or 

disclaimer is supported by documented patient records. 

(d)  Any optometrist licensed by the Board shall provide their 

patients a copy of his or her contact lens prescription, once 

determined and finalized, consistent with Federal Trade 

Commission regulations. The provisions of 16 C.F.R. 315.4 are 

hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and edition. A prescription for contact lenses shall 

explicitly state that it is for contact lenses and specify the lens type 

and all specifications necessary for the ordering and fabrication of 

the lenses. Words or phrases such as "OK for contact lenses", "fit 

with contact lenses", "contact lenses may be worn", or similar 

wording do not constitute a contact lens prescription. The 

prescriber cannot write the contact lens prescription until all the 

requirements of a satisfactory fit of contact lenses have been 

determined by the prescriber. All contact lenses used in the 

determination of a contact lens prescription are considered to be 

diagnostic lenses. An expiration date of not less than one year 

from the date of the prescribing examination shall appear on every 

such prescription unless there is a medical justification for a 

shorter duration. If the prescriber has such a medical justification, 

the prescriber must document the medical reason for the shorter 

expiration date in the patient's medical record consistent with 

Federal Trade Commission regulations. The provisions of 16 

C.F.R. 315.6(a)(3) and (b)(1) are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. If a 

patient is not adhering to appropriate regimens of care and follow-

up with regard to the continuing use of contact lenses, the 

prescribing optometrist may terminate optometric care for that 

patient and notify the patient that he or she is terminating such 

relationship and the reasons for doing so. 

(e)  An optometrist shall provide a copy of a requesting patient's 

eyeglass prescription or contact lens prescription so long as the 

requested prescription has not expired. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-114; 90-117.5; 90-127.2; 

90-127.3; 90-127.4; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 29, 2024 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 31, 2024 September 25, 2024 
 August 28, 2024 October 30, 2024 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
May 29, 2024 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Wednesday, May 29, 2024, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Brandon Leebrick, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Barbara Jackson and Jay Hemphill were present via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Brian Liebman, Bill Peaslee, and Travis Wiggs were present 
in the room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.  
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to avoid 
conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of the 
agenda: Follow-up matters for the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission and permanent rules from the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the April 30, 2024 meeting. There were 
none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul 
Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the May 13, 2024 special meeting. There 
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
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Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul 
Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Home Inspector Licensure Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, 11 NCAC 08 .1101, .1103, .1105, .1107, .1109, .1110, and .1116 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 
9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 12 NCAC 09F .0103, .0104, and .0105 were returned to the agency in accordance with the 
requirements of G.S. 150B-21.12(d) by roll-call vote, ayes 10, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, 
Jeanette Doran, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 10. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Kristin Mallett with the Department of Justice and representing the agency addressed the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education  
Upon the call of the Chair, 16 NCAC 06C .0602 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
21 NCAC 42D .0102 - At the January 2024 meeting, the Commission found that the revised rule satisfied the RRC’s objection at 
the November 2023 meeting; however, it also determined that the revised rule was a substantial change and will need to be 
published and reviewed pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(g). This Rule will remain on the agenda until it is published. No action was 
required by the Commission.  
 
Building Code Council  

North Carolina Energy Conservation Code, Section R402, Appendix R1.2.1 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the April 

meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 

 

Building Code Council 
2024 NC Building Code and separately filed amendments to Sections 101.2, 202, 307, 414, 1109.2, 1901, and Chapter 35 of the 
2024 NC Building Code - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the April meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council 
2024 NC Existing Building Code and separately filed amendments to Sections 101.2 and 803.2.1.2 of the 2024 NC Existing 
Building Code - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the April meeting. No action was required by 
the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council 
2024 NC Fire Code and separately filed amendments to Sections 102.13, 105.5.32, 202, 203, 319.11.1, 319.11.13, 608, 911, 
907.2.3.1, 1010.2.14, 1010.2.14.4, 1010.2.1, 3307, 5003, 5706.5.4.5, Chapter 80, and NFPA 241 of the 2024 NC Fire Code - The 
Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the April meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Private Protective Services Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 16 .0707 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10A .1601; 10F .0304, .0310, and .0314 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), the Commission received over ten letters of objection requesting legislative review and a 
delayed effective date for 15A NCAC 10F .0314. 
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Jonathan Crews, General Manager of the Bradley Creek Yacht Club, addressed the Commission. 
 
Matt Groff, the treasurer for the Creekside Yacht Club, addressed the Commission. 
 
Howard Stanley, the General Manager for the Creekside Yacht Club, addressed the Commission. 
 
Board of Registration for Foresters 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 20 .0106 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Medical Board 
21 NCAC 32S .0216; 32M .0107; and 32R .0101 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Board of Nursing 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 21 NCAC 36 .0807 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 42E .0103 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Existing Rule Review 
15A NCAC 05C - Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than September 
1, 2025 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles 
III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Commissioner Jackson did not vote. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to adopt changes to 26 NCAC 05 .0116 and submit the rule for publication in the 

NC Register approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 

Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 

 
Commissioner Hemphill left the meeting. 
 
The Chair announced that there are no updates regarding the CRC v. RRC litigation; therefore, the Chair did not call the meeting 
into a closed session.  
 
The meeting was adjourned at 11:18 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Wednesday, June 26, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting May 29, 2024 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Sophie Plott Labor 

Jessica Winebrenner nc.gov 

Ryan Collins DPI 

James Chapman DEQ 

Dwain Veach DEQ 

Tonia Brown  OAH 

Pamela Schooler DOI 

Dennis Seavers Barbers 

Ingrid Davis nc.gov 

Karen Holder DOI 

Dana McGhee OAH 

Arthur Harrell OAH 

Ashley Snyder OAH 

Denise Mazza SHRC 

David Dye fcinsp.com 

Tamara Zmuda WRC 

Hejduk, Mike DOI 

Amber Thiel COMMERCE 

Anne Coan NCFB 

Andy Ellen NCRMA 

Sarah Zambon szambon@ncdoj.gov 

Connie connie@greenvillenc.com 

Gabby Decker  bcbsnc.com 

Casey Harris-Pratt OSBM 

Kenneth Belk Taylor DEQ 

Taylor Corpening DHHS 

Jeffrey Smythe DOJ 

Catherine Blum DEQ 

Connie M. Corey greenvillenc.com 

Chad Thompson  

W Shenton poynerspruill.com 

James Pearce nc.gov 

Mike Morton cityofwsfire.org 

Johnny Loper Optometry 

Thien Dao nc.gov 

William Rafferty Optometry 

Janice Peterson Optometry 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

May 29, 2024 Meeting 

 
HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD 

Definitions 11 NCAC 08 .1101 

Purpose and Scope 11 NCAC 08 .1103 

General Exclusions 11 NCAC 08 .1105 

Exterior 11 NCAC 08 .1107 

Plumbing 11 NCAC 08 .1109 

Electrical 11 NCAC 08 .1110 

Code of Ethics 11 NCAC 08 .1116 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

License Fees 15A NCAC 10A .1601 

Bladen County 15A NCAC 10F .0304 

Dare County 15A NCAC 10F .0310 

New Hanover County 15A NCAC 10F .0314 

 
FORESTERS, BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR 

Registration Fees 21 NCAC 20 .0106 

 
OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

Prescriptions; Dispensing 21 NCAC 42E .0103 

 

 
LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

May 29, 2024 Meeting 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Standards of Professional Conduct 16 NCAC 06C .0602 

     

 
 


